We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Pilgrim's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilgrim's Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Deer Isle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ELGIN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B”
Reviewed June 24, 2007

This is a delightful B&B. This beautifully well cared-for inn is in a lovely setting and has an excellent restaurant. Common rooms are warm and comfortable. One of the best B&Bs we've enjoyed. Afton and Rich Dancey

  • Liked — Beautiful restored inn in a gorgeous setting.
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ElginJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
96
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2007

We were married at the Inn a while ago under different owners, and returned recently with our young child. We stayed in Rosa Ragosa Cottage, which was nice because it was off the road so little road noise, but right next to the entrance for the pub/restaurant so we had to put up with loud conversations from other patrons and drinkers in the evenings (as well as afternoons). The Cottage building is shared by a storage shed which the staff/owners were accessing at all hours also, so we kept hearing bumps and bangs through the day and night, which was disconcerting. I was really disappointed with the decor of the cottage - sort of woodsy/camp style, and for 190 dollars a night, I was expecting something far less rustic. Also we didn't have a choice of another room, since it seems to be Inn policy to put anyone with small children into Rosa Ragosa Cottage (my sister-in-law and young family were relegated there during our wedding also). The current owners seem friendly, and I can't fault Tony's good intentions, but we never got our promised bottle of champagne for being returning guests who married there, and there was no instruction/introduction on how to work the stove (which was left burning on the 75 degree day we arrived) or lights and appliances. The worst thing of all is that the gift certificate to pay for the stay issued by the previous owners (which we were given as a wedding present by family who could ill afford to waste 400 or 500 dollars) has been disputed, and now the Inn's current owner Tina is questioning whether she will honor it, when she promised there would be no problem with it last year and this year when I called her to book our stay. I can not respect any businessperson who doesn't keep their word and am frankly outraged by this sort of behavior, which I plan to report to the Better Business Bureau, Yankee Magazine, and all the local and statewide papers if it doesn't go through. And worse, since we have family all over the area, we never would have stayed there if we hadn't had the gift certificate to use up. All I can say is, if you have lots of money, no kids, don't mind breakfasts which are far too rich, and don't mind missed details, then this is the place for you. Me, I'm sticking with my family and friends' spare bedrooms when I go Downeast.

  • Liked — the water view
  • Disliked — the too rich food which made me sick, and the disputed gift certificate scenario
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flygirlflutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper4, Owner at Pilgrim's Inn, responded to this review, November 30, 2007
While the gift certificate mentioned by this guest was initially questioned by us because it had expired and was issued by a former owner of the business, it was honored after talking with the guest on the phone. The guest had mailed her expired certificate to us after her stay at the inn, and due to a miscommunication we did not realize that her certificate’s expiration date had been extended by us several months earlier, when the guest called to say that she would be unable to visit the inn before the expiration date. After discussing the issue with the guest on the phone, a credit was issued and a receipt and note sent in the mail with our apologies for the misunderstanding.

Regarding noise near the Rugosa Rose cottage, we no longer offer outdoor seating to restaurant guests and have reduced our restaurant hours in order to minimize the impact on our inn guests; we are also re-arranging our storage areas near this cottage to minimize the number of times staff enter the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamamatsu, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

My husband and I stayed at Pilgrim's Inn on our honeymoon. The staff was welcoming, knowledgeable, and most accommodating. Every charming detail of the Inn was designed for the guests' comfort. We also ate at the restaurant in the Inn and the food was excellent and reasonably priced. Even though our schedule only allowed us one night at Pilgrim's Inn, my husband and I wished that we could have stayed much longer!

  • Liked — The cleanliness, friendly and knowledgeable staff, location, coziness
  • Disliked — small bathtub
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank JKSakaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte,NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

My wife and I had a great time at a recent stay at the Pilgrims Inn. We stayed in the Rugosa Rose cottage and loved the fact that we had our own little comfortable base-camp. The cottage is extremely comfortable. The Inn itself has a distinctive charm and comfort. We found it very relaxing.
The owners and staff were underfoot constantly trying to ensure our every wish was met. They were all very knowledgable, professional, courteous, and genuinely friendly. We felt we were staying with dear old friends within 20 minutes of walking through the door.
The food was terrific. Tony Lawless and his staff put together some incredible meals! If you want FRESH seafood, you've got it. The simple touches in the meals, the service, and the restaurant decor were all subtle, yet distinctive.
The only regret we had was that we didn't take more time off. We could have spent weeks hiking, kayaking, sight-seeing, and still not touched all there is to do.
I highly recomend the Pilgrims Inn. We will be back, for many years!

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Hpydog704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 26, 2007

Pilgrim's Inn at Deer Isle, Maine was our destination for a quiet, relaxing stay that provided oportunity for outdoor exercise in beautiful surroundings or lazy, do-nothing days watching the tide go in and out. Nearby, at Stonington, we experienced an excellent sampling of life in a small fishing village. We made several day trips and particularly enjoyed Blue Hill and Bar Harbor. We ate too well, finding well-prepared, local catch everywhere we went. The only problem, in fact, was that our eyes and stomachs couldn't take in more! We live in Southern Indiana and chose Pilgrim's Inn as the destination for our first trip to New England, to celebrate our fortieth wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. In fact, we were enchanted with the whole area. We highly recommend it.

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeForTravelIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

The Inn was clean and comfortable. The rooms were all unique and well appointed - Fantastic beds ! The owners were very friendly and gave us a tour of the property. We had a fantastic dinner and breakfast - the best Inn we could find anywhere at this location ! Free coffee all day in the common areas. The Inn has an intersting history - was built in 1793 when Deere Isle was only accesible by boat. We would definitely stay here again ! Dave and Suzanne.

  • Liked — History of the Inn, Food, Rooms..
  • Disliked — Everything was great !
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank dalbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, WA
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2007

I've been going to the Inn for years. In the past it was just a convienent place to stay for a night or two. The previous owners/operators were not very friendly or helpful. Finally, the Inn has been purchased by a couple who get life on an island. Tina and Tony are VERY personable and helpful, as is the new staff. The breakfasts were divine, dinners were also wonderful. They have a nice
wine list and after dinner drinks. I was pleasantly surprised to find the Inn in such wonderful and capable hands. Tina and Tony have made lots of contacts on the island to assure you have a great time -kayaking, boating, hiking or just sitting in a chair overlooking the mill pond enjoying a warm afternoon cooking made daily in the Inn's kitchen. Remember, you are on a small remote island in Maine - nothing moves fast in this world. And yes, the Inn is right on the main drag of the island so there is always street noise - the Inn is over 200 years old so insulation is non-existant. The rooms are spacious and true to their New England builders. If you are looking for a wonderful experience I suggest hitting this place off season when the island is quiet and all the "summer folk" have gone home. I can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — The new owners were wonderful!
  • Disliked — Street noise
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bicostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Isle
16.8 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
310 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
220 reviews
20.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
609 reviews
21.3 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
20.5 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrim's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim's Inn

Property: Pilgrim's Inn
Address: 20 Main St, Deer Isle, ME 04627-3888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking picturesque Northwest Harbor and our tranquil mill pond, Pilgrim's Inn on Deer Isle is the perfect place to experience Downeast Maine at its best. Built in 1793, our historic post and beam Maine inn welcomes you with an ambiance and warmth of a bygone era. Lovingly restored and meticulously maintained, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of the Select Registry of Inns and the Bed and Breakfast Diamond Collection. Twelve rooms and three cottages offer you a range of lodging options to best meet your needs from mid - May through mid - October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilgrim's Inn Deer Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing