We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Found”
Review of Pilgrim's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilgrim's Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Deer Isle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2007

My wife and I had a great time at a recent stay at the Pilgrims Inn. We stayed in the Rugosa Rose cottage and loved the fact that we had our own little comfortable base-camp. The cottage is extremely comfortable. The Inn itself has a distinctive charm and comfort. We found it very relaxing.
The owners and staff were underfoot constantly trying to ensure our every wish was met. They were all very knowledgable, professional, courteous, and genuinely friendly. We felt we were staying with dear old friends within 20 minutes of walking through the door.
The food was terrific. Tony Lawless and his staff put together some incredible meals! If you want FRESH seafood, you've got it. The simple touches in the meals, the service, and the restaurant decor were all subtle, yet distinctive.
The only regret we had was that we didn't take more time off. We could have spent weeks hiking, kayaking, sight-seeing, and still not touched all there is to do.
I highly recomend the Pilgrims Inn. We will be back, for many years!

Stayed: June 2007
3  Thank Hpydog704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2007

Pilgrim's Inn at Deer Isle, Maine was our destination for a quiet, relaxing stay that provided oportunity for outdoor exercise in beautiful surroundings or lazy, do-nothing days watching the tide go in and out. Nearby, at Stonington, we experienced an excellent sampling of life in a small fishing village. We made several day trips and particularly enjoyed Blue Hill and Bar Harbor. We ate too well, finding well-prepared, local catch everywhere we went. The only problem, in fact, was that our eyes and stomachs couldn't take in more! We live in Southern Indiana and chose Pilgrim's Inn as the destination for our first trip to New England, to celebrate our fortieth wedding anniversary. We were not disappointed. In fact, we were enchanted with the whole area. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TimeForTravelIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2007

The Inn was clean and comfortable. The rooms were all unique and well appointed - Fantastic beds ! The owners were very friendly and gave us a tour of the property. We had a fantastic dinner and breakfast - the best Inn we could find anywhere at this location ! Free coffee all day in the common areas. The Inn has an intersting history - was built in 1793 when Deere Isle was only accesible by boat. We would definitely stay here again ! Dave and Suzanne.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank dalbright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2007

I've been going to the Inn for years. In the past it was just a convienent place to stay for a night or two. The previous owners/operators were not very friendly or helpful. Finally, the Inn has been purchased by a couple who get life on an island. Tina and Tony are VERY personable and helpful, as is the new staff. The breakfasts were divine, dinners were also wonderful. They have a nice
wine list and after dinner drinks. I was pleasantly surprised to find the Inn in such wonderful and capable hands. Tina and Tony have made lots of contacts on the island to assure you have a great time -kayaking, boating, hiking or just sitting in a chair overlooking the mill pond enjoying a warm afternoon cooking made daily in the Inn's kitchen. Remember, you are on a small remote island in Maine - nothing moves fast in this world. And yes, the Inn is right on the main drag of the island so there is always street noise - the Inn is over 200 years old so insulation is non-existant. The rooms are spacious and true to their New England builders. If you are looking for a wonderful experience I suggest hitting this place off season when the island is quiet and all the "summer folk" have gone home. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bicostal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2005

We came to Deer Isle so that we could visit Isle au Haut and other areas of Acadia National Park. Pilgrim's Inn was a good central location for us, and the room was nice, but we felt out of place there, and I probably would not stay there again.

We are an outdoorsy, mixed-race young couple. Most of the other guests were late-middle-aged to elderly country-club types. The tone was set upon our arrival when we spotted a male guest with helmet hair wearing MADRAS PANTS and a sweater vests, the kind of guy whose name you just know is Chip. Having just seen the movie "Wedding Crashers" the previous weekend, I kept thinking of Vince Vaughan playing tag football in the borrowed madras pants, and it was all I could do to keep a straight face. Anyway, throughout our stay, we got unfriendly stares from the other guests, and they were very standoffish towards us, quite different from the attitude of people one usually meets at bed and breakfast inns. We wondered if they were unsettled at encountering a non-white person.

Another point is that this is not a typical bed and breakfast in that the owners do not live on site, in fact, it did not appear that any staff live there. We never even met the owners. Thus, it lacked that normal bed and breakfast feeling of being a guest in the home of a friendly host. There is a staff person on site to assist guests with local tourism activities, but she is also the person who answers the reservations phone, and so talking to her involved a long wait while she was on the phone, or interruptions while she answered the phone. The inn really needs two staff persons, one to man the phones, and the other to attend to guests.

The breakfast (in the Whale Rib restaurant below the Inn) offers a choice of two entrees each morning. The food was mediocre and took way too long to arrive. People who were seated and had ordered considerably later than us got the same things we had ordered before we got our orders. People who were seated and had ordered before us did not get served until after us. It all seemed very haphazard and we could tell that it was annoying to other guests, as well.

As far as the road noise, yes, the inn is right on the edge of a busy road, but if you bring ear plugs or run the fan, you won't notice it. Or, if you ask about it upon reserving your room, maybe you can get one that does not front on the road. What really irked me about traffic was the parking situation. Since the Inn also runs its own restaurant, and since there is virtually no where else to eat on Deer Isle, seemingly hundreds of people converged on the Inn at night. There is a parking lot that is supposed to be for Inn guests only, but of course it was mysteriously full each time we needed to park, as were the roadsides and the parking lot across the street. We ended up several times having to park a considerable way down the highway and then make our way in the dark along the gravel shoulder of the road with traffic whipping past us.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RaleighLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
114
Reviewed August 29, 2004

We just came back from a disappointing visit. The inn is on a very busy road, so busy, in fact, that our room came with a sound machine that unfortunately did not drown out the sound of cars whizzing by day and night. The staff was remarkably unfriendly. When we checked in we were told they'd be glad to help us book trips (kayaking, hiking, what have you) but when we asked for their help and recommendations the next day we were handed a bunch of brochures and told to do it ourselves. The menu has changed from the description in the guidebooks. It's no longer a changing fixed price meal, but an extremely expensive a la carte selection that was not merited by the quality of the food. If you're going to Deer Isle (which is well worth the trip), stay somewhere else where the ambiance and the staff is in keeping with the serenity and friendly attitude of Deer Isle and its inhabitants.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2004

We had a great time here for 2 nights on our honeymoon. The inn is very quiet and peaceful in an area that will definitely give you, as one staff member said it, "a picture of what Maine used to be like." The staff was all very, very friendly and nice. We LOVED the breakfasts each morning which offered choices like frittata or buttermilk bluecorn blueberry pancakes. We stayed in the Rugosa Rose cottage which is not in the main inn. It lacked some of the charm of the main house, but it had a kitchenette, t.v./vcr, and a private porch. If you want to stay in the inn, go for room #9! On the top floor with exposed beams, spacious, and lovely decor. Bar Harbor is an hour and 15 minute drive away which is a better place to stay at if you want shopping, excitement, and lots to do. For a peaceful, natural retreat, Pilgrim's Inn is a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sarah2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pilgrim's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim's Inn

Address: 20 Main St, Deer Isle, ME 04627-3888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Isle
Price Range: $110 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking picturesque Northwest Harbor and our tranquil mill pond, Pilgrim's Inn on Deer Isle is the perfect place to experience Downeast Maine at its best. Built in 1793, our historic post and beam Maine inn welcomes you with an ambiance and warmth of a bygone era. Lovingly restored and meticulously maintained, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of the Select Registry of Inns and the Bed and Breakfast Diamond Collection. Twelve rooms and three cottages offer you a range of lodging options to best meet your needs from mid - May through mid - October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilgrim's Inn Deer Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing