We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The bets Inn along the Coast of Maine”
Review of Pilgrim's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilgrim's Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Deer Isle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Roma
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The bets Inn along the Coast of Maine”
Reviewed August 25, 2009

My girlfriend and I have been guests of the Pilgrim's Inn the night of the 14th of August during our holiday along the coast of Maine. We started driving from Boston and went up along the coast till Bar Harbour and stayed in loats of different Inns. The Pilgrim's Inn is without any doubt the best of them all: the rooms are nicely furbished and have maintanied the original wooden floor avoiding the cheap carpeting which is often used in this part of the country (carpet in toilets=disease). The postion is great with a nice view and a wonderfull garden facing the pond. The Inn offers free internet access and there is a laptop in the main living room which can be freely used by guests and allows free calls in the US. Being Italians we are pretty fussy about our food but still we were not disappointed by the restaurant (and I don't mean only the breakfast!), also the bar has a selection of good wines but most of all has a good choice of local beers (Ales here are better than in the UK). Freshly baked cookies, fresh fruit, tea and coffee are also available 24/7 in the living room. The rates are ok or even slightly cheaper perhaps because Deer Isle is not as popular than the nearby Bar Harbour.
Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randagioItaliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
96
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, MA
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We had our wedding weekend at at the inn.
The entire experience was fantastic, Tony & Tina and staff were over the top. I wish I could do it all over again, because it flew by. The food was outstanding! All of my guests felt it was the best wedding they had ever gone to.They couldn't say enough about the inn, staff , food and service.
The historic setting and attention to detail gave the inn so much character and charm. Our entire wedding party and family stayed at the inn. It made it fantastic to just be able to be with everyone before, during and after all the events.
I can not praise the entire experience enough.....I can't wait to go back there for my anniversary.
The most romantic spot for a wedding, anniversary, family reunion....
So beautiful with the staff and service to match!!!!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mainegirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristow, VA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2009

My wife and I have been to Deer Isle a few times over the past few years and have always wanted to stay at the Pilgim Inn. We were very glad that we did this past September. We stayed for three days and it was a wonderful start to our Maine vacation.

We stayed in the Rugosa Rose cottage and loved the privacy and view that it offered us. The deck overlooked the large pond and we saw quite a bit of wildlife sitting on it after exploring Deer Isle and the surrounding communities. I was finally able to get my wife out on one of the kayaks offered by the Inn and we both enjoyed our time on the pond.

The staff was extremely helpful in answering all our questions as well as recommending places to eat. I would highly recommend this Inn for anyone looking for a great place to unwind from the hectic pace that many of us live.

  • Liked — Beautiful setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stanpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2008

We stayed for four nights in August of this year. The rooms are very clean and attractive, with great extras like nice soaps, lotions, and shampo. The bed linens are lovely and create a cozy inviting bed. There are no tvs in the rooms, which I loved. You can watch tv in two of the three sitting ears downstairs. Coffee is available at various locaitons by 7:00 a.m., giving you plenty of time to enjoy a cup while sitting on an addirondak chair by the pond as you wait for 8:00 a.m. breakfast. The breakfast is varied from day to day, (we had blueberry pancakes, french toast, omlettes w/ fresh asparagus and egg burritos during our stay) and a cold buffet is also an option. The coffee is quite good but not delicious (this is the only area that I'd wish for a slight improvement).

The Inn has a restaurant that is open to the public, and is one of the better dining options in the area. Make a reservation, as it fills up quickly (there are not many dinner options in the region).

The inn is centrally located on Deere Isle and a good mid-way point between Brooklin and Stonington. Everyone who works there is friendly and makes you feel welcome. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_200806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2008

We stayed at Pilgrim's Inn for 2 nights recently on a tour of the Maine Coast. This inn, built in 1793, is classic New England charm, and is blissfully free of gingham and doilies.

We enjoyed the warm welcome and appreciated the tour of the inn so that we would know all the amenities. The staff was also very helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat.

We stayed in Room 7. It is spacious with a fairly large bathroom attached. A drawback is that it is on the front of the inn, and the road that runs out front can be a little noisy. The room also had a window air conditioner which cooled nicely, but was extremely noisy. (When we were there it was too hot to sleep with the windows open, which we would have preferred. No fan was provided and I think if we had been staying longer we would have requested one to get a breeze in the room and avoid using the A/C.)

Breakfasts were nice, with fresh muffins, fruit, hard-boiled eggs, and bread for toast. One hot dish was also provided each day, and we found those to be very well prepared and beautifully presented. We didn't eat dinner at the Inn but really enjoyed the Maritime Cafe in Stonington and the Cockatoo just a 7-10 minute drive from the hotel.

There is a nice lawn behind the inn, looking out onto a pond. We enjoyed an afternoon sitting in Adirondack chairs just enjoying the peace and quiet.

This being our first trip to Deer Isle, we were a little surprised at how remote it seemed. There is very little to do--a very limited number of restaurants and the only shops to speak of are tourist oriented. A trip to Deer Isle needs to be completely oriented toward relaxing! There is a good kayaking outfit nearby, and there are a few short hikes to take advantage of, but that is about it. If you enjoy going somewhere to really just get away and spend a good amount of time at your inn, then Pilgrim's Inn would be a great place for you. Comfortable, reasonably private for accommodations of this type, friendly, peaceful.

  • Liked — Excellent staff and comfortable room
  • Disliked — Remote location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pilgrim's Inn mainly because of the beautiful room we stayed in. I highly recommend Ginny's Cottage 1. It has a lovely deck with a table to sit at. The cute little kitchen was a nice thing to have as well. The homemade granola at breakfast was delightful.

  • Liked — The cottage was beautifully decorated.
  • Disliked — No food available after 6:00. Restaurant was closed when we arrived.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank futuremainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We loved our stay at the Pilgrim's Inn and can't wait to visit again. The rooms were charming, the food incredible, and all the staff were very friendly. A perfect setting for a relaxing get away. The rooms are cozy, and clean with a comfy bed! Room 5 has a great view. Make sure to visit the Whale's Rib Tavern - recommend making reservations - as this Restaurant is clearly a favourite of the locals! We loved the food so much the first night - we made sure to go back the second night. Very limited cell phone coverage in Deer Isle, - however the Inn does provide Wireless Internet.

  • Liked — Charming and differenty from the standard hotel room!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbutler718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Isle
16.8 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
309 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
214 reviews
20.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
141 reviews
21.3 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
16.8 mi away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrim's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim's Inn

Property: Pilgrim's Inn
Address: 20 Main St, Deer Isle, ME 04627-3888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking picturesque Northwest Harbor and our tranquil mill pond, Pilgrim's Inn on Deer Isle is the perfect place to experience Downeast Maine at its best. Built in 1793, our historic post and beam Maine inn welcomes you with an ambiance and warmth of a bygone era. Lovingly restored and meticulously maintained, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of the Select Registry of Inns and the Bed and Breakfast Diamond Collection. Twelve rooms and three cottages offer you a range of lodging options to best meet your needs from mid - May through mid - October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilgrim's Inn Deer Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing