We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WASPs in Paradise”
Review of Pilgrim's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilgrim's Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Deer Isle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2005

We came to Deer Isle so that we could visit Isle au Haut and other areas of Acadia National Park. Pilgrim's Inn was a good central location for us, and the room was nice, but we felt out of place there, and I probably would not stay there again.

We are an outdoorsy, mixed-race young couple. Most of the other guests were late-middle-aged to elderly country-club types. The tone was set upon our arrival when we spotted a male guest with helmet hair wearing MADRAS PANTS and a sweater vests, the kind of guy whose name you just know is Chip. Having just seen the movie "Wedding Crashers" the previous weekend, I kept thinking of Vince Vaughan playing tag football in the borrowed madras pants, and it was all I could do to keep a straight face. Anyway, throughout our stay, we got unfriendly stares from the other guests, and they were very standoffish towards us, quite different from the attitude of people one usually meets at bed and breakfast inns. We wondered if they were unsettled at encountering a non-white person.

Another point is that this is not a typical bed and breakfast in that the owners do not live on site, in fact, it did not appear that any staff live there. We never even met the owners. Thus, it lacked that normal bed and breakfast feeling of being a guest in the home of a friendly host. There is a staff person on site to assist guests with local tourism activities, but she is also the person who answers the reservations phone, and so talking to her involved a long wait while she was on the phone, or interruptions while she answered the phone. The inn really needs two staff persons, one to man the phones, and the other to attend to guests.

The breakfast (in the Whale Rib restaurant below the Inn) offers a choice of two entrees each morning. The food was mediocre and took way too long to arrive. People who were seated and had ordered considerably later than us got the same things we had ordered before we got our orders. People who were seated and had ordered before us did not get served until after us. It all seemed very haphazard and we could tell that it was annoying to other guests, as well.

As far as the road noise, yes, the inn is right on the edge of a busy road, but if you bring ear plugs or run the fan, you won't notice it. Or, if you ask about it upon reserving your room, maybe you can get one that does not front on the road. What really irked me about traffic was the parking situation. Since the Inn also runs its own restaurant, and since there is virtually no where else to eat on Deer Isle, seemingly hundreds of people converged on the Inn at night. There is a parking lot that is supposed to be for Inn guests only, but of course it was mysteriously full each time we needed to park, as were the roadsides and the parking lot across the street. We ended up several times having to park a considerable way down the highway and then make our way in the dark along the gravel shoulder of the road with traffic whipping past us.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank RaleighLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 156 of 156 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
New York, NY
114
Reviewed August 29, 2004

We just came back from a disappointing visit. The inn is on a very busy road, so busy, in fact, that our room came with a sound machine that unfortunately did not drown out the sound of cars whizzing by day and night. The staff was remarkably unfriendly. When we checked in we were told they'd be glad to help us book trips (kayaking, hiking, what have you) but when we asked for their help and recommendations the next day we were handed a bunch of brochures and told to do it ourselves. The menu has changed from the description in the guidebooks. It's no longer a changing fixed price meal, but an extremely expensive a la carte selection that was not merited by the quality of the food. If you're going to Deer Isle (which is well worth the trip), stay somewhere else where the ambiance and the staff is in keeping with the serenity and friendly attitude of Deer Isle and its inhabitants.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2004

We had a great time here for 2 nights on our honeymoon. The inn is very quiet and peaceful in an area that will definitely give you, as one staff member said it, "a picture of what Maine used to be like." The staff was all very, very friendly and nice. We LOVED the breakfasts each morning which offered choices like frittata or buttermilk bluecorn blueberry pancakes. We stayed in the Rugosa Rose cottage which is not in the main inn. It lacked some of the charm of the main house, but it had a kitchenette, t.v./vcr, and a private porch. If you want to stay in the inn, go for room #9! On the top floor with exposed beams, spacious, and lovely decor. Bar Harbor is an hour and 15 minute drive away which is a better place to stay at if you want shopping, excitement, and lots to do. For a peaceful, natural retreat, Pilgrim's Inn is a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sarah2280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
Thank Picciopici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tobia_hummert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte_155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pilgrim's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim's Inn

Address: 20 Main St, Deer Isle, ME 04627-3888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Isle
Price Range: $110 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking picturesque Northwest Harbor and our tranquil mill pond, Pilgrim's Inn on Deer Isle is the perfect place to experience Downeast Maine at its best. Built in 1793, our historic post and beam Maine inn welcomes you with an ambiance and warmth of a bygone era. Lovingly restored and meticulously maintained, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of the Select Registry of Inns and the Bed and Breakfast Diamond Collection. Twelve rooms and three cottages offer you a range of lodging options to best meet your needs from mid - May through mid - October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilgrim's Inn Deer Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing