We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Inn!”
Review of Pilgrim's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilgrim's Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Deer Isle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn!”
Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed here in June in one of the cottages. Everything was great. The breakfasts and dinner in their restaurant were also very good. It is a comfortable place with excellent staff. Although mostly, we are out, the little kitchen was well equipped and sufficient for 1 lobster dinner. We can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
96
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at Pilgrim's Inn for four nights in May. Besides the beautiful views of the water, the 1793 inn was well taken care of. The antiques and room decor was so pretty and comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent with fresh fruit, muffins, omelettes, blueberry pancakes, etc. We had excellent dinners at the Whale's Rib Tavern for two nights, plus after dinner drinks in the pub. We met some very friendly locals and had a good time talking. Tina, Tony and the staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. (Tina, thanks again for the extra nightstand you found for me.:)

We highly recommend the inn for a relaxing and fun experience!

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are in the back of the inn away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etna. NH
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

One of the striking things about Pilgrim's, of relatively modest size, is that there are three public rooms (lounges): one for reading, one for TV and board games, and one on the eating level where you can linger before and after meals. It makes for relaxation and a sense of community even as guests and locals (in the evening) stream in and out, and for a cozy refuge in bad weather. The Inn is situated on a gorgeous salt-water "pond", more like a lake in size, where water fowl take off and land, and the wind and sun play on the surface. Helpful staff and better than decent food.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rovingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived in Deer Isle after 4 nights rather wet camping in Acadia NP with a view to have a rather more comfortable and relaxing few nights. On arrival we were warmly greeted and allowed some outside space to dry off our tent. This turned out to be the only dry few hours of our stay on Deer Isle, but the cosines and homely feel of Pilgrim's Inn helped us enjoy our days, having spent 3 weeks driving from the West coast across to the East.

Complimentary tea, coffee and cookies helped us through and we pretty much had the TV to ourselves to watch Andy Murray progress through Wimbledon! Just what we wanted! The room (room 8) was comfortable and had a wonderful view.

We ate at the Whale's Rib Tavern - booking ahead most certainly advised - and were rewarded with a fabulous meal and wine; probably the best of our 7 week trip across the USA.

The whole place is family run from the B&B through to the restaurant and I'd highly recommend a detour to fit this place in! Even breakfast was outstandingly cooked fresh each day, alternating between sweet and savoury hot offerings day to day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location ,nice staff, excellent food, good value - Pilgrim's Inn scores highly on almost every count. The only exception to this is the condition of the rooms, both public rooms and bedrooms. Whilst comfortable they are all somewhat 'tired ' and overdue a makeover. Most of the rugs, for example, have seen much better days.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent three nights here at the end of the season. We got to stay in two different rooms as the big room we had booked ( Room 4)and in which we spent one night had plumbing issues. This is a really lovely room and bathroom. We were shown other options and decided on a smaller room up steep stairs on the top floor. Room 11. Also nicely appointed but we much preferred our initial choice. The breakfasts were very good and we ate either in the restaurant or pub area each evening. The food is really excellent and we did enjoy the friendly vibe in the pub with all the locals. It is out of the way but we felt we had discovered the real spirit of Maine.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter. See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

On a recommendation, I visited Deer Island with my boyfriend while on a recent trip to Maine and stayed at Pilgrim's Inn for a few days. The grounds were beautiful and so was the house. We stayed in Room 12. We were told the room is really meant for one person but we took it anyway. You can do it but make sure you really know the person you're staying with!

The breakfasts were nice and the staff was very accommodating and knowledgable, helping us figure out an itinerary and suggesting sights. One of the staff happens to be a local artist and we ended up seeing her studio during one of our drives.

An earlier reviewer complained of noise, cars "barreling" down the road. I found it quite the opposite. As a native New Yorker, I found it eerily quiet! Deer Isle is a small community of locals artists, if you're looking for an out of the way escape in Maine, the Pilgrims Inn is a great spot for a stay.

Room Tip: Room 12 is probably meant for one person. Also a sort of open bathroom. The top floor stairs are ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moll Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Isle
16.8 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
309 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
214 reviews
20.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
140 reviews
21.3 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
16.8 mi away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrim's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim's Inn

Property: Pilgrim's Inn
Address: 20 Main St, Deer Isle, ME 04627-3888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking picturesque Northwest Harbor and our tranquil mill pond, Pilgrim's Inn on Deer Isle is the perfect place to experience Downeast Maine at its best. Built in 1793, our historic post and beam Maine inn welcomes you with an ambiance and warmth of a bygone era. Lovingly restored and meticulously maintained, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of the Select Registry of Inns and the Bed and Breakfast Diamond Collection. Twelve rooms and three cottages offer you a range of lodging options to best meet your needs from mid - May through mid - October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilgrim's Inn Deer Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing