We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Very Good Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pilgrim's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilgrim's Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Deer Isle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Etna. NH
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A Very Good Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

One of the striking things about Pilgrim's, of relatively modest size, is that there are three public rooms (lounges): one for reading, one for TV and board games, and one on the eating level where you can linger before and after meals. It makes for relaxation and a sense of community even as guests and locals (in the evening) stream in and out, and for a cozy refuge in bad weather. The Inn is situated on a gorgeous salt-water "pond", more like a lake in size, where water fowl take off and land, and the wind and sun play on the surface. Helpful staff and better than decent food.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rovingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
94
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived in Deer Isle after 4 nights rather wet camping in Acadia NP with a view to have a rather more comfortable and relaxing few nights. On arrival we were warmly greeted and allowed some outside space to dry off our tent. This turned out to be the only dry few hours of our stay on Deer Isle, but the cosines and homely feel of Pilgrim's Inn helped us enjoy our days, having spent 3 weeks driving from the West coast across to the East.

Complimentary tea, coffee and cookies helped us through and we pretty much had the TV to ourselves to watch Andy Murray progress through Wimbledon! Just what we wanted! The room (room 8) was comfortable and had a wonderful view.

We ate at the Whale's Rib Tavern - booking ahead most certainly advised - and were rewarded with a fabulous meal and wine; probably the best of our 7 week trip across the USA.

The whole place is family run from the B&B through to the restaurant and I'd highly recommend a detour to fit this place in! Even breakfast was outstandingly cooked fresh each day, alternating between sweet and savoury hot offerings day to day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
282 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 564 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great location ,nice staff, excellent food, good value - Pilgrim's Inn scores highly on almost every count. The only exception to this is the condition of the rooms, both public rooms and bedrooms. Whilst comfortable they are all somewhat 'tired ' and overdue a makeover. Most of the rugs, for example, have seen much better days.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent three nights here at the end of the season. We got to stay in two different rooms as the big room we had booked ( Room 4)and in which we spent one night had plumbing issues. This is a really lovely room and bathroom. We were shown other options and decided on a smaller room up steep stairs on the top floor. Room 11. Also nicely appointed but we much preferred our initial choice. The breakfasts were very good and we ate either in the restaurant or pub area each evening. The food is really excellent and we did enjoy the friendly vibe in the pub with all the locals. It is out of the way but we felt we had discovered the real spirit of Maine.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter. See above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

On a recommendation, I visited Deer Island with my boyfriend while on a recent trip to Maine and stayed at Pilgrim's Inn for a few days. The grounds were beautiful and so was the house. We stayed in Room 12. We were told the room is really meant for one person but we took it anyway. You can do it but make sure you really know the person you're staying with!

The breakfasts were nice and the staff was very accommodating and knowledgable, helping us figure out an itinerary and suggesting sights. One of the staff happens to be a local artist and we ended up seeing her studio during one of our drives.

An earlier reviewer complained of noise, cars "barreling" down the road. I found it quite the opposite. As a native New Yorker, I found it eerily quiet! Deer Isle is a small community of locals artists, if you're looking for an out of the way escape in Maine, the Pilgrims Inn is a great spot for a stay.

Room Tip: Room 12 is probably meant for one person. Also a sort of open bathroom. The top floor stairs are ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moll Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Inn was great and in a very remote part of Maine (city boy here - not exactly what I expected, especially the weird "blowing up of things at midnight" one night...) - we unfortunately chose the smallest room on the uppermost floor, which was marketed as a room for one, and it really is - but it functioned fine. The breakfasts were delicious and they offered lots of Nervous Nellies Blueberry Jam, which is truly amazing - Deer Isle seems to be mostly a place of great beauty and isolation and populated by artists and locals who must be used to and enjoy a very quiet, serene environment, which was a wee disconcerting to us, but if that's what you want, they got lots of it - and the Pilgrim's Inn is definitely a fine place to experience that with.

Room Tip: if you're a couple - definitely avoid the room for one - mea culpa!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCC1701X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
110 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed here one night as part of a Backroads bike trip. (The innkeeper was a bit hostile about giving Backroads an additional room for a friend who was trying to join the trip. Even though one was available, she initially refused but finally relented.) When I checked in and tried to change rooms because ours was on the busy street, the woman at the desk scoffed and assured me that the windows were thick enough to keep out the sound. Wrong. Even over a very noisy window air conditioner (it crackled as if paper were stuck in it), we could still hear cars barreling by. The room was oddly configured - the sink and shower were right in the room. And the stairs to our floor were quite steep and narrow. And there is no cell phone service in the vicinity. If none of this bothers you, then you'll be quite happy here. We noticed that other non-Backroads guests got a tour of the sitting rooms and coffee/tea service and phone/internet, but we did not. The one (to me) redeeming feature was the restaurant - the food was excellent. Again, however, I felt that we received grudging service because we were part of a group.

Room Tip: if you get to choose, get a room on the back of the inn, and not near the kitchen. also, don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaggieNeedlefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeeper4, Owner at Pilgrim's Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We appreciate the feedback from this reviewer and are always working to ensure our guests have an excellent experience at Pilgrim's Inn. Working with large touring groups can often present limitations for both us and the participants because of the unique and small nature of our 15 room property, which is why after this year we will no longer be working with large tour groups.

For example, as this reviewer suggests and with whom we agree, room assignments are ideally communicated directly between the Inn and the guest since each room is unique in terms of size, location in the Inn, number of stairs, etc and matching people to the right room is important for us and the guest. With a tour group however, the number of rooms are negotiated a year in advance. Some rooms are left out of the contract so that other guests hoping to stay for a longer time period are able to find an available room. Communication about changes or additions to this contract can only take place between the two parties in the contract (the Inn and touring company) and cannot be negotiated with individual guests for a variety of reasons. Individual room assignments are communicated between the touring company and the Inn and any preferences from guests are communicated via the trip leaders a few days in advance. Last minute changes are difficult to accommodate after the guests have arrived as it would require re-arranging the larger guest list and would impact others on the trip.

It is also true as this reviewer points out, that guests with a large group do not always get the individual attention they deserve, and which is what makes properties like ours so special. This too is a reason we will no longer be working with large touring groups. For instance, we found after several years of experience that participants on a bike tour were eager to be shown immediately to their rooms after a challenging day of physical activity, and they often felt that the tour of the property was preventing them from needed showers and rest.

We are very sorry this reviewer did not get the room or the experience they wanted, and hope they will try us again when they are traveling outside of a large group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Isle
16.8 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
17.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
19.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
16.8 mi away
Point Lookout Resort
Point Lookout Resort
#1 of 1 in Northport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrim's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim's Inn

Property: Pilgrim's Inn
Address: 20 Main St, Deer Isle, ME 04627-3888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking picturesque Northwest Harbor and our tranquil mill pond, Pilgrim's Inn on Deer Isle is the perfect place to experience Downeast Maine at its best. Built in 1793, our historic post and beam Maine inn welcomes you with an ambiance and warmth of a bygone era. Lovingly restored and meticulously maintained, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of the Select Registry of Inns and the Bed and Breakfast Diamond Collection. Twelve rooms and three cottages offer you a range of lodging options to best meet your needs from mid - May through mid - October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilgrim's Inn Deer Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing