We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Inn”
Review of Pilgrim's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deer Isle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pilgrim's Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Deer Isle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Peaceful Inn”
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the Pilgrim's Inn mainly because of the beautiful room we stayed in. I highly recommend Ginny's Cottage 1. It has a lovely deck with a table to sit at. The cute little kitchen was a nice thing to have as well. The homemade granola at breakfast was delightful.

  • Liked — The cottage was beautifully decorated.
  • Disliked — No food available after 6:00. Restaurant was closed when we arrived.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank futuremainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    29
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
20
96
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2008

We loved our stay at the Pilgrim's Inn and can't wait to visit again. The rooms were charming, the food incredible, and all the staff were very friendly. A perfect setting for a relaxing get away. The rooms are cozy, and clean with a comfy bed! Room 5 has a great view. Make sure to visit the Whale's Rib Tavern - recommend making reservations - as this Restaurant is clearly a favourite of the locals! We loved the food so much the first night - we made sure to go back the second night. Very limited cell phone coverage in Deer Isle, - however the Inn does provide Wireless Internet.

  • Liked — Charming and differenty from the standard hotel room!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbutler718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

My husband and I had a terrific stay in Room #5 at the Inn. The Innkeeper's were very helpful and accommodating. The room was clean and beautifully decorated, with a gas fireplace and terrific views of the mill pond. There are several places on the grounds to the enjoy peaceful views in Adirondack chairs. The Tavern downstairs serves fresh and flavorful meals, with ample breakfasts included.

It is an old Inn with a working tavern, so folks that go to bed early might be a little disturbed by the noise. That dies down after 9pm when the restaurant closes and people start settling in.

We'll happily return the next time we want to enjoy the quiet pleasures of Deer Isle.

  • Liked — Historic inn with modern amentities
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank jdub89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at Pilgrim's Inn. Tina and Tony are good folk. They make you feel welcome and are available all day. Have a drink in the bar and enjoy dinner - the meals we ate at the Inn were just right. The Inn is easy driving distance from galleries and some beautiful seascapes; the back roads to Castine were particularly charming.

  • Liked — location; food
  • Disliked — public spaces can get crowded
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ChipNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2007

Staying at Pilgrim's Inn was such a wonderful respite from the day to day routine. A simply gorgeous facility - outstanding food - wonderful accommodations - quiet, picturesque and such a delightful staff.

Up early each morning to take a constitutional through nearby Stonington - watching the lobstermen head out to check their pots. Sea gulls, loons - surely this must be heaven.

We will be back.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank WeBSeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

I booked this inn because it was the only facility in the area that could accommodate my family of 6. I was quite pleased with the very comfortable quarters. Dinner at the inn's restaurant was sumptuous and the included breakfast was delicious and beyond my expectations. The owners were very visible and frequently checked to see that we were comfortable. If I had known that this was such a wonderful inn I would have changed my itinerary to stay for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ToledoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ELGIN
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2007

This is a delightful B&B. This beautifully well cared-for inn is in a lovely setting and has an excellent restaurant. Common rooms are warm and comfortable. One of the best B&Bs we've enjoyed. Afton and Rich Dancey

  • Liked — Beautiful restored inn in a gorgeous setting.
  • Disliked — Nothing I didn't like.
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank ElginJeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deer Isle
16.8 mi away
Inn at Ocean's Edge
Inn at Ocean's Edge
#3 of 5 in Lincolnville
308 reviews
20.4 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
17.1 mi away
Glenmoor by the Sea
Glenmoor by the Sea
#2 of 5 in Lincolnville
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
Pentagoet Inn
Pentagoet Inn
#1 of 3 in Castine
545 reviews
21.3 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
20.5 mi away
Asticou Inn
Asticou Inn
#1 of 2 in Northeast Harbor
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrim's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrim's Inn

Property: Pilgrim's Inn
Address: 20 Main St, Deer Isle, ME 04627-3888
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Deer Isle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Deer Isle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking picturesque Northwest Harbor and our tranquil mill pond, Pilgrim's Inn on Deer Isle is the perfect place to experience Downeast Maine at its best. Built in 1793, our historic post and beam Maine inn welcomes you with an ambiance and warmth of a bygone era. Lovingly restored and meticulously maintained, the inn is listed on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of the Select Registry of Inns and the Bed and Breakfast Diamond Collection. Twelve rooms and three cottages offer you a range of lodging options to best meet your needs from mid - May through mid - October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pilgrim's Inn Deer Isle, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing