We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful luxury and a connection to the real Bali”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sahaja Sawah Resort
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We booked for four nights with the intent of moving around bali but ended up exenting twice to stay 10 nights. We are a family of four with two young daughters (3 and 5).

We stayed in a 2 bedroom villa with a large clean fresh private pool and a lovely private garden. The villa was very nice, both inside and outside. The rooms are big and spacious with a beautiful vista across the rice fields to the ocean. There's no noise since the nearest busy road is a good 15 mins drive.

Apart from the peaceful luxury of the resort, we loved the cultural experience. The resort is set in a part of bali that tourism hasn't infected. The resort employs three staff from each of the five surrounding villages (two of which are within 10 mins walk). The staff without exception all seemed to be proud and pleased to be working at the resort, and our kids loved being with them and even visiting their homes to play with their kids.

It well worth hiring a motor scooter to explore the numerous and beautiful villages around this area. It was only around $8-9 per day to rent and it is the best way to get around. People were always friendly and we never encountered people that were after something or situations where you had to ask for the price or count your change. It just seemed that decency and community spirit were strong in these small villages.

The staff at the hotel were very helpful in connecting us to their villages so we got to see several cultrural events involving music and traditional dancing. Not put on for tourists (we were the only tourists) but instead as part of the age-old tradition of Bali villages.

For a variation from the restuarant at the resort if you stay a bit longer like we did, we would recommend two fine resaurants (15-20 mins or so drive): One is Annanbee in Tabanan (indonesian), with its beautiful outdoor area at the back, the other is the restaurant at Soori resort on the beach to the south (international - expensive but very nice... go there for lunch so you can enjoy the fine ocean views).

Defintely not a place for party animals or shopaholics, but for those of us that love luxury and (real) Balinese culture, it was a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrightHorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2011

We spent 7 days in a Sahaja villa interspersed with a trip North of the Island to get our PADI certification. For a couple the villa was far too big (!) but we definitely enjoyed the large living area and the private pool.

Our villa gave directly onto the green paddy fields with some view of the sea on the horizon. The private swimming pool was long and deep; it was not a pond like you see in some other hotels. You could actually swim comfortably.

There is a kitchen and a large living area. After we left it was to be closed off with bay windows to avoid flooding during the rains. At night we attracted lots of little (harmless) bugs and geikos (it comes with the fact that we are in the countryside!), so these windows should reduce the problem.

You can definitely make use of the kitchen. I would advise you stop in Denpasar on your way from the airport (Carrefour, but it's on the other side of the road and can take loads of time when in the hellish traffic of Denpasar, or the fancy shop the driver showed us, which had relatively similar prices to Carrefour for basic items and lots of nice imported foods).

Alternatively the restaurant has nice dishes, reasonably priced. And you can tell the staff anytime when you want to come eat at the restaurant terrace or have it brought to your villa. We liked the food and it catered to all tastes. The staff is local, and the cook is too. The property is small enough and the staff attentive enough that you could ask for anything or suggest improvements (we even considered teaching the cook how to make british pancakes in addition to the French crepes she makes!).
On the juices. I read below that they came from a box; actually we became addicted to watermelon juice. It definitely was fresh (in season then) but a bit expensive to our taste (same as in other hotels and restaurants though) given how easy it is to come by!

The bedrooms were large and quiet, well appointed. We loved the dark wood furniture.
Each bedroom has a bathroom with a bathtub, inside shower and outside shower with access from the garden and the pool.

The location is remote, tucked in the rice fields. The scenery from the main road to the villa is amazing; worth a picture at every corner. Real people actually live around and tend to their fields. Close to local villages but away from town. This is exactly what we needed. If you are more of the party and surfing crowd you'll be sorely disappointed. If you want to let your kids roam in the rice fields and villages (I actually thought a lot about when I was a kid a playing around endlessly for miles on the then underdevelopped western coast of France), go off for bicycle rides and explore the island, take Sahaja.

We bought a local map book from the bookstore at the airport. It had all the small roads and paths. We then explored the coast on a scooter. Going to the beach takes a little stretch. We went on the scooter and families used the hotel car. Some people went on foot in the early evening (it can get quite hot). We loved going to the beach at sundown. The seas are rough with lots of currents so you don't swim around and use the swimming pool instead. But it's an amazing place to strall and play. There is absolutely nobody around except at the very end of the beach local youth have a game of football going. Every evening was different and magical.

When we felt like it we took a ride to the north to spent a couple of days in a resort to do scubadiving. But we were happy to come back to Sahaja after that. We had a one day trip to Ubud; it was worth it but again it was so fake, we couldn't have stood it more than one day.
It's a 3h ride to the north and the scuba diving sites. So it's not for a day trip. But we were glad to not be coming from further South from Kuta or Denpasar.

The staff can also arrange and hook you up to agencies organising trips and adventure tours and rafting etc.

It's a new place with amazing staff. They are very attentive. So make it your own. And don't hesitate give them suggestions.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank passenger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Sahaja and Sawah resort was like a trip back in time - to a place where the pace of life is slow and tranquil. The facilities are outstanding and the staff warm and accommodating.
We stayed in a villa with a private pool - which was an absolute delight. The resort is close to the beach and afforded beautiful sunsets and walks.

I would suggest stocking up on a few groceries in Denpasar but the restaurant at Sahaja is very good.
This is an excellent place for couples and families - if you're looking for a perfect place for serenity and tranquility.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluemercury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We found this place when looking for a cheeky weekend getaway. They had specials on so we thought we would chance it.

Awesome decision. It was a really gerat place to stay and a terrific place to see some more of Tabanan. I live in Bali and I genreally find Tabanan one of the quiter and more authentic parts of Bali to visit.

Star Rating - I would put this as a smartly price 4 star place. The rooms sspeak 5 star but the rest of the place really make it a 4 star and a very good 4 star at that.

Room - we stayed in a brand new two bedroom villa. Rooms were large, comfortable and sported outdoor showers.

Pool area - big and beautiful.

Location - nowehere, rice paddies as far as the eyes can see. I loved it for that.

Food - not amazing, not bad. I think this is the biggest improvement area. But seriously if your drinking a cold drink admiring the setting sun over perfect green rice paddies and the food is good then life is pretty damn good.

Secrive - Terence worked hard and all the staff were very helpful. Probably some training is required but a big smile and you know the team there wants to help out.

I am going back nexy weekend simply because it was so relaxing and such awesome value. I felt over this place was a 4 out of 5 experience. Probably a 4.5. I loved it and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: all rooms are good rooms but villas are private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michaelmckerlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

I went with a few of my friends there and decided to stay only one night at the villa because of it's secluded environment. It is in fact much more further away than we expected. However despite the long journey there, when we arrived at the place we were greeted by friendly staffs which were awaiting us with towels and refreshment drinks. We were overwhelmed when shown to the nice rooms. The common area are very big and nice. However few of the light failed to work but they fixed it promptly after we forwarded the problem. The swimming pool is nice n the rooms were romantically design with Balinese style without loosing touch of mordern. Beds and toilets ate also comfortable n clean. Even the shampoos provided were also not bad. Our villa also had a spectacular view of the paddy terraces. And during the night faint sounds of waves slapping at the beach could be here beside the pool. It is indeed a very nice villa and I would say it is 5 star villas with a 3 star price. However due to it's secluded location it is not convenient if u plan to travel to many places in Bali as it would take up too much time. If u r planning a quiet and relaxing family trip or trip with friends then i would really recommend this place!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Missgsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

We spent 3 leisurely and comfortable days in Tabanan, and Roger and Terrence the management staff at Shahaj and Sawah, could not have done more to make our stay more enjoyable, and customise our experience of the area. Extra bikes were provided, early morning drop-off to the Ferry for the Gili islands, etc.

The resort is in its infancy, but lots of potential and wilingness from the staff to go out of their way to make each visit special.

One criticsm, is that Bali is abundant with fresh fruit, so juices from cartons are a disappointment in the mornings; but we are sure that minit items like this will get fixed over time.

if one is looking to get away from the bustle of Kuta and Seminyak for a few days, Sahaja and Sawah is a good option.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at the Sahaja and Sawah resort from 13th of april till the 16th. We stayed in one of the sahaja villas which was a complementary upgrade because of some miscommunication with our booking. This resort has just opened 6 months ago. The villas are privately owned and each have a fully equipped kitchen. The villas are in 1 word spectacular! The private pool that you can enter from your livingroom is lovely. The bedrooms are spacious and very nicely styled. The bed could have been a little softer and the airconditioning wasn't realy cold enough for our taste, but the bathrooms realy made up for that.

If you want crowd and restaurants and people around you, do not go to this resort. the nearest by supermarket is half an hour drive by the expensive hotel taxi.

But if you have come to experience real Bali in all it's glory you should definitely pay a visit. The surroundings are beautiful. The pictures on the website are not exaggerated, it really is that beautiful! That goes for the view as well as the hotel.

But the most special thing about this resort is the people who run it. I don't think I've ever stayed in a place where the staff was so nice and so friendly, and sincerely nice, not just nice to get a tip. Roger, the hotelmanager was the kindest and friendliest man who really helped to make something special of our stay there.

All the other staff are local people and they constantly invite you to visit them at home, You definitely should! That's how you get to experience real Bali!

For the staff alone i would definitely consider staying there again!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManondenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sahaja Sawah Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sahaja Sawah Resort

Address: Banjar Kelecung Kaja, Desa Tegal Mengkeb Kecamatan Selemadeg Timur | Tabanan, Tegal Mengkeb, Selemadeg 82162, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Selemadeg > Tegal Mengkeb
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Tegal Mengkeb
Price Range: $66 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sahaja Sawah Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sahaja Sawah is a boutique resort of luxurious tropical villas situated in an old balinese village on the west coast, 25 km from the most famous Bali attraction Tanah lot. The tranquil beauty of the village scenery is unique. It sets into lush green paddy fields overlooking the ocean in the rural province of Tabanan. Tabanan is widely known as "the real Bali" and delights the senses with its quaint villages linked by a network of tiny lanes, temples, exceptionally friendly people and stunning backdrop of untouched beaches, rice paddies as far as the eye can see, mountains, rivers and jungle. Sahaja Sawah is a perfect haven for relaxation and tranquillity with luxury private villa accommodation in Bali. In villa massage therapists are on call for total guest indulgence and tranquillity, and for the more energetic, hiking, cycling and visits to the lakes and volcano at Bedugul, the famed village of Ubud make for wonderful and exciting day trip excursions. The exceptional Pan Pacific Niwana golf course and the colonial Canggu Club are but 25 km away, and the many boutiques, restaurants and bars of Seminyak can be reached in just 40 km for those wishing to pull themselves away on occasions for shopping and nightlife. The many miles of untouched beaches and coastline are but 2 km from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sahaja Sawah Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sahaja And Sawah
Sahaja & Sawah Hotel Tabanan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing