We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A trip for doubting teenagers” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tirrintippin Farmstay & Horseriding Adventures

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Elands
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tirrintippin Farmstay & Horseriding Adventures
Ranked #1 of 1 Elands B&B and Inns
Chatswood, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A trip for doubting teenagers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

Dear Stan,

We just wanted to say thanks for your hospitality during our recent
stay. Our four teenage kids weren't looking forward to their farm stay
experience and we were forced to justify our choice when they wanted
to go to the beach. Simply saying "trust me" doesn't seem to cut it
with kids any more. But I'm pleased to say they were in no hurry to
leave 3 days later. They discovered the simple pleasure in feeding the
pigs, following a creek through the paddocks, catching a yabbie,
swinging on a rope at the local swimming hole and just having a BBQ
and marvelling at the night sky. The talk on the way home was all
about what friends they would invite to Tirrintippin on our next
visit.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

The Almond family of Chatswood.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Varsity Lakes, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We loved our stay at Tirrintippin. The accommodation is basic ,but there are toilets and showers in the cabin. It has a great rustic feel and Stan ,our host made sure we felt very welcomed and entertained . The kids enjoyed feeding the pigs, riding the horses. We even had the pleasure to watch kelpies rounding the pigs up. Thanks Richard for showing us the amazing skills your dogs have& feel your passion and love for these clever creatures . Stan cooked great dinner for us. Shops are limited close by so make sure take food with you there is fridge in the cabin. If you stay during the weekend or school holiday must visit the kiosk at Ellenborough Falls nearby and try Amanda's homemade pies,cakes!thank you for the wonderful experience !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

After a one day bicycle ride we felt really grateful to come to this amazing place. We strongly recommend this farm stay with its warm, genuine and welcoming atmosphere. Make sure you have time to stay because you will not want to leave! Stanley who owns the farm with his daughter (who we did not get the chance to meet) is a very caring, inspiring person and cooked for us and showed us the farm. Horses, pigs, hens, plus wild wallabies, everything surrounded by an amazing nature taken straight from the hobbit world. We did a two days bicycle ride from Comboyne and although it was very hilly the views just makes it so worth it. Our goal was the Ellenborough Falls, and the farm just happen to be close by so we could stay a night before riding the 30km back.
Afterwards we can easily say that even the waterfall was beautiful, the farm stay is what we value the most of our trip!
Thank you <3

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2010

We have stayed a few times now at Tirrintippin; we are hooked. It;s about 6 hrs drive from Sydney & our children (initially aged 2 & 3.5) spent virtually every day asking to return. The hospitality of Stan & Jesse & all the gang around was second to none. What a natural holiday to remember. Thanks so much for making us one of the family. The rustic cottage was let us feel the Aussie heat, but in a good 'real' way. No luxuries here but flushing toilets yes, showers with hot water yes, lovely tucked away cottage & room for our 2 big dogs on the verandah. If you want super clean matching linen& everything, bring your own but we are happy with the random linen & age old beds, it is all part of the rustic feel. Horses were gorgeous. My boys adored the campfires at night & the farm animals, especially the piglets. This is somewhere you should definately visit if you want a true getaway holiday where you can do anything (mountain bike through pristine bush, go hiking, see the magical Ellensborough falls, local drumming experiences, drinkies by the fire under the stars) or do nothing at all. Take any treats you would like such as food as there are limited shops. It promises to be wonderful, that's why we keep returning

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
2 Thank haveyabeenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tirrintippin Farmstay & Horseriding Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirrintippin Farmstay & Horseriding Adventures

Property: Tirrintippin Farmstay & Horseriding Adventures
Address: 625 Glenwarrin Rd, Elands, New South Wales 2429, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Elands
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Elands
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tirrintippin we aim to provide a homely place for you to relax and enjoy the beautiful countryside of northern New South Wales.Tirrintippin is a working sustainable farm. We keep horses, cows, miniature pigs, speckled persian sheep, ducks and other farm animals. The area has immense natural features to explore, wildlife abounds, swimming in nearby river and walks to enjoy. Ellenborough Falls is only 4 kilometres away and is one of the longest single drops in the southern hemisphere. Enjoy the falls from the viewing platforms or take the timbered walkway to the bottom of the falls; upon return enjoy a gourmet coffee and meal at the kiosk. Explore the property on horseback or on a Mountain Bike, the rides suit all ages , the rides explore the beautiful forest trails in the Tirrintippin hinterland (cost applies). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing