We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful setting, peaceful with river views”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Damariscotta
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Damariscotta B&B and Inns
Templeton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“beautiful setting, peaceful with river views”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Excellent place to stay on the Damariscotta penninsula with access to route 1 and points North and South. 15 minutes to Pemaquid light and surrounding bay areas. The Innkeeper, Martha was accommodating and most gracious. Felt like I was at home with all the attention and excellent breakfast that came with the room. there is access to the e-world but who needs it when you are in a place like this. I recommend this to everyone who needs a respite from the hustle bustle of the world.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. Hope you'll come back soon for another escape from the hustle bustle world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
23
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

So quiet, relaxing, lovely views of the river. Martha, the innkeeper is very friendly, helpful. Great location, convenient to everything, yet feels away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggie451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We had an excellent stay at Oak Gables. Our room did not come with breakfast which worked well for us because we have friends in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2009

We rented the cottage -- it sleeps 6, with 2 bathrooms, 3 bedrooms, a kitchen, and a living room with fireplace. It was wonderful -- cozy and quiet with lots of space to ourselves. Everything was in good repair, and the furniture was okay -- functional, and nothing you had to worry was a valuable antique you might break. The cottage is separate from the main building, and so not only had a "private entrance" but was entirely private. Because of that we never saw the owner except when we went looking for her, but when we did she was easy to find and helpful. And the free wifi worked great too. We found it a great place to stay, and would love to stay there again, either just the two of us, with some family or friends to use more of the space.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tzarac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2008

I stayed on a Monday night. Martha, the proprietor, was extremely friendly and helpful. The property was lovely and quiet, right on the Damariscotta River a half mile above the Damariscotta-Newcastle bridge. It's a five-minute walk on back roads to the center of Damariscotta, which is one of the nicer towns in the area (everything you need, but much less crowded and touristy than Boothbay Harbor).

There's a main house with a number of rooms, and at least two other houses that I believe she rents. There's a boat house on the river with a ping pong table, an outdoor pool, and very lovely and green grounds.

The rooms are bit dated, but very clean and well-maintained. We shared a bathroom with (I think) two other rooms, but it was never a problem. Breakfast was extremely relaxed; if you're looking to eat and run you'll be frustrated, but our patience was rewarded with very sweet home grown strawberries along with the rest of breakfast. I managed to leave my jacket behind; Martha tracked me down and is mailing it to me.

All in all, if you're looking to stay in a quiet older home then I'd recommend this property extremely highly. We'll be back.

  • Liked — Peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Lack of some features (e.g. internet access)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtgriscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2006

The property is amazing. Martha is a rare gem. They don't make them like that anymore! She is one of the kindest and funniest women. She made our family feel right at home. If you want the Ritz, this is not the place for you - this is down home and delightful.

  • Liked — warmth of the owner
  • Disliked — shared bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — don't expect frills, expect the real down home experience - staying at grandmas
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paige1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 18, 2006

My sister and I went there with our aunt and uncle, it was a very cozy place with all the comforts of home. We are from Springville, NY and plan on coming up to stay again. Martha, the owner is a sweetie. Thanks again Martha for everything you made our vacation a joy.

Tammy J. Riter

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Damariscotta
13.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
534 reviews
13.6 mi away
Bradley Inn
Bradley Inn
#1 of 3 in New Harbor
153 reviews
13.9 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Newcastle Inn
Newcastle Inn
#1 of 4 in Newcastle
118 reviews
9.9 mi away
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
Wiscasset Woods Lodge
#1 of 1 in Wiscasset
71 reviews
4.7 mi away
HawksHouse Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast

Property: Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast
Address: 36 Pleasant Street, Damariscotta, ME 04543
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Damariscotta
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Damariscotta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A winding driveway leads through stone pillars and up to the gracious oak-shaded home overlooking rolling fields, an apple orchard, and the meandering river. You’ll enjoy a delightful view from every vantage point, and the serenity of the setting will carry you back to a time of unhurried leisure. The grounds include a 20’ x 40’ pool as well as a boathouse perched over the river.Oak Gables is within strolling distance of downtown Damariscotta’s small Your hostess, Martha Scudder, has been welcoming guests to Oak Gables since 1987 and takes genuine pleasure in seeing that everyone feels completely at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oak Gables Bed & Breakfast Damariscotta, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing