We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little cafe!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Salt Bay Cafe

Salt Bay Cafe
Ranked #10 of 31 Restaurants in Damariscotta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Averill Park, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great little cafe!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Good food, easy to find on the main drag! Good breakfast choices, good service and reasonably priced! Give it a go, you'll like it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ADKMAN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    51
    14
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No service”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I will start be saying we never had the opportunity to try the food here. We had a party of 6, we were seated immediatley & handed menus. After 15 minutes of no one coming over I waved down a waitress and said no one has been over yet. She appologized and said she would send someone right over. A few minutes later she came back & said there was some confusion and someone will be right over. Five minutes later still no one came over! We all got up and walked out. This is not by any means a large place, it's actually quite small.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stephanie203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
58 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good early morning breakfast spot”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is a sweet place to have breakfast. The blueberry pancakes with organic maple syrup was delicious. The waitress was very upbeat and seemed happy with her job. They also served lunch & dinner.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara1369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, ME
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We loved this place!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stopped in for lunch while shopping in Damarascotta and were thrilled with this place! I don't know how I've missed it in my four summers in the area! First of all I was impressed with the extensive and varied menu. Where can you find a full menu of steaks and meats, tons of salads, sandwiches, wraps as well as a large and interesting vegetarian menu and pizzas? The side "starches" aren't just the usual baked potatoes or fires. They have pastas and couscous as well as all the potato options. I had a great grilled portobella sandwich with blue cheese and topped with a saute of zucchini and summer squash. It was great. My friend had a baked potato stuffed with chicken and served on top of a tossed salad. The prices seemed low to us and our server was terrific. We wrote down her name so we can ask for her when we go back for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great place to relax and eat, beat the bustle of Main St.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

My family has dined at the Salt Bay Cafe for years and have always been more than satisfied. They have an extensive menu for everyone, including vegan and vegetarian menus. Their prices are great for their serving sizes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank themaritimes92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Bay Cafe also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Salt Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing