We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inviting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maine Coast Book Shop and Cafe

Maine Coast Book Shop and Cafe
Ranked #13 of 31 Restaurants in Damariscotta
Cuisines: Cafe, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Inviting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

How bad could it be to browse the bookstore, which has a full selection of best sellers, friendly staff and sit outside with a wonderful cup of whatever you like - coffee? tea? lattes? Sit on the sidewalk and enjoy!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Coffee shop, not really a restaurant, but it's good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

I'm not a coffee drinker, so I can't review that, but it's a great little book store, with a section for drinks and a sandwich I'm hooked on. I get the chicken salad sandwich, I believe it's called the "Favorite sandwich" or something like that, and it certainly is mine. I like it on a wheat wrap, and you can get a half sandwich, which is a nice option if you're not that hungry. Their baked goods are just OK, and they have internet access. Buy a book or a newspaper, and support a local bookstore while you're there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jeannette e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Scones”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Cafe has a great and ever-changing selection of coffees that rivals anything in name-brand establishments. Coupled with a nice selection of fresh scones and pastries and tables on Main Street, it's a great place to watch the passing parade and say hi to neighbors and friends. I'm looking forward to regular visits in the Spring (If it ever gets here)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank dickmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places to go to”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013

I must say that this is a special bookstore. Excellent selection of books and a wonderful staff to help you every step of the way whether it is summer or winter.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Olga O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Coast Book Shop and Cafe also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Maine Coast Book Shop and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing