We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scrumptious, Nourishing and Divine”

Savory Maine dining & provisions
Ranked #11 of 31 Restaurants in Damariscotta
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Savory Maine Local Organic Restaurant and Provisions features delicious, creatively prepared food in our elegant dining room that was formerly the sanctuary of a church and before that a schoolroom. We locally source all of our produce, seafood poultry, pork beef, dairy and eggs. Essentially all of our food is organically grown, grass fed or wild harvested. Our muffins, scones, and cookies, rolls biscuits and desserts are all baked in house. We always have vegetarian, vegan and gluten free items on the menu and gladly modify our recipes to satisfy your dietary needs. Our lower level has cafe seating and a retail space that features Maine grown and produced food that has been organically grown, wild harvested or grass fed, and a selection of environmentally friendly, Maine made gift items. Takeout is available and with advanced notice we can prepare larger quantities for you special event. Our quiche and haddock chowder have a large and growing following. We hear "this is the best I've ever had" all the the time. We have a nice selection of organic beer and wine and delicious mead made with Maine wildflower honey. We have outside seating on our waterfront deck in the warm weather. Dogs and their well behaved owners are welcome there. We look forward to your visit.
San Diego
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Scrumptious, Nourishing and Divine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Four of us were traveling south from Pemaquid point (A lighthouse that you should not miss!) and found this wonderful restaurant for lunch. It reminded us of restaurants in Europe with it's wonderfully subdued and beautiful interior, cheerful and creative local art work, Excellent food, and great friendly service. This chef-owner knows how to handle vegetables to make them delicious. Delightful choices for lunch included a superb haddock chowder, a variety of quiches, finnan haddie, Sandwiches and salads, good selection of beers and wines. Fresh ingredients and vegan as well as gluten free options for both lunch and dinner. (This was a wonderful escape from the frenzied atmosphere of the touristy cafes in the area) It's one of those rare places when you sit down, absorb everything and feel like you've come home and know that you will be cared for!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringValleyCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    14
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Four of us had dinner in Savory Maine last week. The idea is great----fresh local food. However---there were problems from the start. The waitress was a lovely, charming, agreeable young lady, but she didn't know how to waitress. We had to ask for bread twice, and it didn't come for a long time. We needed the bread because the service was so slow. Two of us asked for coffee, and it came cold. When one person remarked that the coffee was cold, the waitress warmed up just his cup and not the other person's.The salads with dinner came without dressing. When we asked, the waitress told us that the dressing was clear, but when we asked for additional dressing, what came to the table was not clear, so we think our salads were not dressed. The food was enjoyable but not great. We also think there was just one person cooking in the kitchen--- the waits were so long (and there were only two other tables filled... it was almost empty).

I see that this restaurant has great reviews, and I wonder if it was just an off night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardone15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Healthy non-seafood option in a converted old church on the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Lovely dinner on the back porch. The menu has a nice selection of vegetarian and non-vegetarian options. Good service too. I enjoyed the marinara meatloaf and my hubby enjoyed his gnocchi with a cream basil sauce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“A hidden gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

What a pleasant dinning experience! We noticed the sign when we pulled into town, and decided to check it out. The menu is very eclectic, but offers something for everyone's taste. We started off with the fresh veggie and yellow eyes bean hummus-outstanding. For dinner I had burger with shiitake mushrooms, tomato and sautéed onions on an excellent whole grain roll. It was one of the best burgers I have had. My wife had the meatloaf, mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables which was a perfectly seasoned ratatouille. The service was excellent, and the outside dinning area made for a perfect evening. If you are in the Damariscotta area do yourself a favor and make the Savory Maine dining and provisions A must stop on your trip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food & Pleasant setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Relax and enjoy a great meal. We split a hamburger and had wished we had ordered one each.
Congenial service, pleasant setting and good food. Great sign out front revealing they had meals for "vegan, vegetarian and carnivore".

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VirginiaPho2grapher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savory Maine dining & provisions also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Newcastle, Mid Coast Maine
 
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Savory Maine dining & provisions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing