We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for wine prices”

Schooner Landing Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 32 Restaurants in Damariscotta
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Watch out for wine prices”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stop at Schooner Landing each June, on our way back from Rockland. It's where I get my first lobster of the summer. This year's soft-shell was absolutely delicious! Fresh, tasty and sweet. Cole slaw not too milky, spiced just right with a bit of pepper and dill. We sat out on the deck, overlooking a few docks. Very picturesque Our visit coincided with a Pirate Festival, so we enjoyed seeing children and adults alike in costume. What marred our visit? Confusion about wine. This place specializes in beer. This was the second time we'd launched our summer and the second time the server was clueless about the wine. And no printed menu for wine. All he knew was that the whites included a sauvignon blanc and a merlot (!). The savignon blanc was good, but not great. A typical house wine. So imagine my surprise when the bill came, and the wine cost $12! Okay, I know I should have checked but it's also the restaurant's responsibility to make sure their servers know the score. This left a lousy after-meal taste in my mouth. Be warned.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 46Elizabeth53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    70
    30
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
maine
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“dirty, loud, pretty view”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

such a beautiuf spot. to bad they dont have the restaurant part of it down. order a beer, drink out of the bottle and sit on the deck:) tip from a local

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank sara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Awesome view of the river and good food. The service isn't the best but it's not that bad. During the summer Friday nights they have live music so if you like that type of thing that's a good time to go however it becomes difficult to hear during this time so if you go with a family I'd say avoid that night.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Schooner Landing - Awesome!”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I love to go to Schooner Landing here in Damariscotta, Maine. The restaurant sits next to a Marina overlooking the Damariscotta River. Boaters can dock their boats there and enjoy great cocktails and great seafood at Schooner Landing. We have seen Seals swimming by while we are eating our dinner. On Fridays they have entertainment outdoors and free Oyster Bar. Sunday Pier Parties. Happy Hour M-F 4 to 6. It is truly a magical experience at Schooner Landing. We love it!!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsjones2756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Maine, United States
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cool place to go.”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

By no means is Schooner Landing a 5 star restaurant! It is however an easy meal kind of place with good fried seafood, wraps, burgers, and other menu items - definitively, not a dress-up place. However, it is on the water, they have outdoor seating, service is very good and prices are not bad. Live music - both outdoors and indoors - on the weekends. Cool bar staff - we love you Heidi! The only unfortunate thing is they're closed all winter. But, spring is in the air and the good beer and fried fresh Maine clams are and so are some of the worlds best fresh oysters (top 10 in the world - I believe Food & Wine Mag 2007, said so). And the very (now-a-days) unusual Chicken Cordon Bleu, but all so delicious!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schooner Landing Restaurant also viewed

Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 
Newcastle, Mid Coast Maine
Damariscotta, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Schooner Landing Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing