We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the Photographers:”

Bold Coast Charter Company
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Cutler
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For the Photographers:”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This experience can't be beat. There's little I can add that hasn't been stated. Just go. If you're anywhere in the area, you MUST check this out. It's super cool being this close to so many of these beautiful sea birds. Just pray for good weather--this is a make or break.

For the photographers, I'm just an amateur, but there were many professionals who came on the trip. Many brought lots of gear--multiple full-frame cameras with up to 500 mm lenses, and this is completely doable. Very easy to get your gear there and into the blinds with you. Capt. Andy and crew are used to professionals carrying tens of thousands of dollars worth of gear, so they will be able to help you if you have concerns. I just had a 200 mm on a 1.5x factor camera, which is really plenty for most great shots, but in some ways I was still itching for a bit more reach to take a couple high detail, up close head shots that I wasn't able to achieve. If you are looking to travel light, you can get amazing shots with a 200 mm or 300 mm. If you're really greedy and want it all, then you can bring more gear without a problem. Hopefully that info is helpful.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LetsGoExploring13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    1
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Tour (good weather)”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The tour was great. As you can imagine it depends a lot on the weather. The day I went out was overcast and a little rainy, but the seas were calm. It is a 45 minute ride out in calm conditions. There isn't much to see on the way out or back in. Once there it's hard not to see birds. We saw puffins, razorbills, murres, eiders, and arctic terns. There was also a black guillemont and surf scoter on the way out.

I highly recommend the tour. Going out from Canada makes for a much longer boat ride.

For the photographers out there you don't need a long lens. I rented a 300mm f2.8 to make sure I got great shots, but I didn't need that much reach. You could easily get great shots with a 200mm, or a good portrait lens (85-105mm).

Check my website for more images (jeffcarpenter.photography)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JCDVM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, FL
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“A Great Day with the Puffins”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

It was a beautiful day with calm seas and sunny skies. We had booked two tours on the chance that one would be canceled and that's exactly what happened last Thursday. Today, Sunday, was much different. We had read an article about the puffin blinds tour which apparently is out of date. The article stated that you would have to climb over seaweed covered rocks and then walk very quickly on the boardwalk to the patio area where people were divided into small groups. It also talked about the difficulty getting off the boat and onto a smaller boat before getting on land. At our ages, 75 and 71 respectively, this concerned me. Well, none of that was true. Captain Andy was extremely well organized and he and his helper, Tyler, helped everyone on and off the boats. There were no seaweed covered rocks to clamber over. There was a concrete walkway which was wet and a bit slippery, but there also was a railing to hold onto. We walked at a normal pace to the patio area. We were told not to stop, take pictures, or use binoculars on that walk. Four people went into each blind. It was a wonderful experience. These old articles should be removed from the internet.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Barbara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Bold Coast rates Gold!”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We drove 1,000 km from Kingston, Ontario hoping for the best, and we couldn't have chosen a better day, better seas, and most importantly a better host. Captain Andy went 'overboard' to make sure we saw everything there was to see, and even took us on an extra stop to see some seals on a nearby island.

The tour starts in Cutler. There's not much parking, but it doesn't matter, as not many people are coming! You take a small boat out to a converted lobster boat. Ever step of the way Andy and his helper, Tyler, were watching for passenger safety and comfort. There was a nice clean washroom on the boat, too, an added bonus!

On Machias Seal Island, we Canadians were pleased to be greeted by and have the chance to speak to seabird researchers from UNB and the Canadian Wildlife Service.

After landing, we were split into small groups to spend up to 1.5 hours in a blind. Our blind had five people and only four viewing windows open at one time, so we had to negotiate a bit, but the birds were so close and so plentiful that when the staff came to get us, we all felt we'd only been inside 20 minutes or so.

It is an amazing, incomparable experience to be so close to Puffins, Murres, Artic Terns, Razorbills, and even Eider Ducks. I would highly recommend this company and this trip.

(Additionally we saw a seal swimming in the wake of the boat and a bald eagle at the harbour outlet. Andy is very patient and knowledgeable and made sure we could all see whatever he could see.)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AimeeDP41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We use tripadvisor alot....had it was dead on with Bold Coast Charter Company.
Capt Andy and Tyler, nice boat, fantastic weather. Saw all the Puffins, Razorbills, terns , seals that we came to see.
I would give them a 10 out of 10, great experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Astroguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bold Coast Charter Company also viewed

Jonesport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Cutler, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Bold Coast Charter Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing