We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Making the Saint John, N.B to Digby, N.S. ferry.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cherryfield
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Englishman's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Cherryfield B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We'd planned a seventeen-day Nova Scotia, P.E.I., and New Brunswick driving trip, and wanted to make the noon ferry from St.John to Digby. We felt Cherryfield, Maine was an appropriate distance, but we forgot the one-hour time change. Peter Winham reminded us, offered an early (6:30AM) breakfast and conversation. Although we stayed in B&B's (six in all) on the rest of the trip, this was by far the best. The house is architecturally significant, the room in which we stayed perfect, breakfast terrific and Cherryfield an endearing small river town that bills itself "The Blueberry Capital of the World". Peter and Kathy are wonderful hosts; and we'll likely be back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 35 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have already made our next reservations.
Our attractive and very comfortable suite was in the Carriage House adjacent to the wonderful 1793 Federalist style house, and the suite was superb. Breakfasts in the main house were five star quality every morning.
Peter and Kathy Winham, host and hostess, welcome guests like best friends. Listen to their advice on places to go and people to meet; they know the Down East, and are great conversationalists.
The inn is situated on the Narraguagus River and is the perfect home base for any Down East trip. Peter & Kathy provided us with a folder full of maps and descriptions fitting our interests. The spacious room was perfect for relaxing, working and sleeping, quiet with a very comfortable bed.
Go to the Englishman's Bed and Breakfast only if you appreciate the BEST, and are a FIVE STAR guest. We only want to share this wonderful inn with folks that will appreciate a rare experience.

Room Tip: Stay in the main house, we always want the Carriage House for ourselves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mikelovesgreatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife located this B&B online, looking for a place to spend the night on a trip through Maine and into New Brunswick. When we left Acadia in late afternoon it began to rain and the weather went downhill from there. Our accommodations were in the carriage house adjacent to the wonderful 1793 Federal house and the suite was superb, making it easy to forget about the weather. Breakfast the next morning in the main house was excellent and shared with three others staying there. We had a number of common interests with the proprietors, Peter and Kathy, and lingered a short while for some pleasant conversation, but with places to go and people to meet, we had to move on. We hope to return for more than an overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RHM-64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review, it is very helpful for us and other potential guests! We too hope you will be able to return and enjoy more of Cherryfield and Downeast Maine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

The Englishman's B&B is everything we want in an overnight stay. Welcoming hosts - we arrived after dark and Peter came out to escort us into the house; clean, comfortable and attractive furnishings and decor; comfortable bed - AND lamps on both sides of the bed; delicious breakfast; and great conversation. (Why else does one stay at a small B&B?!) We happened to be staying there because it was convenient for the business we were transacting the next day, but thanks to Peter and Kathy, we will return to explore all the other interesting places in the Cherryfield area. This is a great location from which to explore Acadia.

Room Tip: Both of the rooms in the main house are beautifully appointed, comfortable and spacious. The Carriag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BellaBaggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Our recent stay at the Englishman's B & B was absolutely wonderful. The inn is situated on the Narraguagus River and is the perfect home base for any Downeast trip. The location provides easy access to Schoodic, Petit Manan and Great Wass Island. Innkeepers, Peter & Kathy were friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. They provided us with a folder full of maps and descriptions of area hikes.

We stayed in the Estate Room, which had a very comfortable king size bed with a heat option for the mattress. The spacious room had two comfy reading chairs as well as a desk, which made it perfect for relaxing or working. We were able to peek at the carriage house, which is essentially a studio apartment with a kitchenette and great view of the river. It would be an ideal place for an extended stay. All the rooms are well stocked with magazines and maps of local interest as well as a wide selection of books.

Afternoon tea really hit the spot after a chilly day at Petit Manan. If you enjoy the tea as much as we did, they do offer it for sale out of a small gift shop near the dining room. The packaging is lovely and the tea is superb. Breakfast was delicious and hearty and it sustained us for an entire day of hiking. It included blueberry scones, juice, tea/coffee, fruit salad, toast with a selection of jam and preserves, and a very tasty mushroom, bacon and egg bake.

If you are an animal lover, you will find an instant companion in the friendly family cat.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PortCityAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We made resevations for 4 couples for the last weekend in October. In the middle of September we got a call saying we couldn't have one of the rooms because they had family coming. Nice way to run a business.

Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
2  Thank Boblgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterW5, Owner at Englishman's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

As owners of the Englishman's B&B we wish to make it clear that in our 5+ years of operation we have never cancelled a "confirmed with credit card" booking. In fact the reservation referred to in this review had not be so confirmed and the time frame we had indicated we could hold the rooms without such confirmation had expired. We therefore notified them that one of the rooms had been removed from their use due to special circumstances, but three others were still available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

I stayed here one night last October with a friend. The hospitality of Peter (the man who owns it) and his wife was above and beyond! The rooms were so clean, and the bed smelled like it has just been washed. The breakfast in the morning was so delicious! Homemade waffles, homemade blueberry jam, bacon, fruit, tea, juice and coffee.. yum! The only disadvantage about this place was that it was further out of the way than most other bed and breakfasts.. but the rates were great! We stayed in a room in the main house, but they also have a carriage house available for just over 100 a night. It has a mini kitchen, living area, bathroom, queen size bedroom, and a loft with 2 beds.. this would be a great deal for a family or small group! I enjoyed it so much that I will be staying at the Englishman B&B again next week~!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dkilee22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Englishman's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Englishman's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 122 Main St, Cherryfield, ME 04622-4210
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Cherryfield
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cherryfield
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Englishman's B&B caters to all visitors to Downeast Maine, whether here on vacation, on business, for family or just passing through. We provide comfortable, clean and peaceful accommodations, a range of breakfasts and personal service. We are a great base for exploring the coast from Deer Isle/Bar Harbor to West Quoddy, Lubec/Eastport and Campobello. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing