We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chebeague Island Inn
Nearby Hotels
$62
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casco Bay Inn(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$105
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$136
$119
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Suites(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Freeport/Brunswick(Freeport)(Great Value!)
$120
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Waterfront(Portland)(Great Value!)
$111
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$139
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
56
35
15
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
35
15
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswrap around porchprivate bathhole golf courselocal islandbig fireplacetiny islandnew englandlawn gamescorner roombed was comfortableliving roommaine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 129 reviews
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately, the exceptional views cannot make up for the poorly executed, bland, under cooked and pretentious breakfast. Although the Sunday jazz was pleasant. My husband's burger was decent for a pre-made patty. My minuscule meal of two basically raw eggs over a few sprigs of asparagus was not appetizing and left me hungry within an hour. We came for the Sunday jazz brunch so can't speak for the hotel accommodations. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Sadly, the restaurant at the Inn has really lost its way-Maine doesn't need to compete with the Hamptons.

Stayed: July 2014
25  Thank Ashmac1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have been coming out to Chebeague Island for many years for a day of relaxing and biking around the island. We have always wanted to stay at Chebeague Island Inn so had the opportunity for 2 nights - June 23 -25. Our room was an ocean view with private bath..comfortable but small..linens and towels were wonderful..but no additional amenities that are expected for the price of the room ( no A/C at all ..so hope it stays cool !)
Plastic glasses ..really should be glass at $330+ per night. If we wanted ice it was $5.00..This is just not acceptable. .staff friendly enough but not the attention to detail expected from what they are asking for their room rates. I had called the day prior as requested to advise of which ferry we would be arriving on. We had two bikes and two small bags..my husband was just recovering from ankle surgery..but no one there to meet us..I called and finally someone came to pick me up ( my husband was impatient and rode his bike to the inn)
Dinner- the food and presentation was very good but WAY over priced and selections just not want guests want when coming to Maine..we get away to a place such as Chebeague to feel we are in Maine and not Boston or New York..Please offer Maine cuisine at reasonable prices! I will say that all of our meals were very good ..The chef is exceptional but they need to re look at their menu offerings. Staff does the best they can ..service was very slow..heard wait staff apologize numerous times at dinner. .not sure what the issue was..also please bring back the linen table cloths! The stone tables give a COLD feeling and make for alot of noise.
Breakfast..took OVER an hour and coffee should be constantly being refilled..had to ask every time ..also side note..a top notch Inn would offer tea/coffee/water..around the clock complimentary to its guests. .
Not charge $3.50 for a cup of coffee every time.
We also had to make a mad dash to catch our return ferry as the shuttle never came back in time. No apologies from staff..
I truly love this island and the inn is beautiful with so much potential. .but they have alot to work on. For the rates they are asking guests to pay they really need to work on their service..many times the wait staff were overwhelmed yet there were other staff just standing around..for a small Inn to succeed. ..Every one needs to chip in .. on a positive note all of the employees we ran into were friendly ... ( most are from Jamaica and Romania)
This is a beautiful Inn and many renovations have been done..now they just need to work on the fine details if they want repeat guests and those of us to recommend.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
12  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

What a beautiful island! The Chebeague Island Inn is simply charming with lovely grounds. The rooms are as expected (small and cozy), given the age of the inn. The service, however, was very disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

On this island, everyone says "hi" to everyone, small, nothing to do and really nowhere to go, nothing to see. Pick up from the ferry by a dusty van. Enjoyed the hotel, a classic 1900 structure, timber, decent rooms, spacious bathrooms, well kept. Especially nice the one evening when we were the only guests in the restaurant (and probably the hotel, although the staff wouldn't admit that). Good variety of US wines, had a good Oregon pinot noir, the menus are good, excellent chef who deals professionally with any last minute obstacles such as allergies.
You must enjoy a glass of white and a few oysters on sunny evening on large the porch: spectacular! Try to sit through the sunset.
Staff is mostly young, refreshingly helpful. And of one the more senior waitresses remembered her grandpa shooting it out against Annie Oakley.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice: it is a old house with a beautiful view on the ocean and a spectacular porch where you can enjoy the terrific sunset! Only the rooms are a bit small. People are very friendly and take care of the guests. The restaurant is nice and the food is good. They pay attention to all your requests and do their best to make you happy. The island is very quiet and besides playing golf or walking aroun there is nothing else to do. So if you want to escape this is the right place.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Floc77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews