We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but very quiet and a very white room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chebeague Island Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Kennebunkport,Maine
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice, but very quiet and a very white room”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

As we booked over the phone the person was nice and did allow us to max out the room and bring a therm-a-rest for one person. We took the Casco Bay ferry to the island, once we got there the shuttle to the inn was not there. A fisherman told us that they were supposed to be there whenever the ferry got there but they never are. We called the inn and they got there within 15-20 minutes. When we got there I found out that the main entrance was around the hotel and we were using the back door. Where the shuttle pulls up is really a back door and the main door is on a path on the other side. It did not make a good first impression for me as I have been to many hotels. They let us check in at 11:00 AM which was nice. We had the 2 room suite and it really was just a room with a smaller room attached. Everything in the room was white and I mean EVERYTHING except 3 things, a table and 2 closets were the only non-white things. I found it very odd. They did have games in the lobby and that was nice because we were there on a rainy week. It was nice to have turn down service. In the other room the set up was a person on the day bed, me on the pull out trundle bed in the middle and a person on the therm-a-rest. The wheels on trundle bed I was sleeping on were NOT LOCKED and I ended up rolling over the person sleeping on the thermarest 3 times. Everyone was okay. This hotel has the best afternoon cookies. (I had to say that) Our waitress was very quiet and all business and seemed to want us out of the restaurant although there were only 2 other people eating. There were some kids playing a game outside that afternoon and they were out playing at 3 AM! Look out for that if you are in room 302. Overall the inn was nice and I would return. It is a real taste of Maine. There are no TV`S and Wi-Fi only in the lobby. No phones. A good place if you want to spend quality time with your family. There is a golf course and a beach in walking distance. Also, there is a door to the hallway is the smaller room that would not lock.

Room Tip: the third floor has private bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    33
    14
    12
    10
See reviews for
22
61
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is an Inn where you need to set your expectations. The location is great, with views onto the Casco Bay and other islands (a dis-used power plant stack is in the distance). The Inn is well maintained, public rooms have a Maine lodge feel and the large front porch is wonderful. The Inn was re-built in 1920, a different era of lodging, thus rooms are on the small side. We had an ocean view with a shared bath at somewhat less cost than a room with en suite bath. Don't be too concerned about a shared bath, as there is one for men and one for ladies with private water closets and a shower that was fine. Only a few rooms use those baths and there is a sink in the room. Very clean and lots of towels. The Inn is pricey, no doubt. It is a short season in Maine, its on an island and every thing needs to be brought over by boat and it is a unique location. For dinner at the Inn the food was acceptably prepared but we found the service lacking and inattentive. Breakfast was described as "gourmet" which it certainly was not though it was a prepared to order breakfast. Throughout the stay service varied, sometimes good, sometimes it felt disorganized. Chebeague is a low key, island experience. You will feel like you have "gotten away" after a day or two at this Inn.

Room Tip: Ocean View with shared bath is the best value. Plan on spending most of the time in the public spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller40827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Charming Inn as far as decor is concerned but food very overpriced and Very ordinary for a 300.00$ a night Inn!! If you don't know how to cook the french dish "steak frites", don't serve it !
All it was , a huge serving of fries with a cole of pieces of roastbeef at 23.00$ ! And young staff should better inform guests about dinner reservations on sunday night; if you don't serve dinner on sunday, don't let guests make a reservation !! Again, way overpriced for food and service quality, better take a boat and eat in one of the Very good restaurants in Portland!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Lucie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Chebeague is a beautiful island. No question about it. The views from the inn are world class. However, the ownership and service LACKS class.
Recently at the inn for a wedding and have nothing good to say Bout the owners and staff.
Guests were told that the rooms would be ready at 3 and were not ready until 7pm or later with no excuse or apology. Not even a complimentary drink or food.
I witnessed the staff mocking the guests and even the bride and groom. Horrific behavior that didnt go unnoticed by the bride and groom who spent an enormous amount of money and time for their special day.
The wedding food was mediocre at best. My salmon was woefully over cooked with skimpy sides that were only memorable for being unmemorable. My husband's steak was chewy and also cold.
Drinks were ridiculously overpriced. Not to mention that items showed up on our bill (and I understand the bride and groom's bill) that were not ordered.
Shameful.
If and when we return to the island, we will rent a house and take care of ourselves. What a shame. A beautiful weekend ruined by terrible service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank TheZsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A stay at The Chebeague Island Inn is the quintessential Maine island experience.
From the ferry ride over to the lovely rooms, thoughtful service and wonderful dinning-
our stay was delightful for each member of our family of 8. We were impressed by the hospitality of the Prentiss family and found staying at the inn the perfect way to experience the pleasures
of Chebeague. As winter approaches, we are longing for a chair on the porch overlooking the harbor and of course, a good book and perhaps a glass of wine!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank roberto08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband planned this overnight for my birthday. Ive stayed at the Inn once before and wanted to share it with him. Its a charming place to stay. There were flowers in the room when we arrived! The staff is very accommodating. The rooms are white, clean and comfortable. The front porch has amazing view of the ocean. Its a wonderful place to sit back and relax. The food is wonderful. We took a couple bikes out for a spin and rode around the island like little kids. And he fire place is so cozy! I cant say enough. Not to mention the fun trip over on the ferry. What a treat to be able to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

First, it was beautiful. You can only get to the island via people ferry, which was charming and fun. The rooms were tiny, itty bitty. Had an Ocean View room with private bath, which was misleading. The Ocean View is on the front side of the hotel, in the corner, which means if you look out of the last window and peer all the way around the side of the hotel you can sort of see a glimpse of the ocean. Paid extra for this, and did not see the point at all. On the plus side, they did reduce the rate to that of a normal room. Don't fall for this trick. Just pay for a normal room, the view is identical. In any other place, you would pay 1/3 to 1/2 for what you get in this hotel, it is way overpriced. Our room was around $400 for nothing but a bed and a stiff chair. There are zero amenities, no televisions in the rooms, and there is literally nothing to do on the island. There is no beach accessible or clean enough to swim in, or even to lay out on the sand. No parks to visit, no sailboats to rent, nothing. All we could figure is that people came here with their friends, as a getaway, to hang out and socialize in the living room downstairs. That's all it was -- friend couples hanging out and drinking in the living room downstairs. There is no store on the island except a tiny convenience store that sells basically nothing of use. The hotel's restaurant has very, very limited options, and what they offered wasn't quality by any means. The staff was quite condescending, making it clear we didn't belong there. It was a very uncomfortable vacation. Not sure what the draw here is, except total seclusion and separation from the real world at a heavy price.

Room Tip: Do not pay more for Ocean View, it is a trick. The Ocean View room is not facing the ocean, it is f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank MarieKremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chebeague Island
10.1 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
10.5 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
935 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
12.1 mi away
Sebasco Harbor Resort
Sebasco Harbor Resort
#1 of 1 in Sebasco Estates
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chebeague Island Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chebeague Island Inn

Property: Chebeague Island Inn
Address: 61 South Rd, Chebeague Island, ME 04017
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Chebeague Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Chebeague Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chebeague Island Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chebeague (pron: shuh-Beeg) is one of Maine's most beautiful islands, currently home to 400 year-round residents, many whose families have been here for generations and many summer families. One of the few remaining inns that once dotted the coast and played an important part in Maine summers, Chebeague Island Inn has been thoughtfully restored to recapture its classic beauty and special place in the island community. Originally built in the 1880s, Chebeague Island Inn has been a landmark and destination for well over 100 years. Just 1.5 hours north of Boston and 25 minutes from the Portland International Jetport, getting to Chebeague Island Inn is easy; and once here you'll feel like you're a million miles away. Dining at Chebeague Island Inn is its own unique and memorable experience, marked by exquisite cuisine, delicious drinks and impeccable service. Featuring seasonal, local ingredients served in creative ways that enable the natural flavors to shine, there's sure to be a dish for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chebeague Island Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chebeague Island Hotel Chebeague Island
Chebeague Island Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing