We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay and good dinner”
Review of Pentagoet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pentagoet Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Castine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We had three adults, so the only room we were able to stay in was 1C in the Perkins House (a two room suite) next door to the main inn. Two of us shared the king bed and one slept in the day bed. It was a comfortable place to stay and the owners were very friendly. This was the most expensive place we stayed on our trip to Maine, but it was a splurge for my mom's 75th birthday. We had hors d'oeuvres in the pub and a nice birthday dinner in the dining room. This place wasn't quite as upscale and fancy as I expected, but comfortable and inviting.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krblamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Pentagoet Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 552 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Pentagoet in mid October. Castine
Is a quaint coastal town 17 miles south of Rt 1. Try to arrive before dark!!
Jack and Julie run a wonderful B and B. Our room was delightful, spacious
with a great king size bed. The breakfast was delicious. Jack is available each
morning to assist with planning sightseeing outings. We live in Kansas, so our
trips to ME are always a treat! We recommend staying at the Pentagoet .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Retha202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Everything at Pentagoet was great--room was comfortable, breakfast was fantastic! We enjoyed taking the free bikes for an afternoon spin. Castine is the quietest place i have been in a long time--no freeway or aircraft noise to spoil the ambient environment. We enjoyed watching the Maine Marine Academy students running around town and around the harbor.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Pentagoet in Castine Maine in early October. It is a beautiful, classic New England Inn. Its location is perfectly situated right in the village. The room was clean and well appointed. The menu options for breakfast and dinner were varied and of high quality, along with excellent service. The lounge/bar area is a very interesting room with many pictures of historic figures on the walls. The entire staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful with suggestions and information.

For golfers the Inn is located about two blocks from the historic Castine Golf course, established in the 1890's.

We highly recommend Castine and the Pentagoet to travelers interested in experiencing the best of the Maine coast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Pentagoet Inn for 2 nights during our trip in Maine. Jack and Julie are wonderful, interesting and energetic hosts. Dinner at their restaurant is a treat. We ate in the "pub" which was cozy, artistic and a lot of fun. There is lots to look at on the walls which represent Jacks extensive travels and it's even more enjoyable to discuss all of this with Jack. But the food is what is outstanding here. Fresh ingredients combined to make our entrees truly delicious. Wonderful drinks from the bar and yummy desserts topped off a most memorable dining experience.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Inn was very nice. Decorated with antiques and old prints. Our room was quaint and the bed very comfortable. The food was very good — the breakfast was wonderful. We met the owners and they were warm and engaging. They really pay attention to detail. A very pleasant stay. I would recommend The Pentagoet Inn to anyone. Castine is a lovely little coastal town. A little out of the way but, worth it. We’ll be back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJOKdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you're looking for story-book Maine, Castine is your kind of place. You can count on quality at this inn. This was my second year in a row to stay here. The room, service and food were top-notch. If you're willing to drive the few extra miles off of the beaten path, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 284TravelingMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castine
9.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
8.9 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.8 mi away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
22.5 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
1,338 reviews
7.5 mi away
Homeport Inn
Homeport Inn
#2 of 4 in Searsport
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentagoet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentagoet Inn

Address: 26 Main St, PO Box 4, Castine, ME 04421-3009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Castine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castine
Price Range: $173 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pentagoet Inn, a charming Queen Anne Victorian hotel offering gracious hospitality, lodging and fine dining. The inn overlooks the village and harbor of Castine, Maine, centrally located to both Camden and Bar Harbor. Let our personal concierge help you plan your hiking, biking, sailing and kayaking adventures.• Complimentary Country Breakfast, Afternoon Refreshments & Evening Hors d'oeuvres• Acclaimed Farm to Table Restaurant• Fascinating Old World PubBeautiful, historic Castine, Maine; your base to discover Camden, Bar Harbor, and the neighboring Blue Hill peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pentagoet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentagoet Hotel Castine
Pentagoet Inn Castine, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing