We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Quiet B&B”
Review of Pentagoet Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pentagoet Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Castine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2013

First trip to Maine and the downeast coast. We stayed two nights at the Pentagoet Inn and it was beyond our expectations. The Inn is a beautiful building with wonderful character and centrally located to the small town of Castine. The Innkeepers are fantastic and entertaining with a great staff; the restaurant is very good with a nice wine selection. The centerpiece of the Inn is the Library / Bar that is covered in fantastic pictures from around the world collected by Jack himself. Wonderful irony and history in the choice of pictures with a story behind each one. Jack has a wonderful sense of humor and good knowledge of the local area for sights and dining. We enojyed our stay and highly recommend this Inn as a relaxing location for a vacation.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main Inn; we stayed in both the Inn and the house next door. The Inn has real ch...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
There are newer reviews for Pentagoet Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 552 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

We loved this little fishing village. The home is so comfortable and the location is just right there where everything is located. The attention to hospitality is wonderful. The whole staff goes out of their way to give you a great experience. Be aware that if you are a TV junkie you are in trouble because there isn't one in the house. There also is no air conditioning so plan your trips when the evenings are cool and the wonderful bedding they provide is greatly appreciated. Breakfast is a treat of the senses served by a sweet lady from Jamaica. Dinner is by reservation with a great menu displayed each day. Take walks through the quaint village and its old cemetery. Enjoy watching the Maritime Academy students going to and from the pier and be sure to walk their lovely campus. The Inn has a room in the main house that is dedicated to being "the pub" for socializing with fellow visitors and decorated with loads of travel pictures and books from all over the world. If you come to take day trips, Julie and Jack will loan your their map and chart you a course to where ever you want to go.This is a great home base because their are no cruise ships landing so you can come back to a quiet little spot each night. If you need peace to relax, then this is it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heyjudelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My partner and I just spent a long weekend at The Pentagoet Inn. We were immediately greeted by the innkeepers upon our arrival. Julie and Jack could not have been more accommodating. We were promptly escorted to our meticulously appointed room that was stocked with all the fine amenities of a top notch Inn. Julie and Jack guided us to a most spectacular weekend in Castine. We cannot say enough about this Inn. The Pentagoets' over-the-top breakfast, 5-star restaurant, and superb staff made our stay truly memorable. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My wife and I decided to spend our first anniversary in the small historic port town of Castine, Maine. I had spent many summers there growing up and wanted to share these experiences with my wife who had never been to Maine or Castine.

I knew of the Pentagoet Inn from its restaurant which I had been to many times over the years. It is fabulous! I had never stayed there though and was excited to after I had booked our trip.

The Inn was very clean and organized. The staff was attentive and knowledgeable. The owners were always available and enjoyed helping their patrons. Every detail was taken care of for us.

Outside of the advertised amenities: Free Wi-Fi (which worked very well); Free Coffee and Country Breakfast (Delicious and plentiful); Free Bikes (which we sadly did not get a chance to use) and everything else it offers, the real gift is the delightful and engaging attitude that the owners and staff should to their guests. They made us feel like we were at home.

We were very fortunate in that we were upgraded during our stay. We went from our cozy room on the top floor of the Inn to their adjacent house on Perkins Street. Our new room was beautiful, comfortable and homey.

Everyone at the Pentagoet Inn and Restaurant was wonderful and made our anniversary trip up North both memorable and special.

I absolutely recommended the Pentagoet Inn. We are already planning our return visit!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Planned a six night stay at this lovely inn in this charming town. Stayed in room 4C, in the adjacent building next to the Inn. Won't repeat all the accurate positive reviews word for word, except to echo previous reviewers' comments about the tasteful decor, luxury beddings, comfy bed, intriguing pub, and good food (we ate dinner here three out of six nights). We lucked out and arrived on a Tuesday evening when there was live jazz on the wrap around porch before dinner... nice way to begin our visit. Several mornings we relaxed on the porch after breakfast to enjoy reading in the morning sunshine.
Jack, our host, added flavor and intrigue to our stay, along with providing thoughtful suggestions for places to go and routes to get there.
Don't hesitate to visit this great inn, and to explore all the Blue Hills Peninsula has to offer. PS take a tour of the Marine Academy ship if it is in the harbor while school is out.

Room Tip: We liked 4C in the house next door with windows facing front and side, and its peek of the water fro...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Recently we were staying at a B&B in maine and we mentioned to some of the people were having breakfast with that we were heading to bar harbor. They suggested we might like Castine, Maine which is a lovely town. On our way to Bar Harbor we went through Castine and knew we had to return. After we left Bar Harbor we went back to Castine and found the most wonderful inn in Castine - The Pentagoet Inn. It is a lovely Victorian house with beautifully decorated rooms. We had a light dinner in the tavern in the inn. It was a very busy night and we did not have a reservation but the staff set up a very cozy table for two in the tavern. The food was delicious and the service was wonderful. We later met Jack the innkeeper who is a very colorful, knowledgeable man who has a fantastic personality and great stories. We will definitely go back to the Pentagoet Inn.

Stayed: August 2013
1  Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent 2 nights here on our way to Acadia National Park. The inn was spotlessly clean, the room was large enough for the two of us and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was very good, the addition of the several hot items that you could order was a nice change from the usual buffet. Castine itself was a neat little town, lots of things to see and very walkable. As everyone comments, Jack is quite a character, fun to talk to and a great host.

Room Tip: Just call and talk to Jack, tell him what you are looking for and he will put you in the best room f...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castine
9.3 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge
8.9 mi away
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village
0.8 mi away
The Manor Inn
The Manor Inn
#3 of 3 in Castine
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
22.5 mi away
Ledges By the Bay
Ledges By the Bay
#3 of 10 in Rockport
1,339 reviews
7.5 mi away
Homeport Inn
Homeport Inn
#2 of 4 in Searsport
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentagoet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentagoet Inn

Address: 26 Main St, PO Box 4, Castine, ME 04421-3009
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Castine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Castine
Price Range: $173 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pentagoet Inn, a charming Queen Anne Victorian hotel offering gracious hospitality, lodging and fine dining. The inn overlooks the village and harbor of Castine, Maine, centrally located to both Camden and Bar Harbor. Let our personal concierge help you plan your hiking, biking, sailing and kayaking adventures.• Complimentary Country Breakfast, Afternoon Refreshments & Evening Hors d'oeuvres• Acclaimed Farm to Table Restaurant• Fascinating Old World PubBeautiful, historic Castine, Maine; your base to discover Camden, Bar Harbor, and the neighboring Blue Hill peninsula. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Pentagoet Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentagoet Hotel Castine
Pentagoet Inn Castine, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing