We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crowded because it is great.”
Review of Stella's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stella's
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
North Brooksville, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Crowded because it is great.”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice dining room. Very friendly staff and great food. Small but worth finding.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    7
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
reykjavik
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious and overpriced.”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Only game in town, at Castine prices. Tasty baked goods and viable sandwiches, but budgeted for Summah Pipple with money to spare. Oh well; we all have to make a living and Castine ain't a cheap place in which to do so.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Opscoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A treasure to seek!”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The food, drink and company is outstanding. The presentation of the food was superior, as well as the flavor. Service was well organized and friendly. This lovely little spot tucked into Water St is an absolute treasurer that no one should miss out on. The staff and owner are very welcoming. I am looking forward to visiting there again this summer!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chauffeur127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A bright spot on a rainy day—despite a power failure”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

After a long drive during torrential downpours, we finally arrived in Castine hungry and hopeful of a good dining experience within walking distance of the Castine Inn. Stella's was the perfect choice. Despite the fact that the village lost power just as we walked in the door, Stella's provided a superb meal, a nice selection of wines by the glass as well as by the bottle, generous portions and good service. The menu changes daily, but everything we tried was wonderful. We'll definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cavaliermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stella's has it all: Great food, cozy atmosphere, attentive staff and cool bar complete with brick oven. We ate at the bar; the bartender was there just when we needed him and out of way when we didn't. We got to chatting with a woman sitting in the next seat. The whole night was wonderful. We felt fulfilled and refreshed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe4579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella's also viewed

Castine, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Castine, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Castine, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Castine, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing