We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castine Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Colonial Gables Oceanfront Village(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seascape Motel and Cottages(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$94
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Gull Motel(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$89
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fireside Inn & Suites Ocean's Edge(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Barncastle Hotel + Restaurant(Blue Hill)(Great Value!)
$148
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yankee Clipper Motel(Belfast)(Great Value!)
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Point Lookout(Northport)(Great Value!)
$152
$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fort Knox Inn(Bucksport)(Great Value!)
$135
$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ducktrap Motel(Lincolnville)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (125)
Filter reviews
125 results
Traveler rating
81
29
8
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
29
8
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesfront porchfrench toastmaine maritime academyhomemade cranberrynew england villagesmall townbeautiful towna special placevisiting familydelicious breakfastone night staycommon areaswaterfrontmaryambershelly
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 125 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is more small boutique hotel than bed and breakfast. There are something like 26 rooms in the inn, and the breakfast set up didn't really encourage chats with the other guests as you would see in a smaller B&B. But it did have a nice charm to it, and it is a good choice in Castine. The room was very clean (but on the smaller side), and the bed was very comfortable (including nice sheets and comforter). Service was excellent. But the bathroom towels were more budget hotel quality than B&B quality, and the breakfasts were good, but nothing memorable. The lovely part of the inn is its location, its gardens, its wrap around porch, its small cozy bar, and the graciousness of the manager who served as both bartender and check in host. Overall, our experience there was very nice -- just a different experience from the small B&Bs we had stayed in in other coastal Maine towns.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SDUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

If the inn wasn't right in the village of Castine, I'd probably say it was too expensive, but its location and charm count for a lot. The room was simple and comfortable, if small; the breakfast good, even though only two choices were offered and nothing was unique. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. We loved being able to walk to restaurants and throughout the village.

Room Tip: I believe the rooms on the front are more, but I'm not sure they're worth it. Better to plan to spend some time on the wraparound porch that overlooks the gardens and street.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavaliermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This is not a boutique hotel
It is a totally charming old fashioned hotel with lovely gardens...beautiful wrap around porch.....perfect cozy tiny bar....the most beautiful breakfast room in Maine. A large room with windows to the garden and charming primitive murals on the walls with scenes of Castine. Other reviews detail the perfect breakfast.

Get a room with a view of the water that's why you are here!
Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms...very nicely done...understated and tasteful.

Yes....on the third floor hallways the floors and walls are a bit uneven but all the more character.

All the staff were friendly and incredibly helpful .....which included mailing us our windbreakersthat we left in the closet.
Mary at the front desk couldn't have been more helpful ..."the post office is just next door and I fit it all in a flat shipping box".


The Castine Inn is a charming comfortable perfectly located small hotel...it is not luxurious but it is a delight.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laughingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

We have been visiting Castine Maine for several years now to see our son at the Maine Maritime Academy, opting to stay in Bucksport, what a mistake with the Castine Inn available right in the center of town!!! From our arrival Saturday night, through our departure Monday morning, we were treated to true hospitality and comfort. The location on Main Street is only two blocks from the Harbor, and about three blocks from the college. The staff at the front desk made numerous calls to local restaurants and services when we made inquiries about possible dining or activities. The room was a 2 room suite that accommadated our travel this weekend with my father-in-law, allowing us to stay together with plenty of privacy at a great price. Breakfast was included, which each day included fresh scones, juice, and choices that included poached eggs or real Maine blueberry pancakes, or the second day, bacon kitsch or french toast. I would recommend the Castine Inn to everybody wanting to feel at home in Castine. ( the Inn is open from MMA Graduation weekend - early May to early October)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPSteitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

Indifferent service, maintenance, cleanliness, facilities, especially compared with the inn across the road. There doesn't seem to have been much effort or concern put into providing a comfortable vacation experience or making a guest want to return.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rovinglawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews