We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might have just been the room I had”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caribou Inn & Convention Center
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caribou
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Might have just been the room I had”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I wanted to like this place. I really, really did.
I hadn't been to Northern Maine in years, and this place is one of the better ones to stay in, as I understand. The room was spotless, and the extra sink and mini fridge were handy.
But the really hard bed, and the room with the french doors that opened on to the pool... if I'd had a room that didn't open on to the pool (and a different bed) it'd have been fine.
The staff was very friendly, and breakfast at the restaurant was pretty good. I hear the brunch is one of the best in the area. Location is convenient, and there's plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't open on to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rrruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    29
    10
    17
    6
See reviews for
29
18
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was a spontaneous trip I took to Caribou. I arrived at the Caribou Motor Inn. The hotel clerk was very friendly and gave me a nice room. Service was prompt.

The location is visible when you come into Caribou. Very easy to find. The hotel had all the amenities that I needed and more. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and quiet. There is a nice indoor swimming pool. The room the pool is in is very large.

There is a restaurant attached. I was given a discount on my breakfast, which was very tasty. I only ate dinner their the first night and I was not pleased with my selection. Not sure what the other meals were like, so I can not fairly rate it. The dining room staff was very friendly, the service very good and the it was clean.

I would highly recommend the Caribou Motor Inn.

Room Tip: The rooms located in the pool area are very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsjones2756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockland maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I made my reservation by telephone. I told the clerk it was for two. When I arrived we checked in prior to attending a family function. They had us down for only one person. I corrected them and they provided a breakfast card for two and two keys. We then went to our event. We arrived back at the hotel late. We went to our room and were dismayed with the slightly larger than a twin bed. It was late. We were tired and did not want to have to change rooms so we made do. It was not comfortable. I have written them twice to complain, letting them know that the clerk should have been aware that this room was a room for one person not two. I have not heard back from them at all.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jpf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were up to visit family and needed a place to stay, there aren't too many options in Caribou but we were pleased with our choice the hotel needs updating but that said the room was large and everything was in good working order. We enjoyed our stay and had breakfast both mornings at the restaurant on site which was good and reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Squire43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The room was very clean and big, wet bar and refrig great, front desk staff very helpful, meals were exceptional and the discount made them even better. Dining room staff was cheerful and helpful. Breakfast coupon provided ample selections or could be used against cost of other items on menu. We especially liked the fitness center, pool and hot tub. All in all, it was a very good experience staying at the Caribou Inn and Convention Center.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chippie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This hotel is old and outdated but spotlessly clean. The staff - front desk, restaurant, house keeping - all of them are great. The gym is great, although if you have a room above that section of the hotel, the music can get turned up a little loud and be a bit of a disturbance. The swimming pool is fantastic; unfortunately - and this is the only negative thing I have to say about this hotel - the pool is also freezing. They say the pipes had to be bled ... they say the oil ran out ... they write on the board that it's 81 degrees in there, which is a complete lie unfortunately. The locals will tell you that the pool is, always was, and always will be cold. Despite this I would return here, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Came up for the weekend to go snowmobiling with some friends. The hotel was very clean and convenient to the trails we wanted to ride. We stayed there two days and had breakfast and dinner both days. The food was great and the service was very friendly at the restaurant. My husband and I didn't use the pool but our friends and their son enjoyed it both days along with the hot tub and exercise room. We were too tired after riding to venture in to the bar, but it looked fun. Next time we will definitely stop in to have a drink. I would definitely recommend this hotel when coming to Northern Maine any time of the year. Can't wait for next season.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cfowlerSanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caribou
8.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
Hampton Inn Presque Isle
#1 of 5 in Presque Isle
512 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aroostook Hospitality Inn
10.2 mi away
Presque Isle Inn & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand-Sault Hotel & Suites
20.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#4 of 4 in Grand Falls
122 reviews
4.0 mi away
Crown Park Inn
Crown Park Inn
#2 of 2 in Caribou
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribou Inn & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribou Inn & Convention Center

Property: Caribou Inn & Convention Center
Address: 19 Main St, cnr US Rt 1 & 164, Caribou, ME 04736-4159
Location: United States > Maine > Caribou
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Caribou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribou Inn & Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full-Service Hotel & Convention Center offers 73 newly appointed and furnished spacious and comfortable guest rooms, two-room extended-stay suites. Indoor Heated Pool & Hot Tub. 12,000 sq' state of the art fitness & wellness center. Restaurant and lounge. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Caribou Inn & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribou Inn & Convention Center Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing