We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing spot for on site or takeout !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Porpoise Kitchen

Cape Porpoise Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Amazing spot for on site or takeout !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Ordered about 8 different types of salads, all better than the next one and then discovered the sweets ! A-ma-zing !!! Excellent service the girls serving is were lovely and helpful. Coming back soon !!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimbo991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    33
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Sandwiches, great soup, great bakery!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were on the run and had to eat quickly. This is a comfortable friendly place with homemade sandwiches etc. You can take out or eat it, but I would not miss it. Some of the best sandwiches we have ever had. Very friendly!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Mills, Maine
Level Contributor
100 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“just "average"...but they have a great location (i.e., no competition)”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

We stopped in after driving around the Kennebunk area. With two young children who were getting hungrier by the minute, we spotted this--kind of hard not to miss; it was the only food establishment in its immediate area. Very cute decor when you walk in. The food display fridge is prominently displayed as you walk in and the choices looked very tasty. We looked up at the sandwich board to see what other choices were available. I chose a simple egg salad and my husband chose a turkey club. We got our kids the chilled mac & cheese. The egg salad was just "good". I tried my husband's sandwich--it was good, but I was disappointed that they chose to go with "deli sliced" turkey, rather than roast turkey pieces straight from the bird. The mac & cheese was good (made with goat cheese)...but all in all everything was just "average". Nothing WOWed us. I found the pricing to be a bit steep. For 2 sandwiches, a little less than 1/2 # of mac & cheese, 2 bags of chips, and 4 drinks the bill came to $36.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank acchapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A terrible choice all the way around”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here today. The entire experience was dismal. The flow of the store is confusing and congested. The people working were disinterested, moved at a snails pace and rude. The people making the food were clearly not concerned about the the number of customers waiting for orders and could have cared less. They were doing it at their speed, taking time to chat with each other, and glaring at anyone waiting who might catch their eye. I am local and will NEVER return to Cape Porpoise Kitchen. I hope the owner takes this seriously as they have a very serious problem. This could be a GREAT place. It needs to be reworked from A - Z.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sfamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe,Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Lobster Rolls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We were looking for Nunan's Lobster Hut for dinner that night and saw this kitchen. We decided to try it for lunch. After eating our lunch, we both have to say that this is one of the best Lobster rolls we have ate in Maine. They have a good menu of other foods to eat. I would recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gtgriffith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Porpoise Kitchen also viewed

 
Cape Porpoise, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
Kennebunkport, Kennebunks
 

Been to Cape Porpoise Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing