We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape Porpoise
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Cape Porpoise Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Porpoise
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little place”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here very much, the staff and owners were very friendly and happy to chat, which is especially welcome when travelling alone.

The motel itself seems fairly old, but is adequately equipped and the rooms are very clean, tidy and comfortable. The location is a little way off the main roads, so is nice and quiet, however as I was out-of-season, not much was available in the way of local ameneties, so I had to go to Wal-Mart.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
37
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Algarve
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

Quite a way from the I 95 and Kennybunkport.
Good size room with tea and coffee available and fridge, clean but very dated bath room
Within walking distance of good restaurants (good lobster) and convenience store
Good choice on breakfast buffet but very small space to eat but tray provided to take back to room

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandS60plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Just returned from a lovely long Columbus day weekend. We stayed at the Cape Porpoise motel, and were very pleased. This very special place reflects the sincerity and kindness of its owners. Upon arriving we immediately felt welcomed and at peace. This is a simple, quiet, and cozy motel with a twist.... The owners are very thoughtful, down to earth people that are just nice to keep company with. They do special little things for their guests, provide clean accommodations and delicious homemade breakfast in the morning! The location is amazing.
very short walking distance from a quaint grocery store, gourmet cafe, restaurants,(Lobster shack) library, art gallery and church thrift shop. very short drive to beautiful beaches, U.N.E, and Kennebunkport.
The kids are asking to back, and we will!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank El Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We chose this motel for a lower-cost option in Kennebunkport on the recommendation of more than one friend/family. Snagged the last room on Columbus Day weekend. CPM is a very nice, no frills place - neat as a pin, clean as a whistle, quaint, up to date but not "done" rooms, with yummy homemade breakfast treats and excellent coffee in the am-I like my coffee and this is good. The hosts seem to live in the main house and keep an eye on what's happening. One of their two dogs might pay you a polite visit if you sit on the chair outside your room, just to make sure you are cool.

The best think about this motel is it lacks the pretension of some other options in the Port. Who needs it every time you visit Kennebunkport? This place is across from Nunan's and a stone's throw from the amazing Cape Porpoise Kitchen - a gourmet prepared foods and wine shop. You can also walk to galleries (just a couple) and one of the prettiest views in Maine - Cape Porpoise itself! Really liked it and the setting is idyllic - quiet, beautiful, coastal Maine - ahh. Love it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

We stayed at the motel with 2 young children for one night as part of a tour round New England and were very pleased with the room. The motel is small, but conveniently located for the nearby Kennebunkport tourist attractions and there is a lobster shack right across the road serving superb food.

Room Tip: Two of the rooms have a double and a queen bed. Ideal if travelling with small children. Book ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ramses2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2011

The innkeeper, John, was a very accommodating host. His fresh baked goods available every morning were delicious. He was more than wiling to help with finding activities available, even loaning his Maine state map for me to use during our stay. Our room was clean and quaint, what we expected to find. The location was convenient and dramatically less expensive than other lodgings in Kennebunkport. We are already planning to return next fall.

Room Tip: We stayed in a kitchenette room. Would love to get the apartment next year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audiodude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

This is a delightful motel that offers all the basic amenities in a fresh and clean setting. The owners are warm and charming and are ready to help with any request. I was travelling alone, visiting my daughter who now lives nearby, and I enjoyed the quiet and privacy as well as it's close proximity to beaches, good restaurants and Kennebunkport. Excellent value, this motel is everything one should be.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delightedgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Porpoise
1.4 mi away
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
Lodge at Turbat's Creek
#4 of 5 in Kennebunkport
199 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
2.4 mi away
King's Port Inn
King's Port Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Colony Hotel
Colony Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kennebunkport
498 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#2 of 8 in Kennebunk
290 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cape Porpoise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Porpoise Motel

Property: The Cape Porpoise Motel
Address: 12 Mills Rd., PO Box 7218, Cape Porpoise, ME 04014
Location: United States > Maine > Kennebunks > Cape Porpoise
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Porpoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Cape Porpoise Hotel Cape Porpoise
The Hotel Cape Porpoise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing