We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Evening”
Review of Clay Hill Farm

Clay Hill Farm
Reserve with OpenTable
Clay Hill Farm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Cape Neddick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Clay Hill Farm is the first restaurant in the country to be certified as a wildlife habitat and bird sanctuary. Nature trails, colorful garden paths, waterfalls and a picture-perfect pond accentuate the eleven private acres just two miles from Ogunquit Village. Voted #1 for weddings and romantic dining. With a passion for backyard growing and locally-sourced fare, Clay Hill Farm is committed to offering the true Maine experience, yer 'round. Clay Hill Farm is also a proud corporate sponsor of the Ogunquit Playhouse, and offers it's own blend of experiential, theatrical dining in the off-season- rounding out a commitment to arts in the community. Theatrical Dining performances include; POE: Tales of Fear & Suspense (Oct/Nov), Dinner with Dickens: A Christmas Carol-A New Musical Tale (Dec) and Robert Frost: Fire & Ice (Jan).
Durham, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Pleasant Evening”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went early after being at the Playhouse and had a very pleasant evening. Service slightly slow but the food was well presented and the atmosphere lovely. Looking at the gardens most enjoyable. Our meal, some had lamb and some the duck, was very good. We all had a very good experience and would return again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Witch41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    89
    59
    18
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Neddick, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant experience!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My hubby and I recently dined at Clay Hill. We had 3 courses of which most was delightful. He had the Clam Chowder which he said was better than average. I had a spinach salad with cranberries and a maple vinaigrette dressing which made it delectable. For the main course I had the Atlantic Salmon which was very good and he had the coffee-rubbed game hen, again, very good. The veggies were decent ; the rice was nothing special but not bad. For dessert, I enjoyed the Amaretto cheescake and he, the brownie sundae. Our waitperson, Annemarie (?), was very attentive. Overall, a very positive experience. Also, enjoyed listening to Aaron on the piano.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clay Hill Farm Disappoints”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The atmosphere at Clay Hill Farm was very nice and we so looked forward to enjoying a wonderful meal.

The presentation of our entrees was very disappointing. Food was just "dumped" on the
plate like it was in a diner. I had the Day Haddock and it was very dry. When I looked for
our waiter to ask for a sauce he was nowhere to be seen and he never came over to see
how our meals were.

For the prices that are charged here we expected much more.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marilyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old & Tired”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Went to Clay Hill with friends for the first time in many years as we remembered it to be the place to go for good food in a beautiful setting. Our first clue that we made a bad choice was when we pulled in...as the property looked overgrown and in need of a good landscaper. Second clue was the inside. Nothing has changed in the years since we had last been there. What once seemed warm and inviting now looked tired and worn. It's time for a decorator. The food was the biggest problem however. The "farm to table" tomato artichoke soup was thick and spicy, but not in a good way and tasted more like tomato paste than fresh tomato. The salads were like something from a cheap diner. The prime rib lacked flavor and was served with barely warm, glue like mashed potatoes that also lacked flavor. This was accompanied by unexciting green beans that thankfully weren't over cooked. Worse than the boring prime rib was the Hake fish, which was rubbery and needed to be cut with a knife...not good when your fish requires a knife! It's time for a new chef and a menu overhaul. Overall it was a very disappointing and pricy meal and we will not be returning to Clay Hill Farm. If you're thinking of going I suggest you go elsewhere, this restaurant as it is today is simply not worth your time or money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AsISeeIt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayhillfarm, Owner at Clay Hill Farm, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We firmly believe that all feedback is helpful, and do strive for a 100% customer satisfaction, but we have to admit -it stings when our efforts to correct a dissatisfied customer’s concerns result in an online review like the one above. If a customer is not satisfied for any reason, we make every effort to correct their concern on the spot. We also have comment cards in every check that we monitor daily. Our corrective measures were clearly not enough in the situation above, and that is troubling.

We apologize for this guest’s disappointing experience at Clay Hill Farm, and want to respond not as an excuse, but rather an explanation. The daily feedback we’ve received from guests regarding food and ambiance has been nothing but positive, so these harsh words have taken us by surprise.

Clay Hill Farm is known for it’s natural beauty and garden surroundings, which are in full bloom right now. The grounds are meticulously cared for and groomed in a way that protects the integrity of our wildlife sanctuary. We are the first restaurant in the country to be certified as a wildlife habitat and bird sanctuary- showcasing the natural beauty of Maine is a part of our environmental commitment. Our nature trails and growing gardens reflect that passion.

Our interior is constantly updated, but in order to protect the comfortable charm we are known for, we don’t believe in unnecessary aesthetic overhauls . In the past few years, alone, we have replaced the carpets in all the dining rooms, repainted every dining room, replaced the glass overlooking the gardens, completely renovated the lounge including new carpet and furniture, replaced the roof, re-roofed the gazebo roof, painted the barn, re-carpeted the deck, replaced the walk-in, installed a generator, tripled the size of our growing gardens, rebuilt the back deck and converted the fireplace to gas to increase usability. We prefer that the restaurant retain the charm that guests’ remember- but, clearly, changes/updates have been made.

Many of our loyal customers remark time and time again that they love Clay Hill Farm to be the place they remember year after year- a timeless classic. It is impossible to be a reminiscent pleasure if you are constantly reinventing. We know who we are, what we stand for and what we do well. We are sorry the reviewer had a disappointing experience and feel we made every effort to correct it. We welcome constructive feedback, and are disheartened by the need to share destructive opinions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Superior cuisine and dining experience!”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Clay Hill Farm is an excellent choice for a fine dining experience in Cape Neddick. We had a party of seven for a 50th wedding anniversary dinner and were seating in the main fireplace room overlooking the bird sanctuary and gardens. The ambiance was cozy and a perfect location to enjoy the live piano. The food is exceptional!!!!! Everyone at our table was raving about their meals. The "award winning" lobster bisque is the absolute best and a must try if you visit Clay Hill Farm!!!!! The haddock and the chicken were also excellent choices. The food and all the ingredients are very fresh and I commend the chef for his/her ingenuity when creating each dish. Honestly, this was the best meal I've had in a very long time!!!!!! In addition to the superior food, the service is also excellent. It is evident that this restaurant cares about it's customers and it's reputation. I HIGHLY recommend having dinner at Clay Hill Farm if you are in the area!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherS913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clay Hill Farm also viewed

 

Been to Clay Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing