We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally nice.”
Review of Clay Hill Farm

Clay Hill Farm
Reserve with OpenTable
Clay Hill Farm is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Cape Neddick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $36
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: Clay Hill Farm is the first restaurant in the country to be certified as a wildlife habitat and bird sanctuary. Nature trails, colorful garden paths, waterfalls and a picture-perfect pond accentuate the eleven private acres just two miles from Ogunquit Village. Voted #1 for weddings and romantic dining. With a passion for backyard growing and locally-sourced fare, Clay Hill Farm is committed to offering the true Maine experience, yer 'round. Clay Hill Farm is also a proud corporate sponsor of the Ogunquit Playhouse, and offers it's own blend of experiential, theatrical dining in the off-season- rounding out a commitment to arts in the community. Theatrical Dining performances include; POE: Tales of Fear & Suspense (Oct/Nov), Dinner with Dickens: A Christmas Carol-A New Musical Tale (Dec) and Robert Frost: Fire & Ice (Jan).
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We visited Clay Hill Farms restaurant with a reservation for dinner back in the summer; and held a wedding for our daughter on October 5, 2012 at this beautiful establishment. The food is impecable, fresh, outstanding, and well presented. The staff is phenomenal. The grounds are gorgeous. We enjoyed the many birds and walking paths around the grounds immensely. This is definitely a must place for dinner while vacationing in Maine!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LARRY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (531)
There are newer reviews for Clay Hill Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 383 of 531 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

My husband and our best friend couple had our 1st trip to Clay Hill Farms last week for their new dinner theater series. The actor transformed himself into Edgar Allan Poe - and did a wonderful job keeping in character, reciting the poems and interacting with the guests. The food was great, the service as superb. The only thing I would recommend would be to try and set up the tables in such a way that nobody has their backs to the "show". We are excited to return for the next series of DIckens! And we also want to experience the regular dining room & menu as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mbvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayhillfarm, Owner at Clay Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your Clay Hill Farm experience with us. We have been so excited about the feedback or our new Clay Hill Farm Presents... series! Looking forward to seeing you at Dinner with Dickens...and maybe Frost after that?
With Gratitude,
-Clay Hill Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

A friend and I went to Clay Hill Farm this Halloween, 2012, after making reservations for an evening Edgar Allan Poe entertainment by a local actor. We were seated with other friendly people, some in costumes, and we were also in basic costumes, at a round table and everyone introduced themselves. I ordered a special fruity rum drink, which I enjoyed. The actor did a wonderful job. The waitresses were very good, getting orders quietly without disrupting the entertainment. I ordered the prime rib and it was delicious, cooked perfectly and very tender with mashed potatoes. I ordered a house merlot wine, which I enjoyed, and we split a chocolate hazlenut cheesecake. It was pricey but I really enjoyed the experience and would go again! It was my first time to ever go there...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kayakranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayhillfarm, Owner at Clay Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you so much for sharing your Clay Hill Farm experience with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the show! Clay Hill Farm Presents...is our new intimate dinner theatre series and you joined us for opening night. How lovely!! We are so excited about the series. Glad the food and service were to your liking. We love to hear that.

We were concerned to hear the word 'pricey' in your review as we priced the tickets at a reasonable $10 to purposely keep the costs down, and made the menu a la carte, so guests could choose one course or four. Our entrees start at $16, but there are some regular menu items on the menu as well, like the Prime Rib:)

We welcome your feedback, and are grateful you took the time to review. Thank you so much!
We do hope you will join us again, and we hope to see you at Dinner with Dickens, or a future Clay Hill Farm Presents... performance for another night of intimate theatre:)

Happy Holidays,
-Clay Hill Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

we a had a wonderful time on our anniversary dinner. Our server Lori was wonderful she was very knowlegeable about the restraurant history and the items on the menu which was both very helpful and entertaining. The food was deliciou. We will definately be be returning

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bryandy608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clayhillfarm, Owner at Clay Hill Farm, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review!! We are SO glad you enjoyed your Anniversary!! We take the special occasions in our guests' lives very much to heart, and it is a pleasure to serve you with the very best in food and service. We know you could have dined anywhere in the area, and you chose Clay Hill Farm. We are so honored!! Thank you for celebrating with us, we hope to see you again and again!!

Happy Holidays,
-Clay Hill Farm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My Husband and I went to Clay Hill expecting a delicious meal, what we received was a memorable experience with food that surpassed any expectations I had. The entire evening was magical. Our servers were very kind, not intrusive but checking in at key times to make sure we were satisfied. The food was wonderful, each course beautifully presented. I have eaten here for many years and am excited with many of the newer choices on the menu. I love going to Ogunquit and especially taking the time to have a meal at one of my FAVORITE RESTAURANTS in New England.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BarefootOGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clay Hill Farm also viewed

 

Been to Clay Hill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing