We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at Best”

Cape Neddick Lobster Pound
Ranked #4 of 15 Restaurants in Cape Neddick
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location is very nice and the view great. However, the food was just average. It was OK, but I would try other restaurants before returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whatupdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    104
    37
    38
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lynbrook, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“This Place Should Advertise!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I've been to York Beach quite a number of times over the past 10 years or so and I've driven by this place many times but was very nicely surprised to find such a nice comfortable place only a short drive from York Beach. Food was quite good, dining room and bar both very comfortable and the staff very nice.

Visit York Beach but dine at Cape Neddick LP!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pounded, Manager at Cape Neddick Lobster Pound, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for stopping in and taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your meal with us. Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Eat”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is an above average restaurant, that provides great service. There are several window seats that offer a view of the bay. The prices are reasonable and is a nice place for to eat lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanteMila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a waste of a great location”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Cape Neddick Lobster Pound has one of the best locations where the Cape Neddick River flows into the ocean. But the quality of the site is not in any way matched by the quality of the food. Nobody seems to care here about the food, the service, the cleanliness of the place. Everybody seems to be phoning in rather than taking pride in what they're doing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NGuilford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pounded, Manager at Cape Neddick Lobster Pound, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
I'm sorry you felt the experience was unsatisfactory, and it is our policy to try to address any complaints while the guest is dining so that we may immediately try to address the particular issue at hand. If you would like to contact me personally with a specific complaint, I will be happy to address your concerns, as myself and the staff do care about the food, restaurant and the guests that dine with us. I can be reached at thepound@capeneddick.com. Thank you in advance for taking the time. Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royalston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great out of the way Seafood Retaurant”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Recently stayed in York ME for a few days and was told that this restaurant was a great place to go. That was a very true recommendation.
Busy season but they got us right in. Waitress was a real person and a fantastic one to deal with. New the menu and took the time to speak to us and get to know us.
Had Seafood of course and it was fresh and fantastic. Drinks were great and the Blueberry Cobbler was a dream.
Just outside of York but if you want to get away from the crowd and have a very good meal this is the place to visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pounded, Manager at Cape Neddick Lobster Pound, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for the encouragment! Do you remember your server's name? I'd love to let her know you enjoyed the service. Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Neddick Lobster Pound also viewed

 

Been to Cape Neddick Lobster Pound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing