We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ordinary Fare”

Cape Neddick Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Cape Neddick Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Cape Neddick
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual dining in an historic restaurant and tavern. Lobster, steaks chef's specialties, seafood, American cusine
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Ordinary Fare”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Having dinner at Cape Neddick Inn is like eating in grandma's dining room; one wall has a big stone fireplace (the smell of ashes a bit off-putting on a rainy night in July), another wall has a hutch, and a third holds a bookcase. The menu is diverse and offers dishes that could be considered "old fashioned," chicken crusted in parmesan served with pasta and red sauce, for example. The rolls were the star of our meal; served warm with a generous sprinkling of salt on top, an offer of seconds was difficult to resist. The roasted golden beet salad was good, but overdressed, so be sure to ask for the dressing on the side. The spring salad was good as well, but again, overdressed. The fish chowder appetizer was very good and, unlike the meals to come, was properly seasoned. The somewhat bland, under-seasoned chicken and lobster saltimbocca was served over nicely seasoned garlic mashed potatoes with a side of perfectly sauteed baby spinach. The beef short ribs were dry and required a request for a side of au jus to help rectify the dryness; the spinach side with this dish was also perfectly seasoned, not over cooked, and delicious. The steak dish, too, suffered from under seasoning and was rather pedestrian. Eat in the quaint bar area, opt for wine, rolls, fish chowder and a side of sauteed spinach. Leave happy.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    66
    26
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Moultonboro
Level Contributor
109 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Worth a Route 1 Detour”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

An historic restaurant site, this remodeling was hugely successful.The food was superior, the service good.Creative combos (dried cherries,pears,pecans,golden beets, blueberries,pistachios) and new dressings (pomegranate -honey) lifted the fresh green to new levels.Pan roasted haddock,seared salmon accompanied by sweet potato and chorizo hash,grilled swordfish with parmesan risotto,new peas and swiss chard were prepared by an accomplished chef.Perfectly cooked. Beautifully presented.We'll make this a stop on any trip to Maine.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Poor customer service.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

This place needs to work on their customer service, from the wait staff to the owner. My father found a METAL BOLT in his (not inexpensive) entree. The server awkwardly apologized, but then... nothing. You would expect a manager to come to the table and offer you something, even just an apology - I've worked in food service, that's just what you do. The owner even walked by to adjust the window blinds behind our table and did not say anything, so we assumed he had not been informed. When we got the bill, a $7 salad had been comped even though the bolt had been in the $25 entree - when we inquired about it, the server replied "that's what my manager told me to do" and walked away. My father spoke with the owner on our way out and he had the audacity to say that they "don't have those kind of bolts in [their] kitchen", insinuating that we had perhaps planted the bolt there ourselves!?! We were not looking for a free meal, what we were expecting was decent customer service and a sincere apology - what we got was an accusation. The server could definitely use some proper training on how to handle a situation like this, which unfortunately is not uncommon, but the owner's response was appalling. Despite the "swordfish with metal bolt" - which was not on the menu - the food was actually quite good and was always reliable in the past. However, we will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a wonderfully comfortable place with delicious food. From the appetizers to desert you won't be disappointed. And in cooler climes, there's always a cozy fire to warm your bones.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Nice place”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very nice atmosphere and nice menu. Some interesting dishes that will ensure everyone can find something they like. Many of the dishes allow you to add a lobster tail or a baked stuffed shrimp. Our server brought us out two very nice and very hot sourdough rolls. They were served to us as opposed to being brought in a basket. Unfortunately we were not asked if we wanted another because they were that good! I first ordered the steamed mussels but they had just run out. My backup was a ceaser salad which was one of the best I have ever had. Home made dressing, nice crisp bacon pieces and delicious shaved parmesan. My wife ordered fish chowder and said it was delicious and packed with fish. I ordered Chicken Saltombucca for my entree. It was as described on a bed of mashed potatoes, prosciutto, swiss chard and mozzarella cheese. The chicken could have used a little more seasoning to give it more flavor but other than that it was great. My wife ordered the swordfish with risotto. She said the swordfish was perfectly prepared. Not overcooked. The risotto was creamy as it should be. We will definitely return on our next visit. The restaurant is open 24/7/365 too! Never closes.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Neddick Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cape Neddick Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing