We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must visit this place”

Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Dinner was excellent, salmon and the hanger steak. The service, excellent. The restrooms, spotless. In the past few years this restaurant and bar has been done over and the ocean view is great, they have added a fireplace and new dining room. Highly recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on Trip Advisor, Karen A. I am pleased to hear that you joined us and had an exceptional experience. I thank you for taking the time to come and visit us, especially in the winter. I do hope that you join us again soon. We have many different events/dinners happening in February and March. Carrie Dyer, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 239 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I recently had dinner at Sea Glass to celebrate our anniversary. It was a cold, rainy Saturday evening, but we received a warm welcome. Our reservation had been made via opentable.com and they had a nice window seat ready upon our arrival. Service was well paced and we were given time to peruse the menu over a glass of wine (an excellent wine list). We started by sharing mussels, which were small, good and tender in a well flavored broth. My wife had seen the Lobster and Seafood Pot Pie on the website and was glad that they had it on the menu this evening. It was as good as she had imagined it would be. I had the Gaucho Hanger Steak and Frites with a side of fried brussel sprouts. It was well prepared with excellent flavors. We were unsure what to share for desert, and our server recommended the peppermint ice cream sandwich. Great suggestion! All in all a very nice evening. Everything was perfect. And the prices were not too bad either for this caliber restaurant.

Thank cornbread35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Thank you, cornbread35, for your recent review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. It sounded as though you truly had a wonderful Anniversary experience with us at Sea Glass. I thank you for choosing to join us for your Anniversary. I hope that you decide to make it an annual event! Carrie Dyer, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

this was our second visit to Sea Glass and we were a little disappointed. Lobster bisque was excellent but stuffed lobster tail very disappointing. It contained little-if any lobster meat- mostly stuffing. The dessert-peanut butter gelato with chocolate cake was excellent. In addition, we did the wine flight which provided well-paired and excellent wines with each course. We were most disappointed in service. Our meals were $110 each yet our waiter acted as though he didn't want to be there and annoyed he had to serve us. We asked several times for different items which were never brought- we actually got up and got one of the things ourselves. Another time we asked one of the waitresses for help. Our water glasses were empty most of the meal- really disappointing since good service is a big part of a nice dinner experience ( especially since it was New Year's and a higher price than we usually pay for dinner). Next time we stay at the Inn by the Sea ( which we only have RAVE reviews for), we will definitely skip the restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank HB_and_CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear HB_and_CE, Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea. I am saddened to hear that our service was lacking for your New Years Eve dinner especially with this being your second experience with Sea Glass. I apologize that we have consistently not lived up to our standards for you. I look forward to welcoming you back to Inn by the Sea, and I hope that there is a future opportunity to welcome you back to Sea Glass. Carrie Dyer, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I highly recommend the Bison short ribs. Delicious. The hot chocolate cake with ice cream was incredible.

Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you for your recent review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor, Randy B. The Warm Callebout Chocolate Cake is a staple on our menu, for good reason! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed it during your visit with us. Our Pastry Chef is very creative and enjoys changing up the menu seasonally, however there is just something about a warm chocolate cake that is wonderful any time of year! Hope to see you join us again soon. Carrie Dyer, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great food and a great view! We would absolutely recommend to anyone looking for a classy, delicious meal.

Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

Thank you, Karen M for your recent TripAdvisor review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea. We are very lucky to have the location that we do. We are nestled in a beautiful hotel facing Crescent Beach. We could not have asked for a better location. We have passed along your comments to Chef and he is grateful! Thank you again for taking the time to come visit Cape Elizabeth and join us at Sea Glass! Carrie Dyer, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing