We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food with a sea view”

Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food with a sea view”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We dined in Sea Glass three times during our recent stay at Inn By the Sea: one dinner and two breakfasts. Everything we had was perfectly prepared and delicious. The views looking out over the snow and sea during our breakfasts were spectacular. We were there at a quiet time, so we got great attention from the not overly busy staff. They were friendly and accommodating. We appreciated the chef's use of local fare. Of course, in mid-winter that is more limited, but not at all impossible. This is a pricey restaurant, but we decided that this was a special occassion and went for it. It was worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Linda H., Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea. We are glad that you decided to take a chance on us and enjoyed your experience! Yes, we do source a locally as possible, and as you mentioned it is hard this time of year, but not impossible. We make sure that we update the menus to reflect what will be available to us and in season. Working with the Gulf of Maine Research Institute and the Out of the Blue program keep us up to date with the underutilized sea food that is in season, so we can stay local and help out the local fishing economy. We hope to see you again soon. Perhaps if you visit in the summer you could join us for one of our Garden Dinners, which focuses on Farm to Table with an outdoor garden table! Carrie Dyer, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    58
    35
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Vegetarian/vegan heaven”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I've complained about this restaurant in the past because they had few veggie options. Well, they listened. There's now a separate vegetarian/vegan menu and the options are excellent. All I can say is brava!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ronnie63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you ronnie63_11, for your latest review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. We did hear you, and are glad that you like our new menu! Chef will be doing a menu change in the next week or two and will be adding an additional item to our vegetarian menu. Chef has really been focusing on healthy options for our guests, along with keeping up with the trends in the food world. Carrie Dyer, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Dinner and Breakfasts - Wow”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Three of us enjoyed the weekend before Christmas 2012 at the Inn by the Sea. We had a Friday evening dinner and two breakfasts at the Sea Glass. Each was wonderful. Everything we ate was delicious. This is a $$$$ restaurant, but it's worth it. We came up from Boston, which has some pricey restaurants, and we felt Sea Glass compares well with the best places we've enjoyed there.

Travelling with a couple of people who are exceptionally knowledgeable about food preparation can sometimes result in discovering weaknesses in menus. There were no weaknesses at the Sea Glass this Friday evening. At dinner, we started with and shared appetizers of beet salad, lobster bisque, and a spinach salad. All delicious with generous chunks of lobster in the bisque. For entrees we had salmon with root vegetables, seafood paella, and butter braised lobster tails on a bed of risotto. Everything was cooked to perfection and we each gave well deserved thumbs up to the chef. As another reviewer mentioned, sophisticated food, locally sourced. We finished the meal sharing a creme brulee that was excellent and received high praise (continuing over several days) from my travelling companions (who once spent a week in another city sampling creme brulee at a different restaurant each evening). All and all a wonderful meal in a beautiful setting that was well delivered by the chef, the kitchen staff, and the wait staff.

Breakfast each morning was great. We each had eggs benedict with lobster one morning - highly recommended. The next day we tried different items, quiche, hash, and an omelete. Once again everything was delicious and nicely presented.

A wonderful weekend that was highlighted by incredible food at the Sea Glass Restaurant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBMorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Thank you JBMorin, for your glowing review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. I love to hear that guests have been able to experience Sea Glass for more than one meal period. We are known more for our dinners, however we try to put as much effort into our Breakfast and Lunch menus as we do for Dinner. I am happy to hear that Sea Glass was a part of making your trip away a wonderful experience! I hope to have you visit us again soon! Carrie Dyer, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
129 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very Good Will Return!”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Truth be told this wasn't our original destination for the evening. A water main break in Portland changed our plans. We started with a bottle of wine. The wine list is not huge but it has a nice selection in all price catagories. We had a mid-priced Pinot in the $50 range and enjoyed it. My wife started with the Lobster Bisque and I started with the Baked Fig & Manchego Strudel. Both were good but the bisque was the better choice, it was not a heavy as some that I have had which really let the lobster flavor shine. For the main course my wife had the Grilled Angus Filet Mignon and Blue Cheese Potato Gratin. The filet was cooked perfectly and the potato gratin was really good. I had the Gulf of Maine Seafood & Lobster Paella. The paella was done in the oven like it should be unlike what some of the other eating establishments that try to pass off as paella. I enjoyed the paella very much, probably the best I have had in New England except maybe my own! For dessert my wife had the Peanut Butter Buster Parfait and I had Chocolate Pudding Cake. The pudding cake was served warm and was perfect for me very very chocolate!

I suspect they have a nice view but at this time of year (December) it's dark at dinner time so not much to see!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Dear Richard A, Thank you for your recent review of Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. I am sorry to hear that your plans had to change, but very happy to hear that you joined us and had a positive experience. As for our wine list, it will be growing in January with the addition of approximately 50 more wines, so I hope that you join us again and see our newest selections! Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you again soon! Carrie Dyer, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
419 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast with a gorgeous view.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Breakfast was a "Sunday Brunch" and offered many wonderful choices on the menu. The omlets were excellent and I enjoyed a lobster roll for my breakfast, after all why not, we are in Maine! The view from the restaurant is gorgeous through the large glass windows to view the landscaped grounds and beautiful beach beyond.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loves2Research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie D, Manager at Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor Loves2Research, for Sea Glass at Inn by the Sea. We offer our Brunch menu on both Saturdays, Sundays, and on Holidays. We enjoy giving our guests that extended breakfast opportunity, as well as sneaking in those lovely lunch delights, such as a lobster roll, for breakfast! As you said “Why not!” We hope to see you again soon for Brunch, perhaps sometime this summer when everything is in bloom. Carrie Dyer, Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Sea Glass Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing