We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch”

The Lobster Shack at Two Lights
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Fairmont
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

The atmosphere itself is worth it. We all got lobster boats and they were good. A little expensive for the amount of lobster, but still good. Only a few tables have umbrellas, so you run the risk of sitting in the direct sun. It's a great place to catch up with friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcivli65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    402
    235
    81
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice View”
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Nice place for an amazing view. Lobster rolls are decent. Lobster chowder was average. Blueberry pie with whipped cream was very fresh. Portions were kind of on the small side. Fried seafood dishes were good. A touristy place and fun to visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doreen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We drove from North Conway to Portland for the day, and went here for a late lunch before driving back.It was very busy when we were there and there was a line up of about 20 mins, then we ordered our food, and they give you a number and shout when it's ready for pickup...so another 15 mins or so to wait.
we had the Lobster Rolls..$14.99..about 5 inch long and lots of lobster..I also ordered a small side of coleslaw for 3.99.
In my opinion the view was better than the food...but all in all a lovely afternoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank battlescar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most Excellent”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

It's quite a ways off the beaten path, but we went knowing it would be worth it. We got there around 5 on a Friday--right before the crowd really hit, and it was a good thing. The place was swamped by 6!

We bought a lobster dinner (market price = ~$25USD, and included a lobster, fries, biscuits, and cole slaw), a lobster roll boat (market = $21 I believe, included the roll, fries, and cole slaw), and a fisherman's plate ($25, and included fries, a healthy heap of clam strips, and a few huge oysters and scallops). Don't think I'm forgetting anything there. Oh, the blueberry pie was beautiful and generous at $3.50/slice. Well worth it. Drinks are the standard price out at $2.50 each, but interestingly, the restaurant didn't seem to mind people bringing their own beer, wine, etc. and just sitting out on the picnic tables for as long as they please.

The place was just as it appears in Man v. Food--I had to see it for myself, it was so nice. The buoys are out there floating right off the rocks, just as described.

I am a serious eater, and an even more avid seafood aficianado, and I loved the place. Wish it wasn't so expensive, and that the lobsters were bigger, but these aren't the 1800s, and I don't think monster lobsters still exists. If they did, I would go find them and eat them.

Overall, what an incredible experience. Cape Elizabeth is gorgeous, and these people take seafood seriously. I'm looking into moving there, because I belong there.

One last thing: there were all types of people there, but wear pants/shorts with elastic.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mslgtwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“View is beautiful”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Go there for the view. Food is good and price is comparable. Parking can be challenging due to crowds. We arrived early afternoon and the view was beautiful. Bring comfortable shoes if you want to trek out on the nearby paths for different views. The beach area adjacent to the Lobster Shack (near the parking lot) is quaint and under-rated. Tips: 1) Watch out for the number of sea gulls and other birds lounging by the Lobster Shack. A nearby table lost their fries to two sea gulls. Hold onto your food. 2) It gets windy up there (even in July), so watch your hat!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lobster Shack at Two Lights also viewed

 

Been to The Lobster Shack at Two Lights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing