We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service like you have never seen - exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn By the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn By the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Service like you have never seen - exceptional!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

If you had a category above excellent, Inn By the Sea would qualify! We travel a fair amount and often stay in upscale hotels and inns. Inn By the Sea is one of the finest we have visited, and we can't think of a single negative. The accommodations are first rate and the rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Every single employee of the Inn is pleasant , courteous and welcoming, and the overall experience exceeded our expectations. The short walk to the ocean is a must! The restaurant, Sea Glass is outstanding and has to be experienced to be fully appreciated. Executive Chef Mitchell Kaldrovich has put his Argentina touch on the food. My husband had the best salmon and I had the most amazing pasta bolognaise ever. Do not miss Sea Glass!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, June 1, 2010
Thank you for your kind review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to the high quality of the Sea Glass restaurant and our personalized service throughout the Inn which we are known for. Our staff is so delighted that we were able to exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Maine Coast in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    141
    53
    21
    8
See reviews for
239
510
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saugus, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2010

I got a package deal from Rue La La for this hotel, I'm not sure I could have afforded their normal prices.

We traveled up Route 1 from Boston to the Inn By the Sea arriving on Friday around 5 or 6. We were greeted by Mark and Eric, who were extremely friendly and attentive to any need we might have. After resting for about a half hour, we headed downstairs to figure out what to do. Eric gave us some great suggestions for dinner. Flatbread was AMAZING!

The bed was super soft and I wish I could have lived in it. But the amazing location of the hotel and the nice weather, made me explore.

I had booked in advance for a couples treatment, Sue was amazing as others have previously stated. I still feel amazing! My boyfriend however did not enjoy his experience with the spa, his masseuse was rather rough, and he never told her. Shame on him!

We walked on the boardwalk and to the beach, amazing soft sand! We had dinner at the Lobster Shack the second night. Definantly visit Portland Head Light. Downtown Portland is about 15 minutes away. We took a ferry to Peaks Island and rented bikes and saw the whole coast. It was nice, but not for a family or retail therapy trip. Its small.

By the end of the trip Eric and Mark were like friends we'd known the whole time. They were a big part about making this trip amazing. I can't wait to visit again! I've been talking and recommending the Inn since stepping foot in the Lobby.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tankgirl427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

My husband and I just got back from an amazing weekend away at Inn by the Sea. Everything about the resort exceeded our expectations. The food was phenomenal and the staff was friendly and attentive. We indulged in spa treatments (which I recommend) the renovated spa is beautiful and truly a spa sanctuary. Our room was clean, beautifully furnished, spacious, and the bathroom was huge (his and her sinks, spa tub, separate shower)! I didn't want to leave! No detail is overlooked here and if you are looking for a relaxing, quiet getaway Inn By the Sea is the perfect retreat.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beach_bum_in_boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2010

The minute we walked into this place, we started relaxing. The ambiance is elegant, understated but not pretentious. Right down to the wash cloths, soaps and shampoo in the bathroom, everything was perfect. Fridge and coffee maker in room, spa robes in closet, local newspaper every morning, gas fireplace. We had a stunning view from our fourth floor room, overlooking the wetlands and coast and could hear the waves through our windows (and spring peepers at night). The crescent beach is a rare find in Maine given that it's truly a sand beach, along with the more typical pebbles and unusual rock formations at its edges. Easy to kick off shoes and walk barefoot; also set adjacent to conserved park land for welcomed remoteness. Staff was great - helpful and friendly - and both bar and restaurant were excellent (no draft beers but bartender told us there was a bar-related renovation in the works).
Nearby Portland is a wonderful, walkable city with lots of fun shops, interesting neighborhoods and quirky eateries. Even closer (1/2 mile down the road), the Good Table (for dinner) and Rudy's (for breakfast) are good and cheaper dining options.
In our minds, April was an optimal time to visit because we liked the fact that there were few guests here and didn't mind that the pool hadn't been filled yet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingvermonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2010

Love, love, loved this place! We arrived early and our room was not only ready but also waiting for us with the fireplace on! Our massages were the best we've experienced. The staff is extremely attentive without being pretentious. The Spa steamroom & Kohler multi-head shower are unbelievable.
Our room was obviously newly renovated and superbly comfortable with a view of the ocean. SeaGlass restaurant was better than Fore Street.

Did I mention fresh-baked cookies were part of the turn-down service? We loved this place and will come back time & time again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acally2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Needed a quick pick-me up and found a great rate at this recently completely renovated property. The rooms were warm, spacious and accommodating. The staff was flawless, including Eva, Derreck and Chad. The view off to the water was magnificent, at anytime of day, but my favorite was dusk, when the fishing boats had returned to the quay. And I love anyplace that will give you breakfast at any time. It's a little remote, but the best finds are often tucked away. Be sure to venture to portland light....I did it on a cloudy day and the photos are magnificent. I visited the spa and while it's a little pricey, the services are of high quality and the practitioners are well trained in their arts. I had a seaweed wrap and reflexology.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2010

Gorgeous room, wonderful service and assistance from staff....a bit pricey..but we had located a 'deal' for the off season....we were disappointed the spa was closed on the day we had planned on using it...and no advance notice of same...Otherwise...just a wonderful place....so relaxing for us....we are already looking forward to our next visit!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
6.3 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
19.3 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By the Sea

Property: Inn By the Sea
Address: 40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn By the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing