We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend fun”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 6, 2014

Had an amazing time, great views from our room and was very impressed with the quality for the price. Next time would bring our dog as everyone seemed super friendly towards the dog visitors. The staff could not be nicer or more helpful, and we will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alissa550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear alissa550,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location, accommodations, value and most of all our helpful staff at t the Inn! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

518 - 524 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2014

Highly recommend. Terrific rooms, some with two floors. Great staff. Beautiful ocean views. Quick drive to quiet city of Portland. They definitely make an effort to have everyone's stay be pleasant and memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2014

Dear John H,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location, Spa Suite accommodations and most of all our dedicated staff at the Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We took advantage of an Amazon Local deal for one night at the Inn by the Sea. We loved it! Everyone was so friendly! The room was updated with a big TV, gas fire place, large gorgeous bathroom, comfortable bed, view of the grounds and ocean, and other amenities to make for a comfortable stay. The restaurant was charming and the food was very good. It is not far from the Portland Lighthouse and South Portland Old Port area. Maine Mall is also not that far a drive.
We took a nice walk down to the beach and hope to return in warmer weather to enjoy the lovely grounds, pool and beach.

Room Tip: We were in the main building and loved it. There are other room on the grounds and they are very &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank witchcitytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear witchcitytraveler,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our accommodations, location, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our friendly staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Inn By The Sea is absolutely beautiful. The staff is extremely friendly and made us feel welcome. They even referred to my dog by his name when we checked in. The rooms are very clean, and very well kept. I would return in a heartbeat! Excellent place for a vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSetter429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear JetSetter429,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our accommodations, pet friendly services and most of all our friendly and welcoming staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a resort vacation this is tough to beat. It is large enough to offer plenty of amenities but small enough to feel homey. We stayed a week, mostly to visit Portland, but spending full days on the resort grounds is a real option. The spa and restaurant are competitive at a national level. The beach/state park are very nice and ultra convenient. My wife had a guided tour of the plant life on the property. The "spa suite" is an outstanding room with a kitchenette, massive bathroom with shower, jacuzzi and heated floor. I highly recommend the Inn for a Maine vacation.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank lucadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear lucadog,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your lovely comments in regards to our location, accommodations and onsite activities. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We decided, last minute, to visit the Portland area but needed a pet-friendly hotel. This was perfect. The view was lovely, the staff very helpful, and the room (we got a suite with a loft) overlooking the water was fabulous. We ate a excellent meal in the lounge with our golden retriever, and I had a spectacular massage therapist in the beautiful spa. We met a few repeat visitors who raved about all of the different room choices.

We hope to return again during high season!

Room Tip: The suite with a loft is great for a small family or a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear CatherineWeber,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location, pet friendly amenities, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our helpful staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We travel with our dogs, but have never found a nicer place to stay than Inn By The Sea. They cater to the dogs with providing LL Bean beds, bowls, and daily yummy homemade treats. We have made this an annual destination both because the dogs are so welcome and the walking trails in the area are very good. Portland is a fun place to go shopping too.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2014

Dear Sue H,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location and pet friendly amenities at the Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,488 reviews
2.7 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#4 of 13 in Scarborough
41 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
8.4 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#8 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Rd, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107-2599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range: $235 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing