We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plush luxury”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Plush luxury”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a resort vacation this is tough to beat. It is large enough to offer plenty of amenities but small enough to feel homey. We stayed a week, mostly to visit Portland, but spending full days on the resort grounds is a real option. The spa and restaurant are competitive at a national level. The beach/state park are very nice and ultra convenient. My wife had a guided tour of the plant life on the property. The "spa suite" is an outstanding room with a kitchenette, massive bathroom with shower, jacuzzi and heated floor. I highly recommend the Inn for a Maine vacation.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank lucadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear lucadog,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your lovely comments in regards to our location, accommodations and onsite activities. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    144
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
249
527
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southborough, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We decided, last minute, to visit the Portland area but needed a pet-friendly hotel. This was perfect. The view was lovely, the staff very helpful, and the room (we got a suite with a loft) overlooking the water was fabulous. We ate a excellent meal in the lounge with our golden retriever, and I had a spectacular massage therapist in the beautiful spa. We met a few repeat visitors who raved about all of the different room choices.

We hope to return again during high season!

Room Tip: The suite with a loft is great for a small family or a couple.
See more room tips
Green Features: A very thoughtful hotel with a recycle bin in the kitchen and even the ability to recycle your soap.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineWeber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear CatherineWeber,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location, pet friendly amenities, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our helpful staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfane, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

We travel with our dogs, but have never found a nicer place to stay than Inn By The Sea. They cater to the dogs with providing LL Bean beds, bowls, and daily yummy homemade treats. We have made this an annual destination both because the dogs are so welcome and the walking trails in the area are very good. Portland is a fun place to go shopping too.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Sue H,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location and pet friendly amenities at the Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Inn by the Sea is aptly named. In addition to an in-ground pool, a nice boardwalk leads from the Inn's grounds directly to a large, lovely beach. Our visit was in early spring, so the landscaping was not yet in bloom. The abundance of planting beds promised a beautiful setting for warmer weather. We stayed in Room 104, which is down a flight of stairs from the main hallway. To our delight, our room had a walk out to a small porch which overlooked the grounds, with a view of the ocean. the King bed, in a separate room, was alongside the parking lot, but there was no noise. The room was very comfortable, with a couch, desk, refrigerator, microwave, two televisions, and very quiet HVAC.
The Spa was well worth a visit - my husband and I enjoyed the sauna, body shower, massage and reflexology treatments.
Breakfast was excellent, and was included in our stay. I was happy to find real maple syrup, not "breakfast" syrup served.
The Inn is a short drive south of Portland, and was a great home base for some exploration and sightseeing in the city.
We can't say enough about the staff at the Inn. From the check-in, wait staff, bell hop, and check out, these folks were very professional, courteous, and helpful.
We did not bring our dog, but enjoyed meeting other canine guests at the Inn.
We would love to return in warmer weather.

Room Tip: There are many different room configurations. best to talk to staff when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neese39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Neese39,

Thank you for your recent thorough review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location, accommodations, eco-friendly spa, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our professional and courteous staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

This is one of the nicest places to stay!! My husband and I recommend the Inn to everyone. It's super clean, the staff is amazing, and everything is absolutely beautiful! The view from any room is awesome! You feel right at home here.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashsatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Ashsatti,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location, accommodation, top notch housekeeping crew and most of all our amazing staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights this week with our dog. The hotel is just lovely. We had a garden room with a view of the ocean. The staff is wonderful, so friendly, and willing to help. We always travel with our dog and have stayed in many pet friendly hotels but always felt stressed and restricted for one reason or another. Not here. The staff made our dog feel welcome, and we were even able to take him to the lounge with us for meals. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjl131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear jjl131,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our accommodations, pet friendly amenities, lounge experience and most of all our friendly and helpful staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
1 review
Reviewed April 17, 2014

My wife & I choose this place because of there friendly pet policy. We were completely happy with front desk in greeting us and our dogs. We have two Akitas and our dogs loved the staff and the beach. This is the place to go with your dogs and family!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear David B,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location, pet friendly amenities and warm greeting at our front desk! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,370 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.7 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#9 of 13 in Scarborough
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 40 Bowery Beach Rd, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107-2599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing