We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Facility”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had the pleasure of attending the New England Inns and Resorts meeting and were so impressed with the facility and staff. We were greeted warmly and attended to in every way including setting up a crib for the baby. We have stayed here before and are constantly impressed with the wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waterfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Waterfront

Thank you for your review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our facility and most of all our warm and attentive staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

In this area it certainly is a great choice. Hotel is top notch. My only thought is with so many great restaurants in Downtown Portland which I wanted to try I really hated the short (but dark) ride back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Sharon H,

Thank you for your review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our location and top notch accommodations. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

I had not been to this property in years and was anxious to experience the newly renovated rooms as I have read and heard so many favorable things. The place is fantastic. I love what they have done to the place, everything is so modernized and updated. The staff is very helpful and attentive. I can't wait to bring my family here in the summer as this was a business trip. It is warm and relaxing here, you won't want to leave like me! Food is great in SeaGlass, we got to meet the chef and ate way too much.

Room Tip: We had traditional room which was appointed with everything you need, including a HUGE glass shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juliet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Juliet R,

Happy New Year! Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our renovation and most of all of our helpful and attentive staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you and your family this summer season! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had heard about this place from my cousin and her husband, both are very particular about where they stay. We were looking for a coastal family friendly spa for New Years Eve. When I saw that they had suites that allowed pets, I was sold. The grounds were lovely and well kept and the walk to the beach was just perfect. Far enough that you aren't "on display" to the folks staying at the Inn but an easy walk, even in December. The lobby and lounge area are small, but for us it was enough space to sit, relax and have a wonderful meal with our dogs. The size makes it easy to visit with other vacationers, kind of like the living room atmosphere at a B&B. They don't just allow dogs they think of all the amenities you might need for them as well as for people. My big concern was that despite having 2 of them, I can't stand "dog smell". Our room smelled clean, not artifically so, no masking perfume, no cleaner smell, just clean. Amazing! The food was great, testified to by the fact that my 10 year old daughter, who is VERY picky, cleaned her plate at each meal. We will surely return, in the spring.

Room Tip: If you're travelling with a pet you will want to ask for a ground floor suite or something close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Mary R,

Happy New Year! Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our location, quality dining experience, top notch housekeeping staff and pet friendly amenities at the Inn. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My husband and I and our three big dogs have visited the inn both in summer and in winter and have thoroughly enjoyed both. The inn is lovely, the food is excellent and they are amazingly pet friendly. I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great inn in a very scenic location.

Room Tip: We have really enjoyed the two story loft rooms in the main building. It was incredibly quiet for sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimberley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Kimberley S,

Happy New Year! Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your lovely comments in regards to positive experiences in both the winter and summer. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our Sea Glass restaurant and your three VIP’s (Very Important Pets) enjoyed our pet friendly services at the Inn as well. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales and Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I discovered this gem of a beach inn about 6 years ago! And what a find it was and still is. The "by-the-sea" setting is superb whether visiting in the winter or summer( we annually do both!). We have enjoyed a variety of rooms with our loyal companion, Tess, and find the large two room suite with fire place and small kitchen that faces the great Atlantic our favorite . But what makes the inn most special is the warm welcome and service we always receive. It is truly a place "where everyone knows your name" and makes your stay a memorable one every time.

Room Tip: Take the time to "tour" the rooms and check out the best in ocean views. Inn staff most h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Jo B,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for honest comments in regards to our 2 Bedrooms Beach Suite accommodations, lovely seaside setting, pet friendly services and most of all our consistent and personable staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to your next trip to Maine in the near future. Happy New Year! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We went for a summer vacation to Maine and stayed here and loved it. The place is charming, and so beautifully set in a cove. It was a hike to the beach, but thru a lovely little trail and for us it just added to the charm.

The food was very good, can't say excellent. I did have an unpleasant experience at the spa during my massage. The masseuse kept asking me if I wanted upgrades. I typically get that negotiation with a facial but not with a massage. I upgraded "upon her request" to the aromatherapy massage, $15 more. But than she kept telling/asking me if she put more pressure I would have to pay more for a deep tissue massage. I absolutely HATE deep tissue massages and like regular swedish with a moderate pressure. There was NO way that the pressure so was applying was anything more than regular swedish. I left there quite unhappy and bothered by the whole experience. Just wishing I said something, but my whole family was waiting for me and I didn't want my husband to know he just spent all this money and I was unhappy.

Aside from the spa experience, we all had a great time, the fire pit was a huge plus. They ran out of smore's but we were able to get them the next night.

Room Tip: We got the fireplace suite and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaBella30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear BellaBella30,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for honest comments in regards to your Sea Glass dining experience and disappointing service experience in our eco-friendly Spa. As we tell all of our guests at the Inn, if you are unhappy with any aspect of your stay we’d like to hear about while you are still with us so we may address any issues accordingly. I’m disappointed we were unable to speak with you during your stay and I would be happy to discuss the series of events with you in more detail as you can reach me at 207-799-3134 for a conversation. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future! Happy New Year! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 20 in Portland
1,453 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#4 of 13 in Scarborough
41 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
19.3 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Rd, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107-2599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range: $260 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing