We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

A warm welcome by helpful staff begins your stay- a view from the front lobby directly out over the property and to the ocean-- STUNNING! The gardens are very well tended, offering beautiful variety and pleasing colors and scents. Rooms are nicely appointed in with a Pottery Barn feel, beautiful marble bathrooms, gas fireplaces, ample storage space. Pool is simple, with ample chaise lounges-- nice touch of a firepit in the evenings! Frequent activities on the spacious lawn (volleyball, croquet, frisbee, yoga). Pool staff will carry complimentary chairs and umbrellas down the wooden path to the beach-- BEST BEACH in MAINE! Spa is lovely, well appointed, and staff is friendly. Food at Sea Glass is fresh, ample, and delicious. Book a night, or two-- it's worth every penny!

Room Tip: There is a room in the main building, second floor-- it is a corner room that has a sitting area in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BodhisattvaHand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear BodhisattuaHand,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our grounds, well appointed accommodations, sandy Crescent Beach, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our helpful and friendly staff! I’m delighted to read that you experienced so much during your visit and I hope to see you return to give our eco-friendly Spa a try upon your next visit to the Inn. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    144
    54
    21
    11
See reviews for
249
527
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The customer service was incredible. Our pet was treated as good (or perhaps better?) than us! The grounds are beautiful, the guest room was very nice, and the walk to the beach is really picturesque with a long wood plank path leading through a natural grove. Loved the doggie room service menu! Great location. I'd go back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellington24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Wellington24,

Thank you for your recent review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful feedback in regards to our grounds, accommodations, seaside location and most of all our “Inncredible” customer service. I’m so glad to read that our staff was able to deliver a wonderful experience to you and your four legged VIP (Very Important Pet). We promise equal pampering for you and your pooch upon your next visit to the Inn hopefully in the near future. Thank you again for taking the time to share! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well done! They were so nice and so lovely to our dog. The staff were helpful and the cleanliness was unbelievable. Quality stuff- we can't wait to go back! I'm excited to eat in the lounge with the dog next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakeoffire33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Lakeoffire33,

Thank you for your recent review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your feedback in regards to our topnotch Housekeeping staff and overall high quality of customer service at the Inn. We too are looking forward your return with your VIP (Very Important Pet) in the very near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised at the luxury for a Maine pet friendly inn. We had a great getaway without having to leave for any reason. The property led right down to the beach. Picnic tables were available through the trails which were great for dog walking. We hope to return when the weather is a bit nicer to make use of the pool and beach.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSonny219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear MRSonny219,

Thank you for your recent review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our seaside location and pet friendly practices at the Inn.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon as the warm weather is just around the corner! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Every time we go to this hotel we wish we could live there. Everything is perfect; dog friendly, fabulous service, wonderful beach, great rooms, close to portland restaurants, great walking trails. They make guests feel so taken care of. Only disappointment , as I said, is having to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronnie63_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ronnie63_11,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor! We were certainly sad to see you leave and appreciate all of your wonderful comments in regards to our location, accommodations, VIP (Very Important Pet) services and most of all our fabulous service at the Inn. Thank you so much for sharing and we look forward to you taking up residence at the Inn by the Sea in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Staff and Inn are top notch! This was out second visit and we are still amazed and very very happy!! We highly recommend The Inn By The Sea!!! The staff attended to our every need and graciously answered all of our questions. The Inn is beautiful and extremely well taken care of. They are pet and family friendly and we had a wonderful experience overall. We plan to make this a yearly trip for our growing family and would definitely recommend The Inn By The Sea to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NSambitsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear NSambitsky,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing to return to the Inn again as our greatest compliment is to see a guest return for another stay! I’m delighted to read that our staff continues to exceed your expectations and we appreciate your comments in regards to our upkeep at the Inn as well. Thank you again for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming your back for your third visit in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2013

If you've ever warted to have a getaway with your doggie companion, this is the place! So much more than just accepting dogs, it offers them comfort, cleanliness and convenience to gorgeous beach and trail walks. Everything is well thought out, designed for both humans and animals, with both groups able to have everything necessary for rest, relaxation, and romps at their fingertips. After three days there, I am planning my next trip, which cannot come too soon.

Room Tip: The 2 floor spa room offered spaciousness, giving a feeling of luxury generally not available when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanAxelrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear joanAxlerod,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our VIP (Very Important Pet) amenities, quality accommodations and balanced service philosophy at the Inn. We appreciate you taking this the time to share and we look forward to your return visit very soon! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,367 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Grace White Barn Inn and Spa
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
14.8 mi away
The Tides Beach Club
The Tides Beach Club
#3 of 5 in Kennebunkport
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Property: Inn by the Sea
Address: 40 Bowery Beach Rd, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107-2599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing