We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Inn by the Sea” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inn By the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn By the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Inn by the Sea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday and it was fabulous. The staff was very accomodating and kind. The room was well appointed, clean and beds very comfy. The bathrooms are also fantasitc... oversized and luxurious.Our fireplace was having some trouble, so they moved us with no hesitation or problem at all, truly felt like they were going the extra mile for us. The food selections were wonderful and delicious. We ate in the lounge and then had breakfast, and highly recomend both. Very cozy, elegant spaces. Portland area was only a short drive and we truly enjoyed the time spent at Inn by the Sea- a nice little relaxing getaway... only wish it was closer!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear BeachP,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our wonderful guestrooms and accommodating staff. It’s unfortunate to read that you had problems with the fireplace in your room but I’m very glad to see that we were able resolve the issue in a quick manner. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to southern coast of Maine in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    141
    53
    20
    8
See reviews for
236
501
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was our first visit to Inn By the Sea and we absolutely loved it. We were looking for a quiet refuge by the ocean with all the amenities but we also wanted to bring our dog along with us. This turned out to be the perfect blend of luxury combined with a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The staff is exceptional and the setting is lovely--even in the dead of winter you can enjoy a walk along beautiful Crescent Beach. The spa was wonderful and the food and service at Sea Glass restaurant was excellent. It is also a short drive to downtown Portland and to the Freeport Outlets where we spent a fun day shopping. We look forward to returning!

Room Tip: We had a pet friendly suite on the ground floor that had its own door leading outside to the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Mary Liz V,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our amenities, eco-friendly spa, Sea Glass dining experience and most of all our exceptional staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our first visit to The Inn By the Sea, and we chose the property because it is basically self-contained. Since we stayed over a February weekend, and the weather being as unpredictable as it is, we always look to spend our birthday weekend in a spot where we don't have to leave the property to eat, sleep, and have spa treatments. From the time we checked in on Friday evening to the time we checked out on Sunday at noon, we never even left the building (good thing, because there was a massive wind and snow storm overnight Saturday). We stayed warm and cozy in our immaculate room with the fireplace and the enormous shower, and only had to go as far as the downstairs restaurant and lounge for food and beverages. Although the food is a bit pricy, it was all delicious, so I can't really complain. The service in all areas from the front desk to the spa to the dining staff was excellent. Everyone was warm and friendly without being "hovery" or too stuffy. The clientele is very diverse, from gay couples like ourselves to heterosexual couples and families with young children (all with and without dogs of all shapes and sizes), so we felt very much at home. We had a wonderful time, and we hope to return in the spring when the weather is nicer and we can take advantage of the easy beach access.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Amy T,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our accommodations, food & beverage quality and most of all our warm and friendly staff! We appreciate you taking the time to share and we look forward to welcoming you back in the warmer months to come! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at the inn over President's Day weekend. The place is quiet, the staff are professional and warm and Sea Glass was very good. The room was beautiful, the little notes about the weather and daily treats in the room were very nice and the in room fireplace was lovely. Just a beautiful place. We can't wait to go back in the summer.

Room Tip: The rooms with fireplace and ocean view are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Suzanne T,

Thank you for your recent review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our accommodations, in room amenities and Sea Glass dining experience. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine this summer! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had no doubts about the Inn by the Sea being a superb get-away destination based on all of the rave reviews as well as the great things I heard about it from my fiancee's previous stays as well as the rave reviews from my step-brother, his wife and my step-sister and her husband.

What i wasn't a believer in was going to the Inn by the Sea in the dead of winter in off-season. My fiancee and I enjoyed a weekend stay over Martin Luther King Jr. Weekend about a month ago and my expectations were thoroughly exceeded.

First starting with the fact that we could bring our dog with us. Just awesome to go away with you pets! We were welcomed with a butler assisting us with our luggage as well as greeted by warm oatmeal cookies in our room. The room was amazing with the coziness of a living room, a kitchen counter with microwave and mini fridge, and then a front porch with an amazing view...although I didn't quite get the views until early Saturday morning.

I took a shower in what seemed like a luxury bathroom. I felt like royalty!

The fact that you're only 15 minutes from downtown Portland, ME is just an added bonus. And Mark is THE MAN when it comes to dining selections. While not craving Mexican food, he recommended Zapoteca Retaurante and it was nothing short of amazing as I tried ceviche for the first time and they had 1 of my favorite tequilas which was El Tosoro.

Saturday morning, we took a nice walk down to the beach with our dog and the views were amazing. There is something about a winter sunrise in Maine. After eating breakfast at The Good table down the street (complete with wild turkeys outside), we spent the majority of our day touring the streets of downtown Portland and also enjoyed Two lights State Park. We went back to our room mid-afternoon for a quick a nap and then a "quick" walk to let my dog out turned into an hour plus of sitting outside and viewing the amazing sky and sunset on the property.

We enjoyed our second dinner suggestion form a local business owner in Portland bu enjoying sushi at Miyake which again totally exceeded expectations.

We then enjoyed the evening in their fireplace lounge with our dog and had a few drinks and dessert from their restaurant.

We left Sunday morning and I STRONGLY suggest a visit to Bintliff's American Cafe - the best breakfast you will EVER eat. Don't be scared off by the area as it doesn't look promising. But I can assure it's worth the visit.

I would thoroughly enjoy another winter trip to The inn, but also would LOVE to see it in the late Spring, summer, or Fall. Very highly recommend this place to all.

Room Tip: We had a room right in front of the pool and you will be treated to a gorgeous sunrise in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Keith F,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our Spa Suite Accommodations, location and well...MARK! We are very lucky to have such a wonderful, dedicated staff member like Mark who truly enjoys what he does and it certainly shines through to our guests. Thank you again for taking the time to share we look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have been to the Inn by the Sea and it is a beautiful Virtuoso property. I send many clients there for a quick getaway and they are all repeat guests. They have various room styles and cottages. The spa and restaurant are divine.

Room Tip: All the rooms and cottages are wonderful. It depends on what is important to the traveler, gas firep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank advantage_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear advantage_12,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your business and most of all your trust in us to take care of your clients. I’m also thrilled to read that your clients are all repeat guests as our greatest compliment is to see a guest return to the Inn by the Sea for another stay! Thank you again for sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Inn. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My fiancee and I visited here in February after we became engaged. I had booked two nights to celebrate the engagement and spend a weekend away together.

Positives:
- Beautiful rooms. We stayed in the Beach Suite (they upgraded us), and it was a very spacious suite overlooking the ocean with a gas fireplace, kitchenette, and a great bathroom. Little things that I liked were that the bedroom was offset from the rest of the suite, and it since the window in the room faced west, you didn't wake up at sunrise with the sun. The bathroom was also great, with a really deep tub and large stand-up shower.
- Service was great. We don't typically stay in luxury hotels, and noticed that the atmosphere here from the staff was that if you'd like it, we will try our best to make it happen and not speculate on why you might want it.
- Breakfast was one of the best I've ever had! If you stay, make sure to get a package that includes free breakfast coupons. The breakfast is unique in its menu choices, and also just of very high quality. And it's not a buffet style. You get to order off the regular breakfast menu, and are allowed to choose a breakfast menu item, a side, and a drink (I'm not sure it's that official, but that was how it was roughly explained to us). Totally worth it and a nice way to start the day.

Negatives:
- Really nothing, except the cost. We stayed in the offseason, and it still isn't cheap then by any standards. Not sure how much it goes for during the busy season. But to be honest, it was totally worth it, especially in the offseason. There isn't as much to do outside (we stayed during a blizzard), so it is great to stay in a place with beautiful lodging, a high quality restaurant, and a pretty view.

Overall, a great experience and I would absolutely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear RyanS,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our new Beach Suite Accommodations, Sea Glass dining experience and our warm and friendly staff. I’m overwhelmed at how many wonderful comments we receive on TripAdvisor regarding our top notch staff and believe me, it’s truly appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn sometime in the near future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
6.3 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By the Sea

Property: Inn By the Sea
Address: 40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn By the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing