We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Tradition!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn By the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn By the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our Tradition!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Every Thanksgiving holiday, we stay at the Inn with our furry family. Nothing can beat the Inn by the Sea in November. Gracious, warm and inviting. Great location, rooms, ambience, staff and tons more. They could not be more welcoming! We even made a reservation for next year as soon we left!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Joan L,

Thank you for your recent holiday review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. We are honored that you continue to return to the Inn by the Sea during this special holiday season with your family of VIP’s (Very Important Pets) We truly appreciate your loyalty as a valued customer and we look forward to welcoming you back on each return for many years to come. Wishing you and your family and healthy and happy holiday season! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    141
    53
    21
    8
See reviews for
239
510
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Niantic, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Unfortunately, we were in the area mainly for business and did not allow much time for rest and relaxation. We were recommended the Inn by the person we were visiting. And a great recommendation it was. The staff was so pleasant and very helpful. When we made the reservation, we mentioned the fact that we needed an early dinner reservation in order to get to a 7:40 PM showing of Wreck-It Ralph, a movie our son-in-law in LA had worked on and whose credits mentioned our new Grandson as a Production Baby. Not only did the hotel staff remember our conversation when we checked in, but the manager related this to the restaurant staff to make our dinner timing efficient. No problems getting to the movie. Service was impeccable, and the room beautiful, it being two floors with 2 TVs, a pull-out sofa, soaking tub, large shower, and great views of the ocean. But the hospitality and service is what makes this spot shine. Will definitely be back when we have more time to try out the hotel's various amenities.

Room Tip: Off season rates were great. We chose a 2 floor suite with king bed, pull out sofa, wet bar, and soa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Bob L,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. We are so delighted to read that friendly & helpful staff was able to provide a wonderful travel experience to you and your family. We truly agree that our staff and service sets us apart from the rest and we consider ourselves very lucky to have such a seasoned group of people on staff year round. Thank you again for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn sometime in the near future. Wishing you a healthy and happy holiday season! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Incredible setting overlooking low growth to beach and ocean, accessed by board walk. Rooms are plush and many are two-level, with giant windows overlooking the sea. Dogs allowed, with doggie menu and spa.

Restaurant chef is top-rated. If you eat here during the day, you can sit and watch the sea through giant windows. At night, you can't really see anything but the property decking.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francesperkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear francisperkins,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our location, luxurious accommodations and high quality Sea Glass restaurant. We are delighted to have had the opportunity to serve you and we are thrilled that we were able to provide an exceptional experience. Thank you again for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn sometime in the near future. Wishing you a healthy and happy holiday season! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I was extremely pleasantly surprised during my stay at the Inn. I had been invited to a business meeting at this facility. I knew little about the resort and had few expectation. I was immediately impressed with the physical plant and location with beautiful views of the ocean. My room was spacious and very well appointed with comfortable sitting area and great walkout porch to pool area and grounds. Furnishings kind of modern rustic New England plus flat screen tv. Bedroom was large. Bathroom large and modern. Workout facility was adequate with additional spa area. Would definitely consider return for pleasure trip.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Leo15,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our spacious, well appointed accommodation, cardio room and eco-friendly Spa. We are so delighted to read that the Inn was able to exceed your expectations and we look forward to welcoming you back for a personal trip in the future. Happy Holidays! Richard Carroll Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at this inn resort. Liked the amenities they provided -- beach umbrellas and chairs they would walk down to the beach and set up for you. View is very pretty and they did a very nice job of preserving the surrounding habitat without destroying it by bringing in non-native potted plants etc. Overall a simple yet very elegant and relaxing place. Do expect mosquitoes in the summer evenings! I would sit inside rather than on the deck for dinner after dusk in the summer. They do provide insect repellant if you like, but would still opt for the inside table.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank ktmoxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear ktmoxie,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our location, pristine beach and wild life habitat. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea in the future! Happy Holidays, Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a beautiful property looking out over woods and the ocean. The beach is reached by a boardwalk and it is a beautiful beach. Just right for a long walk. Our dogs chased each other and were completely worn out. In the morning we had our coffee and looked out at the sea while our dogs sat quietly at our side and staff and guests came over to pet them and say hello. Such a relaxing atmosphere and only 20 mins from downtown Portland.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main part of the inn in a dog friendly room with a loft bedroom and kitchenette. Ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bacma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear bcama,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our location, grounds and beautiful seaside setting. We are so delighted to read that we were able to provide a relaxing retreat experience to you and your VIP’s (Very Important Pets) during your visit to the southern coast of Maine. Thank you for sharing and we look forward to welcoming you all back to the Inn by the Sea in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have been coming to the INN by the Sea for 26 years and each year we love it more ! We have traveled with 3 golden retrievers over that time frame and each dog was treated with love and respect as well. The INN is our home in Maine. We always choose this as our special treat and have celebrated our 3rd, 28th and 29th anniversaries with our INN family.
We want to especially commend Eva St. Pierre and Mark Kellerman for taking care of every little detail for us every time we visit. This past trip was especially unique as we had to leave early to go home to NJ to be in the FRankinstorm !

Room Tip: we loved room 112 for traveling with our dog..the garden suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieBerke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear BonnieBerke,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for your many years of loyalty. We are so delighted that we are your first choice when traveling to our wonderful destination and we feel honored to be your home away from home. We appreciate you mentioning our staff members by name and we’re excited to read that they continue to provide a positive travel experience consistently upon each visit. Thank you again for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn for many more years to come. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,285 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
6.3 mi away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
19.3 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 8 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By the Sea

Property: Inn By the Sea
Address: 40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn By the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing