We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Peaceful beauty and phenomenal perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn By the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn By the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful beauty and phenomenal perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

From the moment we called letting the staff know of our extremely late check-in, we knew we had found perfection. We checked in after their restaurant closed but the staff took our order over the phone and had a freshly cooked, delicious dinner for us when we arrived. Everyone was extremely attentive and made our anniversary trip so special. Our beach suite was impeccable and tastefully decorated. The staff at the Sea Glass Restaurant went well out of their way to make sure we left satisfied. We would definitely come back and recommend this place to all of our family and friends! Thank you for such an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: The beach suite is well worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jflewell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Jflewell1,

Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor and Happy Anniversary! We are so delighted that you chose the Inn by the Sea for such a special occasion. We are so happy to read that we were able to take care of your needs upon your late arrival to the Inn and we're thrilled that you enjoyed our new Beach Suites. Most of all, we are glad to read that our warm and friendly staff was able to deliver such a positive travel experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the coast of Maine in the near future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    135
    50
    20
    8
See reviews for
222
467
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This was our first visit to celebrate our 8th anniversary away from home and make it a 4 day get-a-way. We definitely chose the right place. From the moment we arrived we felt welcome and at rest. The location, view, wonderful staff and atmosphere is just perfect to relax and feel at ease. Portland is close enough and we made several day trips to the surrounding area and beautiful sights. We will definitely go back and don't forget to book an appointment at the Spa. I loved my treatment and again.....we can't say enough about the wonderful staff...an easy breezy place to get away from it all!

Room Tip: Center top floor with fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Barbara M,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and Happy Anniversary! I’m so delighted to read that you chose us for such a special occasion. We truly appreciate your positive comments regarding our location, eco-friendly Spa and most of all our staff at the Inn by the Sea. We consider ourselves very lucky to have such a great group of professionals on our team at the Inn. Again, thank you for taking the time to share and we’ll look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Vermont
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a dependably wonderful place to stay. Staff is very helpful and friendly. They do their best to ensure comfort. The beach is a great place to explore and the grounds are some of the best kept anywhere.

Room Tip: Have never stayed in a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cearley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear cearly,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our grounds, service consistency and most of all our warm friendly staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share and look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having found this place years ago through a quick internet search with key words of "resort" and "Portland, Maine" I uncovered this jewel. A quick nonstop flight from Atlanta took me to the Portland JetPort and adjacent rental car place just outside of baggage claim. A 15 minute drive took me straight to then Inn where I recall being greeted on a cool evening with a warm smile and showed to my room where I was greeted by fresh treats from the Inn's excellent restaurant. The rooms were extremely cozy with very large spa-like bathrooms with all the amenities you could want including wifi, two flat screen televisions, a balcony with chairs and L'Occitane bath products.

During my quick trip, I found myself not wanting to leave the Inn at all. It's breakfast/brunch menu and bar menu along with its delicious dinner offerings answered all of my needs and left me wanting to try the next item down on the list. And for that weekend, that was all I ate. Argentine Chef Mitchell Morgan Kaldrovich's Lobster Risotto is a force to be reckoned with...but then again all of his preparations are. On my most recent trip, I happened to be assisted by an exceedingly charming young woman named Amy Farrell for my breakfast and lunch and Anthony Pastore for dinner. Polite, pleasant, and attentive, they made sure that not only was I enjoying myself there at their restaurant, but also that my entire stay was going well.

I stayed in the new addition which opened in May of this year and it was perfectly delightful, offering excellent views of the ocean, and all of the comforts (and many more) of home. Very tastefully decorated and festooned with local artwork, you will not help but feel that you are well away from the grind of your daily life and ensconced in ann Inn, rich with history that is quintessentially coastal Maine.

Room Tip: The Spa suites are very nice as are the garden suites! You can't go wrong with either!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JToddWheeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Front Office Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear JToddWheeler,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. We can’t tell you how it feels to the entire staff to know that you consider this your home away from home and for you to reminisce about your first trip to us. We all look forward to your visits and wish that they were more frequent! We are thrilled that both Amy and Anthony provided you with a positive dining experience and took it upon themselves to make sure that you not only enjoyed your dining experiences but your whole visit. We truly appreciate the time that you took from your busy life to share your experience and look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.
Eva St. Pierre, Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have stayed here 3 times now. The rooms are amazing. We normally stay in a Spa Suite. The bedroom/bathroom are upstairs and the living area with small kitchen area (no oven/stove) are down stairs. The view of the trees and ocean are really nice.

We visited the spa and we really enjoyed ourselves there as well.

The Sea Glass is the lone restaurant at this resort. The food is nothing short of amazing. They have a vegetarian menu also which was nice for my wife. Their Paella and Lobster Risotto are definitely 5 star worthy. I could go on and on about the food but you must try to really appreciate.

The staff is beyond friendly. They've always made us feel so welcome and take the time to chat and assist with touristy things if needed.

Room Tip: Spa Suites are in the main hotel with great views. All of these are located in the 2nd floor and wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear turbough,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your positive comments in regards to our accommodations, exceptional quality in our Sea Glass Restaurant and most of all our warm, friendly staff. We appreciate you taking the time to share and we look forward to welcoming you back upon your fourth visit to the Inn by the Sea. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Inn by the Sea is our new favorite spot in beautiful Cape Elizabeth.
The Staff was very professional, showed a personal interest and was very knowledgeable of the area. We loved our view of the ocean.
The room decor was pleasing but showed some signs of wear. Our bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed the fireplace.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aileenmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear aileenmm,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. I’m so thrilled to read that we are one of your favorite spots in the area! I’m also delighted to read your comments in regards to our professional, friendly and knowledgeable staff members. We are very thankful to have them as a part of the Inn by the Sea family. Thank you again for taking the time to share, we look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This place is adorable! The decor is simple and classic. The rooms have big bathrooms, plenty of counter space and a huge tile shower. Every night they delivered cookies and bottled water, nice touch! The entire place was very clean and dog friendly. The staff is super friendly and will bend over backwards to do whatever you need. Be sure to eat at the Sea Glass, the food was so good and reasonably priced. Plus it's only 10 minutes outside Portland, the location is perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Stephanie R,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your comments in regards to our accommodations, pet friendly practices and most of all, our warm and friendly staff. I’m so delighted to read that our staff was able to provide a positive travel experience and we look forward to welcoming you back to the southern coast of Maine in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
6.3 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
5.0 mi away
Black Point Inn Resort
Black Point Inn Resort
#3 of 13 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn By the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn By the Sea

Property: Inn By the Sea
Address: 40 Bowery Beach Rd, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107-2599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn By the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing