We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Show”
Review of Inn by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn by the Sea
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Travelling with the doodle we had to find a hotel that would accept our dog. This hotel caters to dogs. I couldn't believe this place. We arrived just in time for doggy happy hour, which consisted of a soy based ice cream treat for the doodle in the hotel bar. I had a local beer from a good selection. We were a assigned a ground level garden suite with two bedrooms, one bath, kitchen and pull out sofa bed that was comfortable by hotel sofa bed standards. There is a small but nice salt water pool, beautiful gardens including a butterfly garden and lovely planters which have vegetables growing in them. The manicured lawn was full of families and friends playing volleyball, badminton and soccer. I enjoyed sitting on the front porch reading my novel and the doodle enjoyed lying on the porch watching the butterflies. Our meals were taken on the outdoor patio. The food was quite tasty and not too overly priced. I believe the garden suite was $600/ night which was considerable but not out of sight considering the service provided. The kids, and even the big kids enjoyed the fire pit in the evenings, where there was a supply of marshmellows, graham crackers and Hershey chocolate for do-it-yourself s'mores.

We give this place 4 paws up!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling_Doodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear traveling_Doodle,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our VIP (Very Important Pets) programs at the Inn. We are so happy to read that you and your four legged companion were happy with the Garden Suite accommodations, outdoor heated pool along with our lovely gardens and grounds. Our Chef and culinary staff were also very happy to see your comments in regards to the high quality experience their team provided as well. Again, thank you for taking the time to share, we truly appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return trip to the Inn by the Sea in the future. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,032)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

803 - 809 of 1,032 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

It was our first trip to Inn by the Sea and we liked it so much we booked a longer stay same time next year. the view from the new Beach Suites has a lovely sea vista over foliage, but the deep soaking tub was unbelievably relaxing. the kitchen was well-equipped, the staff ever helpful and there was a full dining table next to the large galley kitchen. the beach is about /4 mile down a scenic path to a fine, sandy crescent . It is a real fine, almost a bargain after season.

Room Tip: Rooms look across the property except for the beach suites, which have the best water views, the hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyinWestchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Dear JoyinWestchester,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments in regards to our brand new Beach Suites that opened this past June. I’m so very delighted to read that you found them to be a relaxing retreat and I’m always thrilled to hear that our guest found our staff members helpful and accommodating. Thank you again for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn upon your return stay next year. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is an overpriced motel by the roadside with service to match. We booked the Spa Suite at $672/night including breakfast. We booked this hotel for our honeymoon and were looking forward to a top class hotel in a beautiful location. The location in South Maine is great, with a beautiful sandy beach at the end of the garden. However, we have stayed at many luxury hotels around the world and have many benchmarks to compare this hotel - this is NOT a luxury hotel as the price would suggest.

1. The pool area is tiny for a hotel this size. Not relaxing at all, more like a kids club. In this price range we expect at least a separate pool area for children or a much larger pool area. Given the sea is freezing, a hotel this size should have a much larger heated pool.

2. Our room was adjacent to the bar area and noisy at night time! We asked to be moved, but were told this was not possible. A $670/night room should not be noisy at night, especially when you are in remote area like Cape Elizabeth.

3. Initially the room was not serviced properly. We were later told a house keeping service is not conducted when guests are in the rooms. We have never heard such an excuse for not servicing a room properly. Amatuer service.

4. The bar area is cramped with one barman and no wandering wait staff taking orders for drinks on the porch or the garden terrace. Overall the service level is apathetic and amateur. At these prices we expect professional service.

5. Food in the restaurant was excellent - we could not fault the chef or the wine list. The restaurant was understaffed and food/drinks came out late etc. Wine came out halfway through the meal. Again amatuer service.

6. No safes in the rooms, again we expect safes in the rooms as standard in this price range.

7. A $30 “Resort Fee” was the final insult. This was a charge for use of carpark (in the middle of the countryside), internet and use of the beach.

Honeymoon ruined...

Room Tip: If you must stay here avaoid the suites. Go for the cheaper rooms you will be less dissapointed as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KEKO_TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Dear KEKO_TRIP: Thank you for selecting Inn by the Sea during your recent visit to Southern Maine and for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay. I am disappointed to read that you feel the Inn delivered less than a positive experience. Specifically your observations related to our housekeeping services are certainly inconsistent with the level of service that we pride ourselves in providing at the Inn. I am also surprised to read that you were disappointed with the service in our cozy lounge and deck which is appropriately staffed all season long and comes highly recommended by many of our reviewers here on TripAdvisor. I’m also disappointed you felt our solar heated pool was of inadequate size for your taste as our guests find it to be a wonderful compliment to sandy Crescent Beach and often experience both during a visit to the Inn. Guests are very welcome to reserve a secure a safe deposit box upon request by contacting our front office and our nightly hotel fee should have been reviewed at the time of reservation, is also outlined on your confirmation letter and again reviewed during the check in process at the hotel. Our apologies if you feel we missed the mark in these areas. Again thank you for taking the time to share and please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you’d like to review your experience over the phone. Richard W. Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This place was very enjoyable. The grounds are beautiful. Our room (we actually had a suite, living room, bedroom) was very nice but not the best view because it was all that was available when we booked. I would stay here again and now that I know the layout, I know what type of room to book. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. I thought the location was great, right by the ocean but 10 minutes to downtown Portland. Also a lovely spa which I definitely took advantage of. One thing people should know about this place is that it is very dog friendly. I loved it because I loved playing with all the dogs but if your not a dog lover you might want to re-think.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lgrier1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smasterson, General Manager at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Igrier1: Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your recent visit to Inn by the Sea. I am very glad to learn that you enjoyed your experience and in particular that the friendliness of our associates made such a positive impression. With regard to being pet friendly, just under 30% of our total guest rooms allow pets in them and there are areas of the property where we do not permit dogs. That said, we have a long history of embracing pet travel and we do enjoy their presence on the property, as you did. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Inn by the Sea again soon. Kind regards, Sara Masterson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Enjoyed our stay but its overpriced for the location. Would stay there again if we got a discount on the regular room price. The hotel restaurant was good with several lobster options but I tried the crab cake eggs benedict instead of lobster eggs benedict.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sj1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Dear sj1234567,

Thank you for your recent review of Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with at the Inn but concerned that you departed feeling as if the value did not equal your experience at the Inn. I’d be happy to connect with you to listen to your comments in detail sometime in the near future. Thank you again for sharing and please know that your comments do not go unnoticed. Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

My partner and I have stayed here several times over the past few years. We are never disappointed. While we stay at budget locales from time to time, we sometimes stay at 5 star hotels, and this one is on par *if not exceeds* any others we've been too. As pet owners, we often have to choose between quality and dog friendliness. Not here. This hotel is easily on par with five star hotels AND pet friendly (he had his own LL Bean Bed and turn down service).

The King Spa Suites are incredible. They are easily bigger than most one bedroom apartments available in Boston. The rooms are loft style with a living room on the first floor and bedroom on the second. The furniture is extremely modern and luxurious for a hotel, even one of this caliber. The comforter was down and the bathtub could easily fit two. The bathroom is definitely spa quality, with a huge walk in shower as well as the free standing huge tub. The grounds are also gorgeous, with Adirondack chairs sprinkled throughout and a nice 300 yard walk from the beach. In spring there are rows of red tulips throughout the garden.

We had a drink and cocktails in the lounge area one evening, and were pleasantly surprised with the caliber of the food and drinks, as well as the lovely company. Our dog was even welcome in the lounge and ordered from the "dog menu" (I'm not kidding, he had meatloaf), while we ate.

If you are considering a stay, I strongly encourage you to do it! We come here every chance we get and any friends we've sent are never disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for one of the king suites, and ask to be as close to the middle of the hotel as possible for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Dear BostonHannah,

Thank you for your recent review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for your wonderful comments in regards to our accommodations, grounds, quality of food & beverage and pet friendly practices at our property. I’m delighted to read that your experience was of the 5 Star caliber and we are so glad that you find us to the be an appropriate selection when traveling with your four legged companion. Thank you again for sharing, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Our visit to the Inn by the Sea was absolutely delightful. The grounds are gorgeous and we had a beautiful room overlooking the lawn with a partial sea view. There is a pool and it's a short walk to the beach. Every staff member we encountered was not only courteous but genuinely friendly and thoughtful. Little things, like our breakfast server one morning noticed I was reading the puzzle page of the newspaper and offered me a pen so I could do the crosswords if I wanted. In addition, I have a gluten allergy and the kitchen went above and beyond at each meal to make sure I was taken care of. It was a wonderful calm vacation and I recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgal280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IBTSDOSM, Director of Sales at Inn by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Dear travelgal280,

Thank you for your recent review of the Inn by the Sea on TripAdvisor and thank you for your wonderful comments regarding our grounds, pool, beach and Sea Glass dining experience. Most of all, we truly appreciate your comments about our friendly and accommodating staff at the Inn. Thank you again for taking the time to share. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Inn by the Sea sometime in the near future! Richard Carroll, Director of Sales & Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
6.2 mi away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#5 of 21 in Portland
1,488 reviews
2.7 mi away
Higgins Beach Inn
Higgins Beach Inn
#4 of 13 in Scarborough
41 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
The Westin Portland Harborview
6.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
8.4 mi away
Inn At Diamond Cove
Inn At Diamond Cove
#8 of 21 in Portland
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn by the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Rd, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107-2599
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cape Elizabeth
Price Range: $235 - $557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn by the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Inn By The Sea Maine/Cape Elizabeth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing