We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ♡ it here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canaan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Skowhegan/Kennebec Valley KOA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“We ♡ it here!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We had are first stay here last weekend and it was absolutely lovely. The campground was very quiet yet kids were still having fun. We love everything about it here. The owners seem very nice and I enjoy talking with them. It's worth the stay. Coming soon is a K9 Camp for your furry four legged dogs. Hope you enjoy your stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
3
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had absolutely no privacy; tiny sites, no picnic table, fire ring not usable - loud speaker announcements. We do not have children and this was definitely not for us; we will not return. The picture in the KOA book was not even of the campground - it was several miles away and of a state park - how deceiving! We did not find the campground enjoyable at all. We did like the KOA Work Kamper we were next too... that is the best thing we can say.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

by far the very best camping ever!
finally after 100 + weeks of camping, my family can declare its favorite spot! this is more like
a fun neighborhood: verses a campground. no need to leave the campground, today we swam and played putt putt golf, swim again, had a campground sponsored carnival, a kids treasure hunt, tractor rides, free ice cream social, and my children played with dozens of other children.
BEST FAMILY CAMPGROUND WE HAVE EVER STAYED AT.
No One Paid Me To Write This.
L5 Adventure Will ComeBack!
Cheers

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank l5adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Great Campground, quiet & reasonable prices. Beth & Don ( Owners ) greated us and made us feel like Family. Sites were Pull Thru with Full Hook ups, very spacious and quite , a lot of shade in Sections B-C-D-E-F-G

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2011

The best campground that I've been to so far. Great for kids, they have something to do almost every minute. Owners are very involved. They have a cafe there, that makes all their food from scratch. At night they have a haunted hay ride, not for young kids, can be pretty scarey. Columbus weekend they put on a wonderful haunted house and hayride for the community and guests, we have been two years in a row and we've already booked ahead for this year. I recommend trying this campground out, but be prepared, your not going to want to leave. Kim Warman

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmie1971_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ME
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2008

This was a great place for the kids. Lots of activities, games, rides on fire trucks. The grounds were very well kept - Staff walked around daily to keep it litter free. Showers were clean, pool clean, grounds clean. Store well stocked and staff very friendly. We stayed in one of the on site cabins and found it a perfect compromise for "camping" with young kids. Thanks for an enjoyable stay !

  • Liked — the clealiness of campgrounds
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thetruthster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamestown, NY
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2007

Clean, family-oriented campground. I stayed here last minute as I was too tired to drive any more. The check in was fast and I got to pick my site. The showers were clean and free. The camp store was well stocked. I didn't stay long enough to participate in any of the activities, but there were lots of things scheduled. The wi-fi worked wonderfully with good connectivity. I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Clean Showers
  • Disliked — Off the beaten path
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Katherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canaan
14.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
1.4 mi away
Canaan Motel
Canaan Motel
#1 of 1 in Canaan
28 reviews
9.2 mi away
Kyes Motel
Kyes Motel
#3 of 4 in Skowhegan
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skowhegan/Kennebec Valley KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skowhegan/Kennebec Valley KOA

Property: Skowhegan/Kennebec Valley KOA
Address: 18 Cabin Rd, Canaan, ME 04924-3656
Location: United States > Maine > Canaan
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Canaan
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a campground located in central Maine. We offer basic cabins and deluxe cabins. A basic cabin come with 4 beds, electricity and ceiling fan. Our Cottage sleeps 5, has a full bathroom with tub and a mini fridge, microwave, kitchen table and cable tv. Both our basic cabins and our cottage is pet friendly. Our lodge has a queen bedroom, one set of bunks and a futon. This sleeps 6. Has a full kitchen and bath with stand up shower. The kitchen has stove top, fridge and microwave along with toaster and single cup keurig, dishes, pots and pans ect., wifi and cable tv, outside patio and furniture along with a charcoal grill and a gas grill. We have an outside pool and hot tub, mini golf, basketball,playground, hiking trails,and much more. We have a cafe that serves breakfast ($) on weekends. We also have RV sites and tent site. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Skowhegan/Kennebec Valley KOA Canaan, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing