We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Room !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Room !!!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and were pleasantly surprised.
The room was large and well appointed with tasteful furniture. There was a table and desk area with 2 reclining chairs. This made a nice sitting area and gave us room to spread out.

Also had a large closet, a dry bar area with refrigerator and a very large bathroom.

The room was very clean and in very good condition. Had plenty of windows and light. The only downside was that the view was not especially appealing, but we knew that in advance.

The hotel had a fire pit in the back and this was a nice touch, very comfortable chairs around the fire and free s'mores kits for kids (or adults) to roast.

Indoor pool and hot tub were smallish but perfectly fine..something of a bonus actually.

A free continental breakfast was included int he stay..this was adequate but nothing to rave about, a decent choice of basic cereals, some small muffins, small bagels,juices and coffee. (although the coffee was quite good!)

The public spaces were nicely decorated and clean.
The location is very convenient to town and the shops and restaurants, but really no view. The hotel has done the most with the relatively small space they have, there is a nice bridge leading over a river to get to the hotel from town, and this is loaded with hanging flowers, with built in benches to sit and relax.

Backyard had the fire pit, some gazebos and outdoor tables...very nice for adults to relax in.

The staff were very pleasant

Overall we enjoyed the hotel and were very comfortable there, would definitely recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again

Room Tip: We had an end room which seemed to be a bit larger than the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    99
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
138
145
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely comfortable family friendly hotel. In the evening the hotel provide marshmallows etc for cooking s'mores on the fire pit outside. This was a really nice way to meet other guests & share stories. Having a pool is always great for the kids & another way to meet other kids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzlethegrizzle2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fl
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed two nights. Selected hotel as we were traveling with our dogs. Room was adequate with small kitchen, sitting area and bedroom. The hotel put out two dog beds bowls and treats. Excellent location. Price was fair for top season in Camden. Big negative is pet policy which requires you to keep your pets with you at all times (had never come across this before). We couldn't go to some of the excellent restaurants because of the policy. Also, the hotel is not staffed after ten pm.

Room Tip: Stayed in basement room. Very quiet, wouldn't recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danny8688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake charles louisiana
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stopped for an overnight on our way to Bar hArbor. Very good location . Enjoyed their little bridge crossover into the shopping area. End of the bridge yummy ice cream. Evening they built a fire outside and served smores. Great touch.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graciegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed at the Riverhouse a few years ago, and--because of the wonderful on-site owner--have stopped back by whenever I'm in Camden, most recently today. This is a hotel that quickly comes to feel like home, from the profusion of flowers and vegetables growing in front to the fire-pit, patio chairs, and nightly s'mores in the back. David Dickey--the owner--is clearly someone who is doing exactly what he was put on this earth to do: welcome the stranger and make him or her into a comfortable friend. There are too many boutique nose-in-air B&B's on the Maine coast--places where you pay a lot to stay and in return you are made to feel like they're doing you a favor by having you. The Riverhouse is one of those rare places where you are truly welcomed as an honored guest who is a delight to the entire staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It started and ended with Ralph at the front desk. We arrived without a reservation and it was around 9 PM. Ralph went out of his way to make us feel welcome. I felt like I had arrived at grandmas house. He told us which restaurants were still serving and recommended a place where we had a great meal and it was within walking distance. When we returned he made sure we knew about the fire pit out back. We were the only ones out there but he made no hints about us leaving because of the hour. We just felt welcomed at this place. The rooms were nice and the breakfast upstairs in the morning was good and again we were pleased with how friendly the staff was. I will definitely go back to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn when I again travel to Camden.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyJ1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

One night stay in July. Everything was better than expected. Note prior reviewer stated tatty green carpet instead of grass..must not have gotten close enough to see it was hydro seed. The place was clean, rooms spacious and staff exceptional. Recommend highly.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Country Inn at Camden / Rockport
0.3 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#4 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Property: Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Address: 11 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camden
#1 Best Value Hotel in Camden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is Camden’s finest in-town Hotel. Our village location boasts its own onsite parking, a heated indoor pool, and spacious backyard with beautiful gardens. We are fully ADA accessible, with an entrance ramp, and an elevator that services all floors. A block off busy and noisy U.S. Route 1, our hotel is steps from Camden’s shops, restaurants, and the renowned Camden Harbor, Amphitheatre, and Park. Guests frequently say we have the charm and ambiance of a bed & breakfast with all the conveniences of a modern, up to date, in-town Hotel. The Camden Riverhouse Hotel has 35 beautifully appointed rooms some of which are Dog-Friendly. The Riverhouse Inn is a separate building with 8 luxurious cottage style rooms, and we have a cozy romantic Cottage located at the river’s edge which is also available. Whether you are in the Mid-Coast for one night or many, we have a selection of rooms to meet all needs. Free on-site parking, a heated indoor swimming pool, free Internet, and our spacious backyard, make us unique in downtown Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and HRS so you can book your Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Riverhouse Hotel And Inns Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing