We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable Alternative to Pricey Alternatives”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Camden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Camden is full of beautiful and expensive inns. The Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is a reasonable alternative. The best thing is its location. Its off of busy Route 1 but just a block away from the center of town. The rooms are certainly adequate...clean and fairly up to date. I would rank them a notch below a Hampton Inn, but the ambience of the hotel coulduse some help. The lobby and hallways have a certain dated feel to them that does not feel warm and cozy. The continental breakfast is adequate, but probably two notches below a Hampton Inn. The indoor pool and hot tub did not look inviting. But the off season price we paid was fair and given the location, made it a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jabsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 492 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a most pleasant three night stay -everything was just right
Location was accessible to good restaurants and sites of interest
Staff was friendly and helpful with directions.

Breakfast room was pleasant and waffles utterly delicious
Computers in lobby kept us connected with home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Visiting Maine from England, my wife, daughter and I were walking around Camden, Maine and enjoying the ambiance when we found Riverhouse and decided to stay. We received a warm welcome,our room was very comfortable and the location perfect for us to explore.
The hotel is relaxing, breakfast was excellent, the evening fire in the spacious garden was great. I recommend the hotel highly.
Good value for money and friendly.

Room Tip: At the back overlooking the garden best. The ducks on the river at the front woke early. Didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at Riverhouse in each of the four seasons of the year, and each season is great at this friendly hotel. Staff is always helpful and the rooms are very well appointed. I would highly recommend this hotel to women, couples or families who want a relaxing and restful visit to Camden, Maine. You can enjoy the patio and it's evening fire or just walk the town...everything is convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank val-mn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Riverhouse is a basic hotel in a town full of charming B&B's and guesthouses. Outside of the beautiful gardens out front, the location (20 paces from downtown), the very friendly and attentive staff and the sweet little sitting area out back with a nightly fire pit roaring, the hotel is nothing special.

The rooms are somewhat dated, the breakfast is forgettable and the exterior holds little charm. The price is nice but for a few dollars more there are certainly other great options.

That said, my wife and I had an excellent time during our 2 night stay. They have dog friendly rooms so our little black lab Liberty was with us and she had a nice time too.

Room Tip: Skip the breakfast bar unless your budget is tight. Take a left hand turn out the door, walk to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed four nights at the Camden Riverhouse Hotel and loved it. As others have said, the location really is perfect: right in the heart of downtown Camden, within walking distance of the harbor, shops, and restaurants, but just enough off the main drag so that it's quiet and peaceful. The walk across the footbridge filled with flowers and overlooking the creek and ducks was delightful, and the ice cream shop just on the opposite side was certainly strategically located, and much enjoyed. Our room was 306, on the third (top) floor, and was one of only two, I believe, with balconies. The other is 305, and that balcony is probably sunny for longer periods than ours was. Our room was large, with lots of seating and lamps, a king-size bed, a small refrigerator, and an enormous bathroom. The shower was a little funky, with an adjustable shower-head that didn't work quite right, but that's the only negative I can come up with, and it's not a big one. Breakfast was pretty standard, but adequate, and there's plenty of seating, including some tables outside on a balcony. The lobby is very nice, with a computer and printer for guests' use. There was a fire outside the back door every night we were there, with lots of comfortable chairs to pull up.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Riverhouse is walking distance to everything in Camden, Maine. It has the feel of a bed and breakfast but also more like a hotel. Has a swimming pool, hot tub, great choice of breakfast items, lovely areas to sit outside, a fire pit with smores at night, friendly staff, beautiful flowers surrounding the hotel. Just loved everything about it. Rooms were very nice with refrigerator that was actually cold and microwave. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camden
0.1 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
174 reviews
6.5 mi away
Samoset Resort On The Ocean
0.3 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns

Address: 11 Tannery Ln, Camden, ME 04843-1708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Camden
#5 Romantic Hotel in Camden
Price Range: $128 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inn is Camden’s finest in-town Hotel. Our village location boasts its own onsite parking, a heated indoor pool, and spacious backyard with beautiful gardens. We are fully ADA accessible, with an entrance ramp, and an elevator that services all floors. A block off busy and noisy U.S. Route 1, our hotel is steps from Camden’s shops, restaurants, and the renowned Camden Harbor, Amphitheatre, and Park. Guests frequently say we have the charm and ambiance of a bed & breakfast with all the conveniences of a modern, up to date, in-town Hotel. The Camden Riverhouse Hotel has 35 beautifully appointed rooms some of which are Dog-Friendly. The Riverhouse Inn is a separate building with 8 luxurious cottage style rooms, and we have a cozy romantic Cottage located at the river’s edge which is also available. Whether you are in the Mid-Coast for one night or many, we have a selection of rooms to meet all needs. Free on-site parking, a heated indoor swimming pool, free Internet, and our spacious backyard, make us unique in downtown Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camden Riverhouse Hotel And Inns Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing