We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Inn in Camden” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hawthorn Inn
Ranked #2 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A Special Inn in Camden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

The Hawthorn Inn is exceptional. From the day we arrived until the day we left, we experienced one of the best inn stays, if not the best, we have ever had. We were greeted warmly when we arrived and treated as special guests, as other guests also
seemed to be, during the entire time we were there. When we made our reservations, the innkeeper, Maryann, asked whether we had any food dislikes, restrictions, or allergies. She also determined that the bathroom of the room I had planned to choose for my daughter and son-in-law would not work because of a sloped ceiling and his height (6'5"), and suggested a suite that worked out beautifully for them. During our stay, she always seemed interested in our plans for the day.

The rooms were comfortable and well taken care of; the breakfasts were scrumptious; and the inn was clean, polished, and finely decorated. There was always something special to eat and drink mid-afternoon. Maryann (and/or one of her employees) was always onsite. Maryann has a very well-organized staff. For instance, when we went downstairs for breakfast, someone would go up to the room, make or change the
bed and change the towels. After returning home in the evening, we could remain in the lovely sitting room as late as we desired.

There is only one seating for breakfast (at 8:30), but eating that early during our vacation just gave us more time to enjoy Camden and take various side trips.

We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The early breakfast time
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Travelpromd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
175
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

We recently returned from a lovely time at the Hawthorn Inn. We
stayed for almost a week, and we appreciated the day-to-day
consistency of this charming inn. We were so pleased to find a well-run, comfortable inn with delicious food and a gracious host. Maryann ran a tight ship, and always had everything running smoothly. She was very helpful with suggestions for both restaurants and day trips. She provided some terrific personal touches (limeade and snacks around 5 p.m. each day, a guest refrigerator, games, books, etc). The only potential drawback is that there is only one breakfast seating--at 8:30 a.m.--which worked well for us, as we spent a lot of time exploring each day, but perhaps not as good for people who require a little more sleep. Camden doesn't have extensive nightlife, however, so it's easy enough to go to bed a little earlier..

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank CarynS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2007

I went with my sister in August 2006: very high season. We loved everything about the Hawthorne. Maryanne was funny, welcoming, and very helpful. She gave us honest recommendations and warnings about restaurants, which was refreshing -- she didn't just recommend expensive places and leave it at that. We stayed in the adorable Rose room with lovely views looking out to her pretty garden in the back. The house is beautiful.

And the breakfasts are to DIE for. Though there isn't any choice, there are a couple of courses so if you don't like something you'll have other things to eat, and you can always tell Maryanne if you have dietary needs. And I ate every single thing I was served and craved more.

The Inn has a great location, away from the noise of the main downtown area, but within an easy, pretty 5-minute walk.

The Hawthorne isn't cheap but really, no B&B's in Camden are.

The best thing was that even though we were only got to stay for a couple of nights, and we were there in the busiest of seasons, Maryanne made us feel as valuable as the next guest, and we loved all the personalized touches of the Inn.

  • Liked — The delicious, creative, healthy breakfasts
  • Disliked — Prices in Camden are high, but not unexpected
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fellowtraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2007

Had to get away from the rat race. I like small places. The Hawthorn Inn was perfect. There was even a bubbly brook next to my room in the coach house, a soaking whirl pool tub and cozy fire place with a reading lamp. How nice to walk to the shore, watch the boats and see the children play. The breakfasts were delicious and most of all healthy. Good show.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank CozyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2006

My husband and I loved the village of Camden. The Inn was comfortable, within several blocks of the village. I would recommend choosing a room in the carriage house. Unfortunately, our neighbors snoring kept me awake and the newer facility may be more sound proof. Breakfast was nice.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The Inn dog - and our neighbors snoring
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Summerbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2006

I have lodged at the Hawthorn Inn in Camden, Maine every year for the past four years, using my precious vacation time to do so. Why Camden? Why the Hawthorn Inn? Camden is a quiet seacoast town with a deep sea port and an even deeper history for the traveler to discover. But it’s also a quiet and polite place to rest my wracked nerves. You see, I have a high-profile, high-tension career with a hectic schedule. Peace and quiet are essential for reviving my Buddhist soul. Nothing at the Hawthorn Inn jars my mind; there are no surprises that call for apologies; there are no interruptions to my meditation trance! But besides that, Maryanne Shanahan is the perfect host, always interested in my well being but never intrusive; always there with a smile and encouragement and never with a scorn for my wicked quips at the breakfast table. The breakfasts are well thought out, healthy food--not fat-filled, preservative “enhanced” Jimmy Dean’s sausages. Bravo to Maryanne for her imaginative breakfast themes – artfully produced like a stage show. And if you get there before I return, give a big hug to Tori – the princess of the house.

  • Liked — Quiet
  • Tips/Secrets — Plan to just relax.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank daghome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln, new hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2006

We stayed in the building next to the main one. It had a beautiful large jacuzzi tub with sumptious bath salts. The bed was tremendously comfortable and it looked out over the peaceful gardens. One night we heard scratching at the sliding glass door only to find 3 young racoons begging for a treat. We stayed 2 nights and enjoyed the morning ambiance of the other guests at the delicious breakfasts. We had dinner at Cork Restaurant which was within walking distance. To top it all off, the weather was perfect and there was a lunar eclipse....that's why it was magical....you gotta go!!!

  • Liked — the room and privacy and the jacuzzi tub
  • Tips/Secrets — go during the off season or shoulder season
  • Stayed November 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jodysaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#3 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Inn

Property: Hawthorn Inn
Address: 9 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian mansion with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, just 180 steps from the Harbor and a short walk to the picturesque sailing village of Camden, Maine. Warm, inviting, comfortable, serene, plenty of seating in the garden; an oasis in Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hawthorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Inn Hotel Camden
Hawthorn Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing