We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bathroom!”
Review of Hawthorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hawthorn Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham,UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great bathroom!”
Reviewed August 3, 2005

We stayed in the Regency room which has a wonderful en-suite "victorian" bathroom.
We were made to feel most welcome and looked forward to the delicious breakfast each day. This was our last stop on a month long tour of the New England states and it proved to be a most relaxing end to a tiring but enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
182
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, GB
Level Contributor
241 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2005

Maryanne is a great host and marvellous chef - what delicious breakfasts on the deck overlooking the pretty gardens. The Inn is lovely and so close to the centre of Camden - there's a hundred reasons to stay there! We would recommend it to everyone and will definitely return.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank Janie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2005

Last year my husband and I visited the Hawthorn Inn in Camden, ME for three nights. We selected the Inn by visiting the website and by phoning the Innkeeper, Maryanne Shannahan. Our initial reaction was this would be a wonderful place to spend a few days in July; we were not disappointed.

We returned this July for three evenings. We were warmly greeted by Maryanne who has a miraculous way of remembering people, places and information about the people who visit her home. She is truly a excellent Innkeeper who has all the qualities necessary to keep a large, lovely home in excellent condition; to make the guests at her home feel welcomed; and to make contacts and accommodations for her guests. She possesses an ability to connect with people and to remain unflappable despite the many personalities and demands that must be met in her business.

Her Inn is immaculate, bright and sunny. The rooms are bright and cheerful with beautiful linens. Maryanne prepares a wonderful breakfast each morning -- something completely different each morning and a nice way to meet the other guests at the Inn. The Inn is located in an area that allows direct access to the Harbor--and what a picturesque and beautiful Harbor. Maryanne knows the people of Camden and will direct you to all the best locations, schooner rides, tours and restaurants. She accomplishes all of this for each of her guests and always with a smile.

We felt we had arrived home again when we returned and we had a tear in our eye when we left. What a delightful visit enjoyed in a lovely home in magnificent Camden.

PS: I feel Camden is situated within driving distance to Boothbay and to Bar Harbor, which also makes it ideal. Picture-postacard beautiful!

Helpful?
9 Thank lindabarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 14, 2005

My wife and I celebrated our anniversary at the Inn. The Watney room was more than what we expected. Maryanne served a great belgian waffle breakfast with walnuts and fresh fruit. The Inn is truly steps away from the Harbor but also secluded from crowds. A short walk out the back gate brings you to the ampitheater and the harbor. Looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithia, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2005

Our room was cozy, well appointed, and spotless. We were on the second floor of the carriage house and could see the harbor well and could here and see the babbling brook next to the property. The innkeeper was always careful to make everyone feel at home and had everyone's name memorized. She would introduce everyone at breakfast and was attentive to everyone's needs. Tory the dog was even friendly. With a wag of the tail and a friendly bark, we knew we were loved.
The Inn is two minutes walk to lovely downtown Camden. The library is one minute away. There are many fine restaurants very close by. We had a great experience.
Ron and Cindy Churchill, Florida

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Cynthia6343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 26, 2005

The most romantic and pleasing weekend I have had in a long time. This town and this Inn have a unique magic. I cannot recommend anything more.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed January 20, 2005

Maine in off-season is not "off" at all. Unless you try in vain to count others vacationing, the result being right "on" for me. I chose the Hawthorn Inn for a weekend get-away mainly due to the reviews I'd seen on TripAdvisor. I can attest- have no fear in believing the hype! However, tops on the To-Thank List is inn-keeper Maryanne- for providing my boyfriend and I such a lovely weekend- alone! in the inn!! The Hawthorn is simply fantastic- gorgeous from the onset/outside. Upon entering, you'll immediately notice the unadulterated pride taken and care placed in the establishment. It is immaculately clean, hospitable and spacious- a breath of fresh air- truly what us city folk dream about for a vacation stay! On top of all of this, I cannot, and have not since been able to, get the delectable dishes out of my mind. The smoked salmon breakfast burrito with fresh salsa- out of this world. Also a big hit for breakfast, Maryanne's granola and fresh fruit. I'm not about to forget the cookies and tea served in the library upon arrival, a room equipped with travel books, table games, poetry, novels (and a roaring fireplace). Add that to a thorough soak in the Regency room's free-standing tub, a rinse in the premium powered shower, a lounge-around in the heavenly bathrobes provided, and you've got yourself two happy, relaxed and satisfied guests!! Enjoy!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#1 of 10 in Camden
127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
592 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#3 of 10 in Camden
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
0.4 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
150 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Inn

Property: Hawthorn Inn
Address: 9 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian mansion with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, just 180 steps from the Harbor and a short walk to the picturesque sailing village of Camden, Maine. Warm, inviting, comfortable, serene, plenty of seating in the garden; an oasis in Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hawthorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Inn Hotel Camden
Hawthorn Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing