We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in Camden”
Review of Hawthorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawthorn Inn
Ranked #4 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best in Camden”
Reviewed September 27, 2008

Look no further...this is the place!

My wife and I travel to New England every September to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and we explore various towns along the coast. We’ve now been to Camden twice and intend to return. We discovered the Hawthorn on our second visit. What was great is that because parking is such a challenge in Camden, the Hawthorn's location (a block from the harbor) allowed us to never move our car. It has an exceptionally beautiful harbor, and the Hawthorn Inn has the best location from which to enjoy it. The innkeeper, Maryanne Shanahan, takes very good care of her guests and pays attention to the little details that make a stay special...i.e. luxurious linens & comfortable robes. The impressive home and carriage house are set back from the street. The backyard garden has an alluring garden gate which leads to a short-cut walk to the harbor. Breakfasts are delicious, and served beautifully-- the first course, fruit in a tall martini glass, is a lovely way to start the day. We highly recommend the Hawthorn Inn and count it among our favorites.

  • Liked — its location
  • Disliked — the honor bar
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    15
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
33
189
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2008

The Hawthorn Inn offers the perfect balance of comfort and elegance in a bed and breakfast. Attention to detail in decor and guests' needs is in abundance.

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending a long weekend there recently with Innkeeper Maryanne Shanahan, her husband Bill and friendly, thought-provoking fellow guests.

Our innkeeper makes it a priority to ensure that those who stay with her enjoy the very best of Camden's offerings. Maryanne proved invaluable in recommending places to in which to dine or ships in which to sail for sightseeing around the lovely town.

Still, I doubt that any of the local restaurateurs could match Maryanne's talent in serving beautiful, taste sensations for daily breakfast. The weather even permitted us to enjoy two of those scrumptious morning meals on one of the several decks -- masterfully built by Bill -- that overlook the Hawthorn Inn's considerable rear gardens.

My spouse and I look forward to returning to the Hawthorn Inn, which pretty much says it all...

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Rightor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2008

After looking at a few other B&B’s in Camden we decided that staying with Maryanne at her very comfy and cozy bed and breakfast would be in our best interest. We found our stay with Maryanne delightful. She was very accommodating with my husband's dietary needs and also gave us great advice for our site seeing interests. Staying at her home on our first night, we enjoyed the luxury of a bath together along with my best night sleep since we had been on vacation since the prior week. Considering that this was our last couple of days on vacation it was nice to feel like a part of someone’s home.
Laura & Brett S.F.

  • Liked — The home like feel.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BootySanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2008

Delightful visit. Unsurpassed hospitality, Maryanne is an engaging, knowledgeable, accommodating and caring host. Our room was comfortable, spacious and immaculate. The setting is welcoming and the breakfasts are gourmet. What more could anyone ask? This was our second visit to Hawthorne B&B-- and there will be more.

  • Liked — Its overall excellence
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icebreakerMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 12, 2008

The Hawthorn Inn provided wonderful, relaxed stays in the quaint town of Camden, Maine. The meals were healthy, but elegantly prepared. The hosts were friendly and offered many suggestions for fun things to do.

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — It was all good
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

Enjoyed our 2 day stay at the inn. Beautifully furnished and Immaculate. Breakfasts were grand and consisted of several courses--all gourmet. Maryanne is charming and very helpful regarding advise about what to do in the area.

  • Liked — charming decor and location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chasam_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, MA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2007

Absolutely wonderful. Maryanne is the perfect hostess - she made us feel so much at home we hated to leave. Scrumptious breakfast - a real delight. One of the best parts is that you go out the back yard and you're at the beautiful Camden harbor! We highly recommend this inn - there was nothing we would have changed!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank EffieBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#2 of 10 in Camden
378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
643 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Inn

Property: Hawthorn Inn
Address: 9 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian mansion with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, just 180 steps from the Harbor and a short walk to the picturesque sailing village of Camden, Maine. Warm, inviting, comfortable, serene, plenty of seating in the garden; an oasis in Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hawthorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Inn Hotel Camden
Hawthorn Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing