We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawthorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawthorn Inn
Ranked #3 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grapevine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I was late arriving- flight was changed so spent 3 hours in Philly airport. Got my car at Bangor airport and headed to Camden when the rain started- it was dark, wet and I couldn't find the Inn! Maryann was so understanding.
I stayed in the Emma Knight room and it was perfect. It was actually a suite as they had opened up another room for a sitting area. It was neat, clean, well stocked with soap, toilet paper, towels, clean linens. I slept like a baby there! The staff was courteous and did an excellent job tidying up the room .
Gourmet breakfast was served inside as the rain just wouldn't quit. Fruit cups, juice and coffee followed by fresh blueberry pancakes one day, salmon breakfast quesadillas another and a souffle the 3rd morning. I never went away hungry!
I was 6months removed from radiation therapy for cancer so was still having some problems with side effects. Maryann told me if I experienced any problems after I checked out and before I left the area, I was more than welcome to come back. thank you Maryann!
I enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend The Hawthorn to anyone who asks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tor2, Owner at Hawthorn Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
We are very pleased you chose the Hawthorn Inn for your restorative visit and that we were able to make you comfortable, and that you had fun. Looking forward to your return, very soon!! Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
175
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Having said it all, nearly, with "perfection" I can only add that our hostess was welcoming and thoughtful, and the breakfasts served here are as good as they get: homemade pancakes with fresh Maine blueberries, fresh fruit with yogurt one morning, egg tacos and fruits another--all artfully presented, and served with panache. The room was comfortable and--on two hot days--mercifully cool and well vented. Plus, a lovely setting.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NORNORKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tor2, Owner at Hawthorn Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
What a wonderful review!! Thank you very much for your positive comments; we loved your being here with us, and hope you will find your way back to us from VT son!! With warm best wishes, Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newberry, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Hawthorn Inn was an excellent find. The Inn is beautiful, the room was extremely comfortable and tastefully furnished. The innkeeper, Maryanne Shanahan was delightful and eager to offer suggestions to make our stay in Camden pleasant. Her breakfasts were creative and beautifully served. The location was perfect. I hope to return to Camden and would absolutely want to stay here again. I will also encourage my friends to do the same.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Regency.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tor2, Owner at Hawthorn Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
It was great to have you with us, and we appreciate your lovely review! We hope to see you sometime this fall; it is beautiful here in the fall, as we discussed. Take good care, and thank you!! Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

It is obvious that Maryann enjoys running a B&B and doing it in style. There are many different types of rooms for all kinds of budgets. We had the Turret room and though the ensuite bathroom was actually a converted closet, therefore very small, it was perfectly functional with an excellent shower. The bed was super comfy. And the 2 course breakfast each morning was presented with such style and elegance, not to mention tasty and healthy. It is very well situated for anything you would like to do in Camden. We would be happy to return!

Room Tip: The Turret room is large, comfortable but it faces High Street which has truck traffic in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdawainis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tor2, Owner at Hawthorn Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and thoughtful review. We thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to your return in the near future. It was a pleasure seeing you take such full and complete interest in and advantage of the area during your visit!!

With warm regards, Maryanne Shanahan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently spent 2 nights at the Hawthorn Inn in Camden, ME and it was absolutely lovely. The room was clean, the bathroom was brand new, and the bed was so comfy. Breakfast was wonderful (they happily accommodated my food allergies) and the walk to town, the harbor, the stores and restaurants is just perfect. I highly recommend the Hawthorn Inn (and Camden, ME) if you haven't visited yet!

Room Tip: The Caroline Room is brand new, on the first floor and very private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tor2, Owner at Hawthorn Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Hawthorn Inn. We very much enjoyed your visit and only wish you had been able to stay longer. I bet the boys were delighted to see you and ready to go home!!

With warm good wishes, Maryanne Shanahan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our first B&B experience. Bill and Mary Ann went out of their way to make it great! I still think about the wonderful, fresh breakfast. Location was perfect for access to the next step of our vacation on a schooner out of Camden Harbor. There is nice little walking path out the backyard right to the harbor. We didn't have vehicle, so Bill made arrangements for us to go up Mount Battie for a spectacular view. Obvious that they really love their town and profession!

Room Tip: Turret Room - bathroom small but efficient. Room had a great view. Rooms on the front of house have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mckenna717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tor2, Owner at Hawthorn Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thanks so much for choosing the Hawthorn for your first B&B experience; we are happy you were pleased and very much look forward to seeing you again soon!!

Warm good wishes,

Maryanne Shanahan, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was my first B&B experience and it was wonderful. Maryanne and Bill are lovely, knowledgable hosts and made my mom and I feel right at home in Camden (which we fell in love with). I would definitely stay at their inn again!

Room Tip: The Turret room in cozy and a great deal, but beware that the bathroom is very small!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emellia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tor2, Owner at Hawthorn Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you, Emellia, for your thoughtful review. We were very pleased to have you and your Mom visit with us; you added greatly to the experience of other guests. I am happy to know you enjoyed your first B&B experience and that we were able to provide that experience for you. Looking forward to your return, soon!! Say hello to NYC for me!! Best, Maryanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#2 of 10 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Harbor House Inn
Blue Harbor House Inn
#2 of 19 in Camden
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hartstone Inn & Hideaway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Inn

Property: Hawthorn Inn
Address: 9 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian mansion with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, just 180 steps from the Harbor and a short walk to the picturesque sailing village of Camden, Maine. Warm, inviting, comfortable, serene, plenty of seating in the garden; an oasis in Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hawthorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Inn Hotel Camden
Hawthorn Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing