We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawthorn Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Whitehall(Camden)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveler rating
356
17
6
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
17
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarriage housemy husband and iturret roomb bshort walkother guestsboth morningsfood allergiesseparate showereach morningnew ownerswonderful hostslovely homefresh flowerstwo coursesthe main housebreakfast was delicious
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 381 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first time going to a B&B and it was spectacular! The inn itself was beautiful, and our room, the Norfolk, was large, clean, quiet, and relaxing! The jacuzzi tub was a wonderful way to end each evening. The organic and vegetarian breakfast each morning was phenomenal! The town had a lot of shops and local eateries. We enjoyed our time very much. With Camden being 2 hours south of Acadia we were easily able to make a day trip and explore the National Park. But if you wanted to explore more local nature reserves there are plenty, including an auto road up to the summit of Mt. Battie. I would highly recommend this inn. The inn owners were great. They were very sociable, friendly and went out of there way to offer any help/suggestions!

Room Tip: The Norfolk room was spectacular! It was in the Carriage House, seperate from the main house, and had it's own private bathroom and 2 person jacuzzi.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImJustSayingIsAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My girlfriend and I wanted to visit Maine during the off-season for a weekend and researched where to stay for what seemed like forever. Most places in Camden had decent reviews, so we eventually decided to call a couple places to speak with them directly about rooms and reservations. The Hawthorn Inn was the second place we called and I could not be happier that we chose to stay there. Maryanne was so inviting and helpful on the phone and we knew that we wanted to support her business as opposed to any other nearby Inns. We stayed two nights and loved every minute - Maryanne (and Bill) were so accommodating and made sure we had everything we needed, but gave us enough privacy that we felt like we were in the house by ourselves. Since it was the off-season and right after restaurant week, not much was open that they recommended but they still gave us names of places that were recommended to them, but they hadn't personally tried yet. Both places they suggested were fabulous and we were able to fill our time in the quiet town without getting bored. Breakfast was simple, fresh, and delicious - they always made sure everyone had everything they wanted with their meal and that we all had plans for the day. All in all, we had a great time at the Inn and can definitely say that we will be back during the summer to enjoy the town when everything is in full swing.

Thank you, Maryanne and Bill for a great weekend trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Regency Room - if you are traveling as a couple it is perfect with its walk-in bathroom, shower, and giant clawfoot tub.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASMitrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked our anniversary weekend at the inn using a groupon. The booking process was very simple and Maryann helped to recommend a room. I had seen on their website that if you told them it was your anniversary or a special event to mention it to them, here is what their website says, "To celebrate milestone events such as birthdays and anniversaries, the Hawthorn Inn offers a special value-added throughout the year. When you reserve, let us know you are celebrating an anniversary or birthday and we will have sparkling wine (or sparkling cider) and chocolates in your room on arrival. on us. ". When we arrived we did find a bottle of wine but it was from our friends who knew it was our anniversary. There was not chocolate or sparkling wine. Luckily we had brought our own - but I was disappointed since this was presented different from the website to what the reality of our stay was.

The room was spacious and well kept. The linens and robes were of excellent quality. We stayed in the Regency room which has a nice bathtub. There is a seperate shower stall with an older style spray shower head so if you like baths it is great but the shower was not the best.

Breakfast started each morning at a set time. There was only one seating with everyone staying at the inn eating at the same time. Breakfast started with fruit and then was followed by a main dish. Breakfast was good and filling. We did notice that we were asked several times (as were other guests) to place our coffee cups in a particular location because of table space restrictions. These remarks made us feel a little scolded by the owner. Perhaps knowing the number of guests providing a larger dining area would have been nice. To be clear there are two dining spaces; however, on both mornings of our stay Maryann asked us to sit at the smaller table in the other room hence we ran into the coffee cup issue both mornings. It is clear that the inn keepers care for their place but it is a fine balance between wanting guests to feel welcomed and comfortable while still maintaining the integrity of their space.

Overall it was a beautiful place in a great location. The general feeling my husband and I had was a little cold hospitality wise. I am not sure if this is because we booked with a groupon or because we were younger than most guests (we are in our early 30s). We have stayed at a variety of inns and bed and breakfasts around the country and usually love the personal touch of innkeepers but this experience was just different.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rchriste170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The reviews here were all good for this Inn and when a sale came up we thought we would give it a try. We are very glad we did. The Inn is very well kept and the staff are very friendly. We stayed in the Carriage House in the Watney room and it was fantastic! The room is quite large with a large private patio looking out at the Inns back garden area. The bed is a comfortable queen size bed with amazingly soft sheets! The bathroom has a huge jacuzzi tub and shower. The room also has a gas stove in case its a bit cold out.

Camden itself is a very nice town. The Inn is very close to everything and we toured around town and looked in all the little shops. All the shop owners were very friendly and helpful. Most of the time we were there we ate at the waterfront restaurant which was very good. I wouldn't recommend the fish and chips, not because its bad, but because it's very over priced for what you get.

We stayed a total of 2 nights and loved it. In short everything you read on here about the Inn is true. We looked at all the other rooms while we were there, and all of them are very nicely decorated. The breakfasts are about as good as it can get! They even had fresh juicy melon at the start of march! We have already planned a trip to go back in June. If you were on the fence about whether or not to stay here or to come to Camden, don't think about it anymore and book your stay, you wont regret it.

Room Tip: Carriage house rooms have large 2 person jacuzzi bathtubs which are wonderful. The Cabriolet room though has a corner jacuzzi tube instead.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arringfray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I would recommend the Hawthorn to anyone looking for a B & B in the Camden area. The room was comfortable and very well done with attention to every detail. The breakfast was superb and Maryanne was as friendly and helpful as could be. The Inn is a nice short walk into downtown Camden.

Room Tip: While the main Inn is very nice I found the Carriage house terrific and where I will return to in the future.
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Harry226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews