We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn - Fabulous Breakfast”
Review of Hawthorn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hawthorn Inn
Ranked #5 of 19 Camden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn - Fabulous Breakfast”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night at the Hawthorne Inn - Camden,ME. We were on our way to another destinationa and chose the Hawthorne merely by its "curb appeal" and we are very happy we did. It is a beautiful old home, built in the 1890's, with well-appointed, comfortable rooms . Reasonably priced. The breakfast was fabulous. The innkeepers friendly and full of good information. We would stay there again and again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
187
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Western New York
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

On this return trip to the Inn, I was once again struck by the welcome that I felt from Innkeeper Maryanne Shanahan. There are grace notes everywhere: the sparkling cleanliness; the custom soaps; the carefully designed public spaces that allow quiet visits, spectacular views, and peaceful settling in to this lovely town. I even have a favorite now, the Jillian Suite, that is wonderfully comfortable with its own separate sitting room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HistoryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This beautifully restored Victorian is a jewel. My room (The Regency) was spacious and tastefully decorated. The large bath featured a soaking tub as well as a separate shower. The bed was very comfortable, and most welcome after a day spent browsing the shops of scenic Camden. The harbor, restaurants, shops, library, and a small park with benches overlooking the harbor are all within easy walking distance of the Hawthorn Inn.

The innkeeper clearly takes great pride in her quality establishment. She is also an excellent cook!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnG95037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I just spent a luxurious, relaxing weekend at the Hawthorn Inn. Our hostess was attentive and thoughtful in meeting our needs and answering questions about local attractions. The food was exceptionally fine and beautifully presented. Altogether, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breimayerpeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We can’t tell you how thrilled we were to find the Hawthorn Inn for our wedding in Camden. After countless hours of searching and looking at other venues, we found the Hawthorn. We knew immediately that it was the perfect choice for our elegant and intimate wedding. The location of the inn is phenomenal. Camden is the perfect town for a weekend getaway, which was much enjoyed by our guests. Our guests staying at the Hawthorn were able to walk everywhere – all around the town of Camden, the harbor, and even climb Mt. Batty – without ever having a need to get into their cars. Maryanne and Bill, the innkeepers, have a passion for perfection and the creation of special celebrations. Maryanne worked with us on all of the details of the ceremony, the cocktail hour, and the reception. She acted as our wedding planner, finding vendors and organizing everything. Maryanne also creates the entire menu – the choices are locally harvested, beautifully presented, and absolutely delicious. Her helpful suggestions throughout the planning process took so much worry off of our shoulders. When we first met Maryanne, she gave us the perfect vision of our wedding day. We felt confident immediately in working with her and she certainly helped us to create a perfect memory – we felt like we were in a fairy tale. Maryanne, Bill, and staff – thank you for wonderful memories that we will treasure for the rest of our lives. We’ll see you again soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShannonSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2010

The grounds and common areas of the inn are beautiful. The two rooms that I reserved were also decorated tastefully. However, the bed was a big disappointment. It was very uncomfortable and the bed frame groaned with any small movements, such ad rolling over. The shower also was not good- poor water pressure and erratic water temperature. So, with the Hawthorn Inn, beauty is skin deep. If you're only staying a night or two and you are looking for an attractive property, this will do. But if the amenities in your room is more important, I'd think twice.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsforphotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Having stayed at the Hawthorn Inn several times in the past, I returned this spring to find it even lovelier. Camden is a beautiful town, and the Hawthorn Inn is just close enough--and far enough away from--the bustle. I enjoy hiking and walking, and there are plenty of destinations to choose from. Innkeeper Maryanne Shanahan keeps improving her facility, and her welcome is as warm as ever. Pretty rooms, superb breakfasts, and a peaceful, relaxed atmosphere have been consistent at the Hawthorn. Great Inn!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Camden hotels
0.2 mi away
16 Bay View
16 Bay View
#3 of 10 in Camden
140 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lord Camden Inn
Lord Camden Inn
#4 of 10 in Camden
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Camden Riverhouse Hotel and Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbor Inn
Grand Harbor Inn
#1 of 10 in Camden
371 reviews
0.4 mi away
Whitehall
Whitehall
#7 of 10 in Camden
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camden Maine Stay Inn
Camden Maine Stay Inn
#1 of 19 in Camden
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawthorn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorn Inn

Property: Hawthorn Inn
Address: 9 High St, Camden, ME 04843-1610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Camden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Camden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hawthorn Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian mansion with spacious, beautifully appointed rooms, just 180 steps from the Harbor and a short walk to the picturesque sailing village of Camden, Maine. Warm, inviting, comfortable, serene, plenty of seating in the garden; an oasis in Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hawthorn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorn Inn Hotel Camden
Hawthorn Inn Camden, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing